We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and comfortable - service great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Rajwada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Rajwada
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant and comfortable - service great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A typical modern tourist hotel in grand style and a very pleasant place to relax. Staff are extremely friendly.

They do an exceptionally good buffet for all meals – a very impressive selection and well cooked.

Like all aspiring grand hotels, some of the public areas are a bit soulless and you can feel a bit lost in the bar. What it desperately needs is an informal coffee shop rather than regimented table cloths. Staying in Jaisalmer might have been more atmospheric, but we were quite happy here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quandoquidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    287
    129
    55
    60
See reviews for
191
285
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

After reading other reviews We were surprised to find that the Rajwada appeared very comfortable and pleasant. Its not 5 luxury but clean and well maintained, with basic comfortable rooms and excellent swimming pool. The staff we found to be extremely helpful and always at hand.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Acland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The property is huge n well maintained. swimming pool and roof top bar are great areas to sit at . Staff is good, polite and well behaved. Services are also good. From the main entrance gate only one can expect what a lovely experience they are gonna have. This hotel carries a class and status among the others. The decorations and lightning were amazing . The view of this hotel after being decorated and lighted up was out of the world. Food was awesome. Overall experience was excellent.
Great Job.
Keep it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay_kumar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Since we arrived at the hotel we notice that it was not a highg quality hotel.
the airconditioner was not turn on at the reception/lobby. It was almost 30degrees at 8pm.
We were said that the hotel had a low occypancy, almost 12 people. The lights of the corridors were also turned off.
Additionally, the last night, we had a bad experience with the staff. A strong noise started at 1am and the staff says they were so sorry but they could not do anything. (no change of room)
Overall, very bad expeirence in this hotel. I will never recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martibelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were at Fort Rajwada for 2 nights and had made our reservation through our regular travel agent. The property is very good, well maintained and has a nice pool with enough landscaping and art work inside the hotel which gives one enough options to click pictures at the hotel itself!!

We booked the Desert Safari (Rajasthan Desert Safari) at Sam Sand Dunes through the hotel. The expectation was that the quality of experience would match the quality of the hotel. The hotel charged us INR 1500 per adult but on reaching the venue, we had to wait a long time for our jeep to come. This happened after we pushed the desert camp really hard. In fact, they were to provide camels but finally arranged for a jeep. The camel, sand dune and cultural program were good but the food was below par. We had picked this camp since we wanted non-vegetarian food but all they had in non-vegetarian food was one curry of some bird (not even chicken). We felt ripped off when we came to know that the family next to us paid only 700 bucks per head!! We talked about this with the Ops Manager but he couldn't do anything other than to offer us discount on dinner if we wished to have it at the hotel.

On Day 2, the soap holder made of glass in one of the bathrooms fell off creating a cut in my wife's leg requiring medical attention. While a doctor was on call and came to our room, the consulting fee had to be paid by us.

And while checking out, there was confusion around billing. When we got in, we had requested for billing in my wife's name but when we were checking out, the name was different, Then the rates applied were wrong which required us to talk with the travel agent.

These minor things added up and left distaste when we left the hotel though the hotel by itself has a lot of potential and is grand. The staff is also polite but it is just that they are not trained well which is a reflection of senior leadership's inefficiency.

Room Tip: For Sand Dune trips, we would suggest that you reach Sam early (around 4 PM), look around the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanthoshJayakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Warm welcome even though the room was not ready for early check-in. Highlight was lovely pool especially after hot day of sight seeing. Great to sit up on rooftop bar but was too much a group hotel ie impersonal and too far out from Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The most disappointing hotel of our trip, this is one of a cluster of "tour-bus" hotels well outside the city on a barren tract of nothingness. Whilst the physical buildings are quite impressive on arrival, that's as good as it gets. Service is about what you'd expect in any establishment anywhere in the world that never expects to see repeat guests. The food is worse. If being herded like cattle around a behemoth of a faux-castle appeals, go. If not avoid it.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#27 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
10.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#28 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#25 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#22 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Rajwada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rajwada

Property: Fort Rajwada
Address: Hotel Complex No 1 | Jodhpur-Barmer Link Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Rajwada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Rajwada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Rajwada Jaisalmer
Fort Rajwada Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing