We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better of the lot!”
Review of Winds Desert Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winds Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better of the lot!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I highly recommend this camp for anybody interested in going for a desert safari in Rajasthan. The tents are very neat and well maintained. All necessities are taken care of. The staff are very courteous and prompt with their service. I have a big word of praise for the folk music group who performs there. Their singers are amazing. Last but not the least this camp is situated away from the noisy areas of Sam, where loud music and cacophony disturbs the peace that this place offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urmibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    105
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
177
106
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in this property for two nights earlier this month. We were two families - each family being husband-wife and two kids.

The desert camp experience was totally new for us and hence the novelty factor played a big role in our being happy with the stay - the kids loved it.

Positives:

1) The small team of people running the place, under the manager Dheeraj, are extremely service-oriented and go out of their way to ensure that guests are happy. They are not polished and suave, but are extremely service oriented.

2) The tents are very comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and more than adequate for a tent.

3) The folk music performance in the evening was surprisingly high-quality. This is complimentary for guests, and having witnessed half dozen such performances in Rajasthan hotels till now, I found the quality of the singers surprisingly good for a mid-range camp 35 km from Jaisalmer in the middle of the desert.

4) The location of the camp is such that you get an authentic feel of the desert - the bright starry sky, the crisp and clean winter desert air, the silence.....

Negatives

1) Kitchen hygiene and server's hygiene when serving food was not great. These people have a fantastic service orientation but in some things, basic training is needed. I wish the owner of the place pays attention to this.

2) The food menu is rather limited, even after allowing for a desert camp factor. Since this is a family place and the pricing is also not exactly cheap, the food options should have been wider. And I really am talking basic Indian/Rajasthani options, not fancy Chinese/continental stuff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debangshu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Camps location on Google maps is about 6 Km ahead of its actual location, so if you are driving on your own, you need to know that is off the main road next to "Rawla Resorts". There was some confusion in our booking and the online booking, We were called back by the desert camp's representative for the booking. After all the discussion and payment when we reach the camp, we found out to our surprise that we had not be charged completely and had to end up paying extra. This was a complete shock. On query we found that they had faced similar problems with other guest and were exploring alternate service providers.
The tents were clean & neat and were the best part of the stay. The camp is very peaceful and the staff helpful.

The food was very poor, Watery Dal, soup & curd limited spread and average tasting food. This was a big led down for the camp and they must improve on this front. We were charged an exorbitant amount of Rs 300/- per head for a very poor lunch. Hence avoid having lunch if you are mobile, though the city is 40 Km away and hence you are captive customers.

The camel ride organised was limited and we had to pay the camel owner Rs 600 per head more for a proper came ride. We were not even warned or explained properly about this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atul_Datey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was our anniversary and no other place would have been better than the camp where we stayed. Situated away from the crowded tents of Sam sand dunes the Winds camp offers all the luxuries of a modern hotel in the desert yet not disturbing the fragile desert eco system.The tents are very spacious and clean. Elegant furnitures made of Sheeshum wood gives a royal touch, the bathroom is as big as the room and had all the modern amenities including running hot water.
The staff was very friendly.
The cultural program in the evening was ok(have seen better programmes in Udaipur).The food was tasty but I was a bit disappointed as I was expecting some authentic Rajasthani fare.Overall stay was very comfortable.

Room Tip: All the tents are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Winds desert camp during your visit to Jaisalmer.

It is a pleasure to know that our team’s effort made your stay special and exceeded your
expectations.

I certainly hope that we will see you return to the Winds desert camp soon and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Dilip Singh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited during 21st- 29th December 2012; Lead a Bombay Natural History (BNHS) Camp.
TENTS: Tents are spacious and comfortable, it has a good feel to it. Bed is comfortable and clean
BATHROOM: Large and clean
FOOD: Food is good (5 out of 10), do not expect authentic Rajasthani food, but the taste is good.
STAFF: Polite, but a bit laid back. The manager Mr. Ajit is very helpful though sometime repeated reminder is required to get the work done.
INTERNET and NETWORK: No Wifi (obviously), all major network providers have network, though on and off (as on Dec 2012).
AMBIANCE: Winds Desert camp is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the Sam’s Dunes, thus a very quite and peaceful place. It is right in the middle of the desert with few dunes around it. It gives a very nice feel and is in true terms a desert camp.

BIRDING and other wildlife: In campsite and around one can expect: Variable and Desert Wheater, White-eared Bulbul, Southern Grey Shrike, Common Babbler, a lot of House Sparrow, Ashy and Black-crowned Finch-lark (Sparrow-lark).
The Desert National Park is 35 Km from the camp, and is a must visit for bird watchers.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Since the paths are sandy walking on it can be exhausting for children and aged, ask for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khanasif36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Winds desert camp during your visit to Jaisalmer.

It is a pleasure to know that our team’s effort made your stay special and exceeded your
expectations.

I certainly hope that we will see you return to the Winds desert camp soon and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Dilip Singh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on 1st of jan and it was a perfect stay .First tents they were new and very elegently decorated a perfect wooden bed a dressing table table chair etc all was perfect in tent ...and a wooden flooring ..Toilet attached at the back of the tent was again excellent with hot water and other modern amenties .Out side exterior of the tents was also noce like they have arranged char and tables in front of the tent on a platform with a table ......exterior was also nice well decoreated with dim lights ..dance floor and arrrangements was also good .....staff was very nice specially ajeet and mr singh was very helpfull .Dining area a big tent restaurent was also excellent with 7-8 tables arranged properly like a modern restaurant ....food was also ok considiring the fact that they have arranged all that in a dessert and that too in jaisalmer one corner of india with a very remote location .......so winds thubs up and just do bit better in the dinner menu as it just went out of track .......i forgot to mention the location it was excellent for me as it was away from crowded area and was well located

Room Tip: All tents are new and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank APAAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Winds desert camp during your visit to Jaisalmer.

It is a pleasure to know that our team’s effort made your stay special and exceeded your
expectations.

I certainly hope that we will see you return to the Winds desert camp soon and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Dilip Singh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

ok, so there are 2 properties under this establishment and we are thankful that we got the one further off from Sam Dunes. If you want hustle bustle, taxi service , amenities etc do not stay here. We wanted exactly the opposite and hence liked the place. The property has nothing around which helped us to do some great night photography and have a peaceful time. yes, you need to work out the transport but thats exactly what made this quiet place excellent. Clean rooms , decent enough cultural performance in the evening and a friendly night guard ( who kept making bonfires) made it a very refreshing break. Do not expect too much and you will not be disappointed. Better for couples and friends rather than family. Word of advice- ask for Kamal Ram and Rana Ram at the Sam Dunes if you want a good night camel safari. All the hotel packages are superficial. For the price it was good enough value though Food is a concern.

Room Tip: Dont be too close to the entrance or near the stage area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsDesertCamp, Manager at Winds Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Winds desert camp during your visit to Jaisalmer.

It is a pleasure to know that our team’s effort made your stay special and exceeded your
expectations.

I certainly hope that we will see you return to the Winds desert camp soon and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Dilip Singh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
10.5 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,184 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 107 in Jaisalmer
528 reviews
17.1 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 107 in Jaisalmer
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#4 of 107 in Jaisalmer
402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#1 of 233 in Jaisalmer
423 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
#9 of 233 in Jaisalmer
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winds Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winds Desert Camp

Property: Winds Desert Camp
Address: Sam Road-Kanoi | Village Kanoi, Near Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winds Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winds Desert Camp introduces a desert camp near sand dunes. Camp has vast experience of organizing all travel needs. The company is having professional and skilled team expert in camping. We can provide maximum luxury in minimum expenses. Winds Desert Camp has beautifully and elegantly decorated tents covering 14x14 center room, 14x7 Vernadah 14x7 attached bathroom with all modern amenities, open air restaurant. Camp location is 40 KM. from Jaisalmer at Sam. We organize specializing exclusive deluxe camel safaris & camping anywhere in the desert of Rajasthan. The base camp is 42 Kms. from Jaisalmer near Sam village where you can enjoy our special desert dream package. Package includes night stay, camel safari, traditional welcome, refreshment, Folk music & dance, campfire, dinner & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Winds Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing