We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort”
Review of Thar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thar Resort
Ranked #60 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice resort in desert sam sand dune
New tent with big clen bathrooms camel safari in desert
Nice rajsthani program rajsthani wel come camel safari night jeep safari mornig sun rise mornig brek fast
I love thar resort

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank jainbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you prefere your stay to be neat n clean, you shouldn't come here. there are three parts of the resort, first part have tents build with concerent and tent-material , those are somehow ok, but remaining portion is very bad. bathrooms are uncleaned,tents are dirty. Even if it's cold weather you'll hardly gather courage to use those blankets, towels are in really bad shape and obviously you won't get it without asking for it. Dinner was awful you would eat it because you are in dessert and you don't have any other option.

The only good thing is friendly but untrained staff. they also arrange the night activities like rajasthani dance/tea/snacks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronujai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I come with my friends in jaislmer I booking thar resort a.c. room thar resort nice camp near in desert big room atch bathroom night programs nice RajasthanI dance camp fire RajasthanI dinner night stay morning break fast morning Sun rise i løve thar resort

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank jaindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Was encouraged initially to see many good reviews and stayed for a night on 9th Oct 2013. I am not sure whether staying in the camp would have been different but we stayed in AC Cottage which is just beside those camps. In short it was horrible. Room was unclean, bathroom was like a toilet in a railway station (Cig butts and bidis lying all over the floor), stinking bed and pillow and more over horrible service staff. AC was switched off from outside thrice in the middle of the night and I had to wake up due to suffocation and switch it on going outside the room. Power cut was every now and then but they do not switch on the Generator even after a lot of pleading. The room and the toilet had to be used in pitch dark state while they struggled to search a candle forever. After a lot of request they provided a soap in the toilet....Horrible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stay here 2night in thar resort a.c. room big room big bathroom
1.camel safari sun set desert nasnal park after sun set i come back in resort raksthani wel come tea cofee rajsthani program camp fire raksthani dinner night stay mornig brekfast mornig sun rise .. good staff owner good

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Good camp in desert thar resort I love service good staff nice room big bathroom clean badseet nice rajsthani program nice dinner night time jeep safari in desert good camp lovly program I love thar resort owner is very good

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khandilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

i been there with my family it was great fun being there loved thar resort experience from the moment i entered nice resort nice room big bathroom nice resort evnig time camel safari sun set clen desert big desert ............ after sun set come back thar resort rajsthani wel come tea cofee rajsthani program enjoy with family love it rajsthani dinner nice good staff ... i love thar resort

Room Tip: bace site a.c tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
20.8 mi away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#31 of 290 in Jaisalmer
105 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ratnawali Camps
Ratnawali Camps
#8 of 290 in Jaisalmer
420 reviews
5.4 mi away
Moonlight Nature Resort & Camp
Moonlight Nature Resort & Camp
#85 of 290 in Jaisalmer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Dangri Desert Safari Camp
Dangri Desert Safari Camp
#18 of 290 in Jaisalmer
103 reviews
0 mi away
Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
#86 of 290 in Jaisalmer
68 reviews
22.2 mi away
Payal Safari Camp
Payal Safari Camp
#1 of 290 in Jaisalmer
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thar Resort

Address: Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $35 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thar Resort, near to the Desert National, showcases the magic of The Great Thar Desert and recreates the fascinating atmosphere of real Thar Desert culture.The camp provides all the comforts required by a modern day traveler. It consists of exclusive Swiss deluxe luxury tent with traditional colourful huts. A wonderful dinner buffet is provided as well as nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing