We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience in India thus far!”
Review of Ganesh Travels

Ganesh Travels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Run by camel drivers; rates from 650 rs per day according to the services and route. We do not leave any rubbish in desert; all the rubbish carried back to Jaisalmer. Ganesh Travels is a leading company in Jaisalmer organising camel safari into the heart of Thar Desert since 1990 until now. This company is owned and managed by the current and former camel drivers. We started this company in 1990 with few camels and keep on working. All our camel drivers work so hard and give good service to the guest so finally in 2001 our company is highly recommended by the world famous travellers guide called Lonely Planet. In this guidebook we are listed as a number one position and by the efforts and hard work of our camel drivers we are still in the number one position. And in future, we do our best to keep it up with the help of our workers and our wonderful and satisfied customers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Experience in India thus far!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My friend and I were very pleasantly surprised by how seamless and enjoyable our 1day/1night desert tour was and are so grateful to Sebastien and his team for taking such good care of us in Jaisalmer! Our guide Sarjan was wonderful and treated us like the desert queens we felt like on this magical tour. We had a lovely cooking lesson during our lunch, more food than we could comfortable hold that tasted incredible under the shade of a tree, a nice nap, a very pleasant trot through the desert and an incredible sunset/sunrise view from our camping spot in the sand dunes. The journey to and from Jaislamer was long and somewhat uncomfortable, but this experience made it completely worth it! We were allowed to store our bags in one of the rooms at their Guesthouse for the entire day as well as use the room to shower and change and clean up. One of the friendly helpers even walked us to a rickshaw he'd arranged to take us to our bus stop and picked up all the things we dropped and left behind on our way ;) THANK YOU Ganesh Travels - the NUMBER ONE in Jaisalmer! :) ~ Sophia & Jessica

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelonArugula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian v, Owner at Ganesh Travels, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many, many thanks for your review - we appreciate your taking the time and we all enjoyed reading such positive feedback. We shall pass on your compliments to camelmans. Thanks again, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in India
best regards
sebastia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    41
    7
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great 2 Day Safari, Excellent Guide - would absolutely recommend.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It can be overwhelming trying to decide who to book with when choosing a camel safari, but we would genuinely recommend Gamesh Travels.
We took a two day, one night camel safari with them and I am pleased to say we had an overall,very positive experience.

Sebastian, who booked our tour, was very friendly and what he told us we would get on our tour, we did get.

Price was quite reasonable in our opinion: 750 per day per person, including jeep drop off/pick up.

Our Guide aka Camel Man was Mr. Kahn, and we would absolutely recommend you request him as your guide: he was fantastic, spoke great English, was attentive, caring, generous and looked after us well. Furthermore, he was an excellent guide and cook, and looked after his camels well.
Ask him to sing you his "Camel version" of "Barbie Girl."

The camels seemed quite happy and healthy; especially in comparison to another tour group we saw who's camels were very thin. The camels get the opportunity to eat, drink and wander regularly.

Food during this tour was great, and there was plenty of it. We were offered chapatti for lunches along with a curry, chai, snacks and fruit. Dinner was similar, and breakfast was toast and spreads with chai: you have an option for eggs also. It's all vegetarian and surprisingly, packed with spices and flavours.

Bedding was sufficient, thin matress and blankets provided, pillows are not included.

The tour included visits to villages, one being a "gypsy people/beggar people village" This was our only real issue with our tour, and the reason we've given this rating an very good rather than an excellent.
The "gypsy village" was two small open huts and a group of women and children, all of whom immediately greeted us by begging. Everything from the standard money, chocolate and pens to henna tubes, our clothing, babies bottles and cigarettes. We had to continually say no whilst we were grabbed, pulled, and surrounded.
At one point I had to yell at two children who very quickly opened my boyfriends backpack and without him even noticing, they took his carribena, and snatched his drink bottle from his hand.
Basically, they were attempting to steal from us before our eyes. We felt unsafe and incredibly uncomfortable, and it was a horrible - although thankfully short lived - experience. After this experience, we declined further opportunities to visit other villages for fear of a repeat.
We would suggest that either Ganesh Travels removes this "village" from their tour route, or that you request to not visit the village during your tour.
Even our guide made a comment that we/our belongings were not safe around these people.
I can't imagine any tourist wants to experience this for the sake of seeing a "gypsy village" and what was sadly, a group of impoverished people harassing us.
We did mention this concern to Sebastian, and he seemed happy to take our feedback on board.

Overall, we had a great experience, and want to thank Sebastian and in particular the wonderful Mr. Kahn for making this trip a memorable one for the right reasons.

Finally, some advice for people about to do the camel trek:
- Most importantly, bring and wear a scarf: we wore ours 24/7 for the duration of our trip. You need one in the day to cover most of your face and neck from the sun, and at night to cover your entire face/mouth/nose/eyes/ears for protection from blowing sand.
- Do wear long sleeves and pants: the sun is harsh and relentless during the day time.
- Bring your own toilet paper or baby wipes.
- Bring hand sanitizer, and if you don't want to eat with your hands, bring cutlery.
- Be aware that evenings in the sand dunes involve winds that blow sand everywhere. This means your bedding and everything else is quickly covered. If you're aware of this it won't be a shock when you wake up covered in sand.
- There are a lot of living things around at night: we encountered wild dogs, a stray camel, and lots of insects around; from flying things to big black beetles. Our guide explained these are harmless but you should be aware they are about so you're prepared.
- Riding a camel is not that comfortable when you are not used to it, and can be painful. For us, by the end of the two days our bodies were exhausted from simply riding, so it might be useful to take this into consideration when booking your trip.
- Finally, a few bandaids won't go astray when packing for your tour: there are LOTS of
prickly and spikey cactus-like plants and bushes that often brushed past our feet and arms whilst riding, and did cut us a few times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian v, Owner at Ganesh Travels, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear valued client, we really appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed most parts of your safari and would recommend Ganesh Travels. We are sorry that you had a bad experience at the gypsy village. As we discussed when you returned from your trip we will remove this village from future itineraries. While it is true that beggars exist in most poor rural villages in India, the experience you faced is in our experience not common. We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to Jaisalmer.
Best regards, Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing camel safari”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a camel safari just the 3 of us, my friends and I.
Sebastian the manager showed us some places and explained about Jaisalmer on the way to the starting point, he's very friendly and helpful.
The desert was wonderful, we had great fun on the camels (even if the legs hurt a little), learnt how to cook chapatis, spent the night on a sand dune... Our camel man had a great sense of humour and made our expedition absolutely great, if you can go with Mr Khan, don't hesitate :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian v, Owner at Ganesh Travels, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many, many thanks for your review - we appreciate your taking the time and we all enjoyed reading such positive feedback. We shall pass on your compliments to camelmans. Thanks again, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in India
best regards
sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont' miss”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Highly recommended. We went on a camel safari with a single overnight in the desert, starting at 3pm. and finishing the following morning around 11 (the starting and finishing points are 40km by jeep out in the desert). Riding a camel (1 person per camel) can be very tiring, so unless you're quite fit, I wouldn't recommend a longer trip for your first experience. Note: there's a wooden knob at the front of the saddle - use som cloth to prevent it chafing agains your stomach.

The camel drivers were very friendly. Food very tasty, and sleeping under an open sky was a great experience. (Remember to bring toilet paper).
We (2 parents, 2 teenage boys) arrived in Jaisalmer by train that morning, witgh a booking for the camel safari at 3pm.. Sebastian got us a room in his brother's guesthouse for 2 hours for 300 rupees - it was good to have a shower, and it's also possible to store luggage there. Unfortunately, our oldest son started feeling sick. We had to get him to a doctor, and postpone the camel safari until the next day. In the end, only 3 of us went on the safari, with my wife returning by jeep at night to see how our son was. Sebastian was very helpful here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian v, Owner at Ganesh Travels, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many, many thanks for your review - we appreciate your taking the time and we all enjoyed reading such positive feedback. We shall pass on your compliments to camelmans. Thanks again, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in India
best regards
sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Ganesh travels is a very good agency. We booked our camel safari there and it was very well organised. The food was very good and the people were nice. Be prepared for the heat in desert

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian v, Owner at Ganesh Travels, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many, many thanks for your review - we appreciate your taking the time and we all enjoyed reading such positive feedback. We shall pass on your compliments to camelmans. Thanks again, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in India
best regards
sebastia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh Travels also viewed

Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
 

Been to Ganesh Travels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing