We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced weird situation........”
Review of Fort Rajwada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Rajwada
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experienced weird situation........”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

hiii...i m Rebois from france.i checked in the hotel wid my family on 8th of aug.,when we entered in the hotel den we realised as we were in a king's palace,exterior is lyk dat only...we soon entered in the big lobby area dat was realy gud n cool wid the ancient luk..we were welcum with garlanding and rose water(a kind of typical welcum drink).reception person took 5 min. to get the formalities done,and there were so many people to handle us but the reception person went with us to the room he explained about the various facilities the hotel provides,, bell boy was following us wid our luguagge,we saw the pool on the way,,it was lukng beautiful..soon we were standing nearby the room.we were having 2 rooms wid us,reception person enterd in the room,but we were surprised to see a person who was already in our room,earlier we saw him near the reception,he was having typical mustache and trying to explain smthng to us but we failed to get him,both person i dont understand wht was he doing over der,reception person moved from der after explaining abt the room features,he was so so..rooms were average wid old interior not as gud as lobby and exterior was...but the other person didnt move and continued to describe the things but i failed to undrstnd,on dat situation we didnt feel comfortable..i was scared of this thing,,der shud be sum privacy after getting in the room..dat was not da professionalism,,,i will say totaly it was average if we talk abt food den it was ok,pool was fine but a bit dirty,staff was friendly except..?....overall recommedable.
thanxxx...

Room Tip: we stayed in east side rooms which were nyc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    291
    133
    58
    64
See reviews for
208
295
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, España
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The building is nice and luxurious, new but similar to classical maharaja's palaces. The swimming pool is also very nice, but here all the pros end. The location is not good, far away from the city, so you need a transport to get there; other way, you'll be in the middle of nowhere. The rooms are vulgar, without any charm, nothing to point out in them. The food (we had breakfast, lunch and dinner at least once during the two nights/three days we spent there) is average, only to remark the Indian BBQ that they prepared for dinner in the swimming pool. And the service is not remarkable at all: they even tried to convince me to change my answers to the satisfaction questionnaire they gave me at check out time when they saw my opinion was just this, "average"

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIDC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived at Fort Rajwada really looking forward to relaxing for a few days after travelling around India. We thought spending a bit more money and staying somewhere that was quite renowned would be just what we needed. The outside of the hotel is beautiful, even the lobby and pool area is so grand and spectacular. It is one of those hotels were it would be more wise to stay there for the majority of time, considering it is a 10 minute drive to the Fort and there are not many tuktuk's around. We had to wait 40 minutes to get a ride to the fort, so going into the main area of Jaisalmer is a bit hard. The service was appalling, my friend and I are 20 and they looked at us like kids and did not really take us seriously. It didn't feel like we were wanted there. I dislocated my shoulder that day and needed some help on how to get to a hospital, this whole ordeal took about 45 minutes. There were new guests arriving so all of the staff attending to them whilst I was on the floor of the lobby in pain. I am truly thankful it wasn't a life-threatening injury. I understand how they have a million jobs to do, but it would have been nice to at least show that they were trying to help me sort a ride or care about me. Another issue was the Wifi. Firstly, a 5-star hotel should be charging for Wifi when all of the hostels around the world provide it for free. We paid for our Wifi and then it did not work anywhere but in the lobby. It did not work out at the pool, which was sad considering we wanted a pool day. We did not even get 3g. We didn't pay for it in the end, and we saw another guest complaining about this same issue. The Fort Rajwada hotel was beautiful, the design is amazing and the staff were fun but it was not up to the professional standards that it should have been. The rooms are old and should be slightly updated. We went in low-season, so I mean it could have just been a slow time but it was not as though I felt in heaven here. It is one of the nicer hotels in Jaisalmer and it does have a great name for itself. The pool does it wonders (however it did have algae everywhere). I probably would not stay here again, but I know my friend thought it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your views. In Jaisalmer all the big Hotels are on the outskirts of the city and if you need a Tuktuk the same comes to pick you up from the city hence the delays. After your shoulder injury you were taken to the hospital by one of the hotel staff in his personal car as all the hotel vehicles and drivers were engaged at that point of time. The gentleman who took you to the hospital stayed with you while you were attended to at the hospital and then brought you back to the hotel. If this was not help and assistance then I am at a loss of words. You did not pay for the Wi Fi, Fine! The records available of the wi fi usage show clearly that it was used by you. You have us all confused, on one hand you say that the hotel is beautiful, the staff is fun, your friend had no complaints and on the other hand you are disappointed. We take all our guests seriously and value their opinion and views.

With regards
Vijendra singh
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very nice hotel, the rooms are nice and clean.
The only small problems were:
- swimming pool not really clean, we complained and they "sort of" cleaned it the day after but it remained troubled water.
- everything is expensive, you need to pay for the billiard, the wifi,...
- the lobby is really hot but in Jaisalmer you are in the desert ;-)
- the air-co in the 2 rooms were noisy but function correctly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found the Hotel nice and clean. The swimming pool in this part of the desert remains a major issue. The strong winds and dust frequent dust storms bring in a lot of sand and cleaning it is a continuous task and we are at it. The charges of various additional facilities that you avail while at the hotel have been fixed after a lot of deliberations and are at par with the other Hotels of same standard in the area. I wish you had pointed out the noisy air conditioner in the room while you were here and the same would have been sorted out by our maintenance team.

With regards
Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsegem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights - 3 days at Fort Rajwada: it is the only place we regret on our 3 weeks tour of Rajasthan.
The hotel is situated in a new area where several hotels are being build and is about 5' drive from Jaisalmer: you do need transportation if you want to go out for a walk or for dinner.
Upon arrival you see a huge hotel with a huge reception hall in marble. They welcome you with a crown of synthetic flowers and a glass of rosewater.
After check-in we were brought to our rooms, situated on ground level. Both rooms had a strong cigarette smell: when we informed reception they told us they could just spray it.
Rooms were large and well decorated; bathroom would need a makeover as it looked faded.

After the long journey from Jodhpur, the children were in a hurry to have a swim: a nice looking large pool was waiting for them. We had to look for the pool boy and ask him to bring us towels and mattresses to put on the pool beds.
The pool was not clean at all: I understand that in the desert there is always sand due to the wind, but there was a lot of sand in the pool and many "algues" on its wall. This was clearly not healthy pool water.

Our supper in the huge, cold looking dinning hall: we were only 10 people and were informed we could have the buffet. As we had a look at it, we preferred to have à la carte: food was ok.
Staff is very friendly.

For breakfast you have again a buffet ( and you get the impression everything is kept simmering for hours) What surprised us, is that we had to pay for the lassis: this was the first and only time we had too in India.

As we were leaving Jaisalmer with the evening train, we asked reception if we could keep 1 room till our pickup time at 16H; this was not possible as hotel was " fully booked". So we had to leave the rooms at 13h and wait in the hot reception hall.( no AC)
If in this huge hotel we would have been with 30 people, it will have been many!

This hotel is clearly for large groups traveling by bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was much below expectation .room was good but there was power cuting every 20 mins and there was lizard on the bad and on floor and then at night air condition was not working and the staff said it will take 1hour to repair at 12:30 mid night and finally after 30 mins they Changed my room and next morning they shifted me back to the same room and air condition was still not working on the first day I was allowed to swim in my costum but on next day they didn't allow me to swim with the same costum it was redicillous this is worst experience of my life it has just five days of my marriage I was with my wife and it was so insulting and I had to change the hotel and the give a stupide reason this is of season but dude we pay 4000 rs in of season not giving us for free Advice as a kid I had stayed in this hotel that was lovely which mad me come again . If u can't change much atleast ask ur staff and general manger keep a smile on your face Thanks and regard. Pushpendra Singh rathore. Room no: 202. Contact details +919887778820

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rathoreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your views. The Trip Advisor gives the Guests a wonderful opportunity to come out with their perspective. Further it gives the Hotel an opportunity to improve based on the inputs of the guests. However, it appears that some people tend to come out with malicious fabrications to settle personal grievances. This defeats the whole purpose of the forum. To put things in perspective I would like to bring out the following:
You checked into the hotel on 08 Jul 2014 and everything was going honky dory till the 9th when you wanted to enter the pool with your wife. You were politely told that to enter the pool you have to be properly attired. This is what triggered off the whole issue and then nothing that the hotel had or did was right. The electricity is controlled by the JVVNL (Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.) and whenever the supply goes off the generators come on, the changeover takes place in a few seconds. The Hotel has no control over the JVVNL. You asked for Cigarettes past midnight and you were again politely informed that the cigarettes are dispensed only through the Bar which closes at a particular time (Incidentally, the Bar closure is also a matter of Government control and the Hotel has no control over it). This irritated you further. You then complained about the AC and your room was accordingly changed. The air-conditioning was checked and thereafter monitored by the Maintenance Engineer and found to be working satisfactorily. While checking out you also informed about the TV and non functional TV remote. The same was checked and found to be fully functional. Probably there could be an issue about handling of the remote but it would be inappropriate on our part to say much on the subject as we believe – ‘GUEST IS ALWAYS RIGHT’. I would also like to bring out that I was out of station at the time of your stay here. Therefore, your comment about my non smiling face is in bad taste and undermines the complete authenticity and sincerity of your valuable comments. Your interaction was with Shri C S Rathore who requested you not to enter the pool inappropriately attired. You were quite angry with him and had threatened him at that time saying, “see what I will put on Trip Advisor”.
Notwithstanding the above we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.
With regards

Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is a relatively new build in the style of grand fortified houses, its kept beautifully clean,
the service is fantastic as are the rooms. The hotel has an excellent pool and roof top bar area with great views. The dining rooms and food are first class, the chef is brilliant and presentation of his dishes are a sight to be seen. The manager runs the hotel very well oversees all aspects and does not let the standard drop. I would strongly recommend this hotel over much more expensive hotels as we have been disappointed at a few on this trip. My only negative comment would be there was no A/C in public areas, corridors etc of the hotel and june was 47 degree C.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher grade its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#21 of 104 in Jaisalmer
483 reviews
10.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
BRYS Fort
BRYS Fort
#64 of 104 in Jaisalmer
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Rajwada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rajwada

Property: Fort Rajwada
Address: Hotel Complex No 1 | Jodhpur-Barmer Link Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Rajwada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fort Rajwada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Rajwada Jaisalmer
Fort Rajwada Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing