We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family in the desert”
Review of Winds Desert Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winds Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Family in the desert”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Though check-in was around 3PM, we arrived early around mid-day. We were greeted by the man who we later found out, runs the place. We were shown to our tent and asked if we'd had any lunch yet.

We hadn't had lunch and they weren't ready for us so early. So, they said they'd see if they could cook something up for us. My wife and I were finally inside our tent and it was quite hot out so we appreciated the shade.

Upon entering our tent however, we realized that we were in for a treat. The room was very clean, had a nice comfy bed and air-conditioning. We were just settling in when a member of the staff was at the entrance to our tent. He was carrying a tray with Rice, roti and 4 different curries. I exclaimed "I thought you didn't have food ready"? He replied "Sorry, this is all we could prepare on such short notice".

Needless to say I was taken aback and the food turned out to be some of the most delicious food I've eaten in Rajasthan. Over the duration of spend at the Winds Desert camp, this is what I came to realize.

- There are only about 3-4 people who run the place.
- They will bend over backwards to make you comfortable and happy.
- They will feed you so much delicious food that you'll feel like you are at your grandma's house.
- The staff has a genuine caring attitude which leaves us tourists in good spirits.
- The performances at night by the Rajasthani folk singers and dancers is very entertaining.
- The camel safari is heaps of fun but it gets quite crowded at sunset.
- Not to conform to cliche but they are an Oasis in the desert.

Overall I left feeling as if I was leaving a family run b&b where I would miss the characters and food. I would definitely recommend Winds to couples or big groups. It has the advantage of being far away from the resort style 100 tent setups that we drove past.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravstaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Owner at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds desert camp jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds desert camp We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Virender Singh
09828249879
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    105
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
177
105
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had thought that I will share my experience right after the trip but got significantly delayed coz of my professional commitments. First things first, I would highly recommend this camp if you pan to spend a night in the surrounds of the Sam sand dune. Not only was the experince fantastic, the hospitality was fabulous and the food outstanding.
Experience: My wife and I spent an evening in the camp and took to camel rides in the nearby dunes. This was our first desert experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The bonfire and cultural programme in the evening was excellent and so was the accomodation and surroundings. I will definitely visit again.
Hospitality: The staff was extremely courteous and went out of the way to help. I had missed carrying enough cash(typical card dependent city dweller) but my concerns were immediately taken care by the camp staff. My special thanks to Mr Deependra who was extremely helpful in arranging a trip to the nearby ATM (7-8 kms in the desert). I am happy that we struck a good friendship and he was able to help us with a few more requests. Overall pleasantly surprised by the level of comfort he was able to put us at. Much appreciate.
Food: Mouth-watering is the word. I mostly prefer non-vegetarian but the vegetarian items in the menu took me and my wife by surprise. It was by far amongst the very best of vegetarian food that I have had and that too in the middle of nowhere. Once again brilliant.

Overall I think it was a wonderful day spent at the camp. We made new friends from the camp on our way back and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Highly recommended.
Cheers!

Room Tip: Plan in advance. Communicate clearly what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniruddha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Owner at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds desert camp jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds desert camp We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Virender Singh
09828249879
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were 8 friends stayed in winds desert camp. The camp location is good but 3 4 kms away from sam sand dunes but not difficult to reach. The tents are clean and spacious with basic amenities clean bed and bathroom. Behavior of staff is very courteous. Mr. Dheeraj is nice guy. Even though we had booked air fan tents, he had given ac tents. Food was not that delicious (Dinner). Food quality can be improved. Not much options for Non vegetarians. Breakfast was good with variety. The package included Camel Safari,Tea with snacks,Rajasthani Folk performance,dinner and breakfast. Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudhakar6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Owner at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds Desert camp and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We have taken action and will definitely improve non veg dish in Dinner .Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds Desert camp Jaisalmer We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Virender Singh
9950521870
9950521870
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed in wind desest camp along with by girl friend in last week of Jan'14. As soon as we reached Jaiselmer we hired a three wheeler to reach the place ( much cheaper, 300INR, than cabs) , though we reched early than scheduled booking we were given accomodation and breakfast at no extra cost. The place it self is beautiful managed by ex-armyman, for miles you can stare into nothing. The tents are clean with basic amenities (clean bed and bathroom with geyser). But as we reached early there is nothing to do in the morning time as it is very hot outside even in winter season. After 4 they took incharge of our itinery. camel ride sollowed by high tea, cultural programmes and dinner. As summarized by others everything is beautiful and you will be in love with the place. For some time you completely forget about the modern electronics and vehicles that we have been dependent on so much. Overall nice experience but food quality can be improved. Not much options for Non vegetarians, but food was never the selling point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhidfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Owner at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds Desert camp and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We have taken action and will definitely add non veg dish in Dinner .Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds Desert camp Jaisalmer We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Virender Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well done Team Winds!!!.Myself with wife stayed there for couple of days in the first week of Mar 2014.The tent was very spacious and clean .The package included Camel Safari,Tea with snacks,Rajasthani Folk performance,dinner and breakfast.The hospitality of the team was excellent.As per our request they arranged our pick up from Railway station and sight seeing in Jaisalmer...Once again spacial thanks to Dipendra and team for the memorable holiday .Tripadvisor helped us very much for selecting this wonderful stay.... Thank u so much
Kashyap

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KashyapChandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds desert camp jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds desert camp We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Dilip Singh
Reservation manager
09950521870
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was a nice experience. I visited the desert with my friends in Feb and stayed at Winds Desert Camp. The hospitality and facilitation of the camp was very good. The location of the camp is near dunes and the cultural programmes in the evening was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShachiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds desert camp jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds desert camp We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Dilip Singh
Reservation manager
09950521870
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I usually don't give feedback for the hotels, but I had to give a feedback for this camp. The owner - Deep and his staff provided one of the best hospitality/ They were like magicians who could make any arrangement for you in middle of the desert. The tents and toilets were clean, quality of food was good, the performances were great. He setup a special under the sky candle-light dinners for special occasions. The sand dunes and camel rides were little commercialized, but Deep agreed to take us to some untouched dunes which were completely non-commercialized. I have traveled across the world but this would be my one of the best experiences.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gsarvaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
ear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winds Desert camp jaisalmer and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our service and facilities. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending Winds desert camp We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Dilip Singh
09950521870
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
10.5 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
18.9 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#1 of 225 in Jaisalmer
425 reviews
40.8 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#12 of 225 in Jaisalmer
132 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winds Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winds Desert Camp

Property: Winds Desert Camp
Address: Sam Road-Kanoi | Village Kanoi, Near Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winds Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winds Desert Camp introduces a desert camp near sand dunes. Camp has vast experience of organizing all travel needs. The company is having professional and skilled team expert in camping. We can provide maximum luxury in minimum expenses. Winds Desert Camp has beautifully and elegantly decorated tents covering 14x14 center room, 14x7 Vernadah 14x7 attached bathroom with all modern amenities, open air restaurant. Camp location is 40 KM. from Jaisalmer at Sam. We organize specializing exclusive deluxe camel safaris & camping anywhere in the desert of Rajasthan. The base camp is 42 Kms. from Jaisalmer near Sam village where you can enjoy our special desert dream package. Package includes night stay, camel safari, traditional welcome, refreshment, Folk music & dance, campfire, dinner & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Winds Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing