We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms, location, palatial property, good food, average reception service”
Review of Hotel Rang Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rang Mahal
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good rooms, location, palatial property, good food, average reception service”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Location - good - close to hanuman chowk, on the way to Sam.

Property - palatial, high quality cultural programs.

Rooms - good

Reception - atrocious interaction - slams the phone before conversation is over, lies that a certain room-service has been performed while it hasn't been, etc. We were a couple and a child, they tried to force upon us a room with 2 single beds when we had asked for a double-bed.

Restaurant - excellent service - took good care of my 4 year old son. good care during serving appetizers during the evening cultural program

Price - too pricey.

Everything is good except price and front-desk.

Room Tip: we had 313 which was good. avoid 316 unless you want 2 single-beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrasadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    203
    51
    13
    26
See reviews for
149
150
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

They must have replaced all the staff since the reviews below were written. I've rarely encountered such an unhappy, unsmiling, sullen group of employees. We got one smile from a delightful room service young man, but that was it. Front desk in particular needs some basic customer service/interaction training.

Our room was pretty worn out and old.

The bedding is a C-...two flat, marginally useful pillows, an uncomfortable mattress, a fabric headboard (yuk, as they say) and cheap bedding. I realize this is Western Rajastan, and pretty out there, but standards have gotten better and this hotel seems oblivious to what the basic expectation of Western travelers is.

Food is ok, pretty unimpressive after what we've had in restaurants and other hotels over the last two weeks in India.

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had a one day stay in this hotel, Staff is nice and helpful, rooms are clean but heating system is not available in deluxe rooms. Food is specially made for foreigners, but not good for spice loving indians.

Everything is good just cost is too much..i would suggest you phone/mail them for price and negotiate before checking in hotel. (Pool is nice).

Room Tip: There are two types of room deluxe and suite..bargain them a lot before checking ..almost 40-50% dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajParulTanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

A very modern hotel constructed like a mahal (palace), beautifully decorated with wall murals depicting Rajasthani culture. Excellent restaurant service and good food though a bit expensive. Some training for the reception staff to help clients plan their sightseeing in an optimal way, would be highly desirable. Overall a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harsh_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I am a guide in India and have been to this hotel many times.... The best part of the hotel is the excellent service which they provide. It is going to be very difficult to find a reason for a complain here.

The rooms are spacious and at the same time comfortable. Recently, they have renovated the rooms with an LCD TV where you even have TV5 Monde. For those people who have a lower budget and just want to stay at the minimum the hotel is also having 8 tents which are have very good attached toilets and bathroom which is really worth the small price.

The hotel is having a good swimming pool to relax in the afternoon which is a must when you are in the heat of the desert. The drinks are served from the bar right next to the swimming pool giving us a very good time.

Last but not the least the food. It has two restaurants which are serving excellent non spicy food in the morning and afternoon. Generally they are having their dinner in the garden with a open Tandoori where you can get you hot naan's...

Overall it will be a pleasure to stay here... Rated as one of the best hotels in Jaisalmer...

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building on the right side of the swimming pool are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitesh-Xplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is quite large and cavernous and not very full when we were there, so felt even more so.

We looked at a few rooms before booking, they're all a bit different & we had specific requirements of 2 single beds and a bath. Staff were very obliging showing us rooms and some were much plainer than others (rooms that is!). I managed to get a reasonable rate by haggling a little, though could probably have got a similar rate online. Online rates can be variable though.

The beds were very comfortable, room pleasant and spacious with plenty of hot water for the bath. We had just returned from a desert safari so a bit of luxury and comfort was nice.

Buffet food was OK, the first night it looked a lot more interesting than the second, so it varies a bit. The hotel grounds with a pool were very pleasant to relax in.

Even though it's about 5kms out of town, it's easy enough to hail an auto rickshaw for about 60-80 rupees.

I appreciated the tranquility and space of the hotel after the jostling town of Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms if you can - there's enough to choose from. The rooms at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very nice setting, loved the pool,very nice dinners in the garden, some of the best food we had in our 3 week trip, excellent service. Room clean, bed a little soft. Would recommend without any hesitation!
The camel tour is ok but does not compare to Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#26 of 104 in Jaisalmer
768 reviews
6.7 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#54 of 104 in Jaisalmer
126 reviews
1.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#23 of 104 in Jaisalmer
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rang Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rang Mahal

Property: Hotel Rang Mahal
Address: Sam Road | 5, Hotel Complex, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rang Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a spa and wellness centre, Hotel Rang Mahal features a heritage look and decor. It is in close proximity of Nakki Lake Free, Sunset Point and Dilwara Temple. WiFi is available throughout the property. Each modern air-conditioned room here will provide you with a cable TV and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and free toiletries. At Hotel Rang Mahal you will find a 24-hour front desk, and 24 hours room service. Other facilities offered at the property include garden, tour desk, meeting facilities and luggage storage. Also the property offers free parking. The Jaisalmer Fort, the Patwa Haveli and the Bada Bagh are within 6 km from the property. The Jaisalmer Bus Station and the Jaisalmer Railway Station are 3 km away. The Jodhpur Airport is 300 km. The on-site restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, continental and regional fare. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rang Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rang Mahal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing