We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing safari”

Trotters Independent Tours & Travels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trotters is a small local camel safari business based in Jaisalmer, Rajasthan. It’s run by Del Boy and his friendly team of guides and jeep drivers, all of whom originate from desert villages.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing safari”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my friend decided to visit the Thar desert with Trotters and we weren't diappointed! I'm always a little unsure of places that are advertised in the lonely planet as they tend to get complacent but this isn't the case with 'Del Boy' and this guides.

We choose a safari leaving at 1pm and arriving back in Jaisalmer the next day at lunchtime. We were the only two people on our safari which made us feel a bit uneasy at first (two females alone) but there was no need. Our guide Sobu was amazing! He was the same age as us and had been working on the camel safaris for 17 years (since 9years old). He was great at giving information about the desert and anything we asked but knew when to be silent and let us enjoy the desert scenery. We had about 2 hours each day on the camels and that was more than enough - they really aren't that comfortable. Sobu took us to a sand dune for our camp for the night. The whole time we were in the desert we didn't see another tourist so we were definitely taken to a sand dune off the beaten track. Unfortunately, my friend was ill so couldn't eat Sobu's food but it was delicious and he made enough to feed five times as many people. His chai was also excellent.

The only negative was the frequent stops in the jeep on the way to meet our guide. They were a bit unnecessary and mainly consisted of 'here, look around' by the driver when we stopped at rundown villages. The children obviously knew the drill as they were quite agressive at asking for money, pens and sweets. We even had one boy trying to get into our bags in the jeep! Other than that I would recommend Trotters for anyone looking for a camel safari away from Sam's dune.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClareEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelboyTrotter937, Owner at Trotters Independent Tours & Travels, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Clareej

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good time with us on your camel safari, we also enjoyed having you with us. Feel free to come back at any time! We wish you the best for the coming year and all future travels.

Thanks again,
DelBoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    100
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience of my whole trip”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

To put it simply, Trotter's could not have done more to make our Camel Trek experience easier. My main concerns for the trek were sleeping in the desert, and eating. Shouldn't have worried because the trek leader's were EXTREMELY accommodating and made us feel very comfortable. The food was fantastic and there was more than enough to go around! There was more than enough water - you couldn't want for anything.

They really are as good as everyone says and a camel trek is one of the most exciting ways to see the desert of Jaisalmer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiabellwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelboyTrotter937, Owner at Trotters Independent Tours & Travels, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Claudia,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good time with us on your camel safari, we also enjoyed having you with us. Feel free to come back at any time! We wish you the best for the coming year and all future travels.

Thanks again,
DelBoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There is a nice story behind Delboy and his business”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have to say that this Safari was just incredible. But, I also have to say that the story behind this safari tour and his owner is exemplary… you must try it to know why. This modest guy has gain the respect of the tourist by his honesty and charisma.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicoeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelboyTrotter937, Owner at Trotters Independent Tours & Travels, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Nicoeu,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good time with us on your camel safari, we also enjoyed having you with us. Feel free to come back at any time! We wish you the best for the coming year and all future travels.

Thanks again,
DelBoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic non touristy safari!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I highly recommend Trotters Camel Safaris. The safari was exactly as advertised. In our group of 3 tourists and 2 guides, we didn't see another tourist for the whole time. There was plenty of water and we were even delivered icy water and cold beer to our evening campsite. The camel guide made totally delicious chai and his meals were also really tasty. Apart from the safari they responded quickly to emails, picked us up and dropped us off to the train station and helped us to find great accommodation. It's hard to choose a good safari company and I'm pleased we chose right! Thanks to the super friendly and helpful team at trotters!

Helpful?
Thank FlyingKiwiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelboyTrotter937, Owner at Trotters Independent Tours & Travels, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the food and beer, the comfort of our customers is important to us. We like to make the experience as good as possible,including things like train or bus pick up so thank you for using that. Kind regards, Delboy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Book it!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fantastic company. On arrival we were shocked at how run down and shabby the office looked in comparison the the brilliant website but as soon as we entered and Delboy sat down with us to explain the safari we were immediately put at rest. He is a lovely man who can speak but cannot read English, he relies upon tourists to help him respond to inquires which is the reason we found out the replies we had been receiving before we booked the trip were sometimes quite delayed. The entire experience was brilliant although be prepared to amuse yourselves once you get to the desert. We found charades was a good one!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelboyTrotter937, Owner at Trotters Independent Tours & Travels, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed it! We hope you will be back some day.All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trotters Independent Tours & Travels also viewed

 
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
 

Been to Trotters Independent Tours & Travels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing