We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a memorable stay at desert tulip.The manager Sh.Pankaj Sharma and the entire staff were courteous.The folk dances were entertaining and the food was delicious.The hotel was neat and clean.
Sunil Kumar
9322401579

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunilkmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
68
65
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The worst memories of my life. The hotel is very small, absolutely nothing to do: semi-dirty pool and a restaurant with a very poor selection. The first surprise is NO HOT WATER! To save money, as they explained, they turn off hot water during night and the whole afternoon. If you are lucky you can catch it in the morning and evening. Since it was December, it was insanely cold in the rooms. We had to argue a lot to get some sort of a heater. Another bummer: you can not order food to your room, so have to walk in the cold wind to the restaurant to have a bite. Food selection is poor, quality is dubious. The staff is running around in dirty clothes. Another observation: probably in order to save even more (hot water savings are not enough), they make their staff do multiple things, I have seen the very same people clean rooms, carry luggage, deal with food, who knows what else. For the price they are charging it is a horrible place. I would probably consider it in the below $90 category, but above $200? NO WAY! There are lots of amazing hotels in India that treat you like a king for this money. In Desert Tulip you have to fight for the very basics. Try your luck somewhere else: most definitely it won't be worse, hopefully it would be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Formyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one one of the best hotels we've stayed in. The room is spacious and is nicely decorated. We checked-in during winter season and it was very cold then, the room had one heater and it turns off whenever you'd stay out of the hotel so when you come back, the room turns out to be cold. We dined a la carte and it was very good. Their breakfast spread was also good.
Wifi didnt work but the staff were very accommodating and allowed us to use wifi at the lobby.
Location is not a problem at all as it is just very near the city, which is very crowded. Our over-all experience was very good and I will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvinsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

For sure, we will remember this place.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.
There is a pool, but we didn't use it because it was the middle of the winter and days were a bit too chilly then.
The staff is very nice, especially the front office manager Jethudan Charan.
The wifi works fine.
The only drawback is the location: I think wr would have prefered staying closer to the city center. But if you want to have a good rest, it might be OK for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAlbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hi everyone, i stayed in desert tulip for 1 night....a true gem of a hotel with excellent staff who look after the property real well... Mr Pankaj who looks after the property was a pleasure to meet, and is a man who looks after his guest real well...if you are looking for a hotel where you can relax and be well looked after this is the place...Beautiful rooms, amazing architecture of the hotel and real nice Pool.. The location is also very nice not to far away from the fort. Mr Pankaj the only thing you need to look at is the food quality otherwise everything is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nizarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

For the staying purpose the hotel is very good. However, food was not upto the mark; but in nearby areas one can find good food. Hotel is strategically placed due to which there are various nearby good hotels.

Room Tip: there are various pool side rooms which are quite good... check them out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saurabh_sm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was an pleasant to stay, service as well a food, staff is also very kindness and at a moment with you in your service. For more about the place please visit the website www.hoteldeserttulip.com.
but a bit heavy for pocket rather than outside visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HirenDhaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
BRYS Fort
BRYS Fort
#64 of 104 in Jaisalmer
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#55 of 104 in Jaisalmer
126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 104 in Jaisalmer
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#21 of 104 in Jaisalmer
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#25 of 104 in Jaisalmer
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort

Property: Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Address: 4, Hotel Complex | N.H. 15 Jodhpur Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort, an imposing sandstone wonder,. Synonymous with romance, chivalry, culture and natural beauty stands as an oasis of warmth and hospitality. The intricately dexterous carving on the yellow sand stone, the hallmark of great local craftsmen, blends tradition with contemporary elegance. The arched corridors running in front of the 64 well appointed rooms gives you the majestic feel of the past. The rooms are equipped with all modern amenities and elegant decor. The quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the beautifully landscaped gardens surrounding the pool, lends itself to a mystical and magical evening with traditional dances and the rustic music by local artists, a rare glimpse into the rich culture of rural Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing