We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Rang Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rang Mahal
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rang Mahal is a very comfortable hotel with every amenity. It is very clean, has spacious rooms, a good restaurant, great breakfast buffet and lovely infinity pool. The spa is located in tents outdoors on the property. The wifi service is excellent and very afforable.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a room near the spa and pool in the first building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    203
    51
    13
    27
See reviews for
150
151
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Rang Mahal - arrived in Jaisalmer after an 18 hour train trip from Delhi. The room was ready and the front desk staff were "okay" - not exuding warmth and welcome but adequate. Of 2 front desk staff, one spoke hardly any English - which made any communication about telephone calls etc. very challenging.

The room and other service staff were, however, above average. It was a large room - front door facing the desert and the bay window in the room facing a flowered back wall. Good amenities provided - bathroom supplies, kettle, with coffee/tea provided and safe in the room. Decor was tasteful - with a TV even in the bathroom!

The large clean pool was a welcome sight with ample towels and seating area.

Meals at the restaurant were better than expected - we had buffets for much and dinner and there were lovely selections of vegetarian (mostly) dishes. Staff service was wonderful - friendly and attentive.

YES, this hotel is out of town and next to 2 other impreessive looking hotels on this "strip" - but it is also quiet and we have been told that tourists are advised not to stay in the fort due to the "sinking" of the living fort. There is nothing to walk to from the hotel so, you will need transportation to get into town. If you can out up with this, you will not have any regrets with your stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms look fine to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravellerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel as I went to Jaisalmer for attending a marriage in the last week of January. The reception is quite impressive. Even the exterior view is ethenic and suits to the Jaiselmer theme and culture. The interior of the hotel is also having a traditional Rajasthani flavor. The rooms were neat and spacious. The swimming pool area I liked the most. The only problem was a slow service by the hotel staff. To get a wedding suit ironed I had to wait for more than 1 hrs and that too after many reminders. Other than service I have nothing to compalin about. The spa and the health club in tent is quite good but quite expensive and not value for money. In all I was happy and my stay was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe room and near swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanjayAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The property is good and looks nice. I stayed with my Family & kids. The food is a bit expensive. The property is also little far from city but that is not a problem if you have your own transportation. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RS410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went there in Nov'12, Hotel is newly constructed with most of the amenities, Main gate look very grand from the photos online however not that big.

The only problem is it is bit out of the city, however autorikshaws/ taxi can be hired. We took phone number of 1 auto driver and used to call him every time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We planned a family vacation comprising of 17 family members. Before reaching there we were a bit apprehensive about the place. But on reaching there all our apprehensions evaporated. Staff at reception and all across the hotel ensured that we had rooms together. Rooms are neat and clean with attached balconies which was connected for 3 rooms we had together. So we could have good fun together without getting locked up in one room. Swimming pool was clean and quite a lot of open space. Though gym equipment could be better. except for tread mill most of the stuff was not working. We did not try food at the hotel as we wanted to try food at good local places. but evenings were full of folks songs and dance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anoopjain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Jaisalmer it seems has very few options, really few, good hotel options. Rang Mahal and a couple of others adjoining this property are among those few options. Big property, nice pool, small but decent lawn near pool for sit outs. The rooms in the wind adjoining the lobby are old, a little worn but still good. Room and bathroom size adequate and linen is clean and white. I was better off carrying my own toiletries so that's an area perhaps they could work on. Staff is OK some are friendly and others dont give a damn till you dont. The reception staff in particular is quite matter of factly, if that bothers you, ignore it for want of better options in this city. One does get a sense of despair spending money that in a bigger city would get you top service but.... Location is fine with option of autos (tuk tuk equivalent for the friends from outside India) outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If you book direct your chances of getting a better room are higher than if you came thru a travel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#26 of 106 in Jaisalmer
542 reviews
6.7 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,184 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#28 of 106 in Jaisalmer
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
1.8 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 106 in Jaisalmer
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rang Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rang Mahal

Property: Hotel Rang Mahal
Address: Sam Road | 5, Hotel Complex, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rang Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a spa and wellness centre, Hotel Rang Mahal features a heritage look and decor. It is in close proximity of Nakki Lake Free, Sunset Point and Dilwara Temple. WiFi is available throughout the property. Each modern air-conditioned room here will provide you with a cable TV and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and free toiletries. At Hotel Rang Mahal you will find a 24-hour front desk, and 24 hours room service. Other facilities offered at the property include garden, tour desk, meeting facilities and luggage storage. Also the property offers free parking. The Jaisalmer Fort, the Patwa Haveli and the Bada Bagh are within 6 km from the property. The Jaisalmer Bus Station and the Jaisalmer Railway Station are 3 km away. The Jodhpur Airport is 300 km. The on-site restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, continental and regional fare. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rang Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rang Mahal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing