We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at the Tokyo palace and it was a really nice place to stay. The room was spotless as the place is brand new, the bathroom was spotless. I had a flatscreen tv in my room which was great. They had wifi but it didn't work in the rooms, only in the reception area. For the price I paid, it was great. You can also sleep downstairs in the dorm rooms which is just a big room with 6 beds for 100 rupees which is great if you are getting an early morning bus and just need a place to crash. Beware of the camel tour. It was expensive, 3000 rupees to head to the desert. I would shop around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Tokyo Hotel is located in an area which is not too busy, yet close to the main attractions in Jaisalmer (such as the fort and lake). Excellent service provided by the staff. A friend of mine fell sick with stomach problems and the staff helped to send us to the hospital and he seen to by a doctor even though it was at night (about 9.30pm). The staff also helped with communicating with the hospital staff. The only thing that can be improved upon is the waiting time for the restaurant, as food takes very long to be prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danshique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at the Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer along with my wife in the 2nd week of Dec 2011. The hotel is conveniently located a brisk 5 minute walk from the Jaisalmer fort. The rooftop cafe offers a splendid view of the fort - something that the cafes within the fort cannot offer. The wifi in the reception area was good & the rooms were tastefully done. The normal room had a balcony, 2 rajasthan styled diwans & a bathtub as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan_6978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This new property off the main road and very near to the Jaisalmer fort is brilliantly architected and is a visual delight. It is a treat in itself, the big reception area, the sparkling tiles, the gaps in the walls of every room that has a matress and pillows decorated royally, the paintings, the lights, the semi velvet blankets in every bed, the 4 different types of lights on the ceilings of every room, the open roof providing a view of the fort and much of the city, the swimming pool, it screams of luxury.

What the newly built hotel needs to improve upon is management. The service was no doubt good, and the owner Mr. Nanga was personally involved in most of the interactions with us. But the kitchen was seen with just one cook when there arrived 3 different groups to have late breakfast (around 10 am).

The food was good, we had in house pizza and kadhi chawal for dinner, pancakes and cornflakes for breakfast and another day we had pulao for lunch. The quality and the quantity were good. It is priced moderately, more expensive than other parts of the country but in line with the restaurants of the place. The menu has good variety when compared to other indian hotels

The hotel has a good network of drivers and cars (we travelled in a couple of brand new Taveras). They arrange an overnight tour of Sam (pronounced as "Sum" and not the name "Sam") sand dunes that includes 45 km of drive to the place Sam, a camel ride to the sunset point in the sand dunes (mostly crowded) and back to a resort in Sam, an overnight stay in Tent with buffet dinner and performances by local folk singers and Kalbeliya tribal girl dancers and breakfast the next day. Do this tour to see the desert and have a different experience than the usual hotel/fort/palace routine of rajasthan's cities.

The hotel is so named because the owner's elder brother runs a hotel in Tokyo (which incidentally is named "Bombay Palace"). The hotel has a stack of Japanese books and magazines, and we saw that a good section of their clientelle comprised of the orient.

Room Tip: 1st floor is closer to the rooftop restaurant and has a better decor. Go for ground floor if you are...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

staying in the hotel nov 2011, very new, nice people at the desk.... very quite place

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrizia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The service here was just wonderful . All the guys did everything they could and more to make our stay a fantastic, fun, relaxing and stress free one. Anything we needed they would help. And even once we had left they continued to call us as we travelled throughout India to make sure we were ok. Wonderful place too, everything you want in a hotel. Attractive, clean and well priced.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Great place with excellent rooms and wonderful staff and service. The rooms were as good as any star hotel. Highly recommend the place and would love to come back here any day. Great location as well and the views of the fort from the restaurant were stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydeep95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer

Address: Near Fort, Airforce Chouraha | Dhibba Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $16 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tokyo Palace is perfectly located in the cultural center of Jaisalmer, set in peaceful local surroundings, yet close to famous historical landmarks. Hotel Tokyo Palace has its very own rooftop bar and restaurant, offering picturesque views of Jaisalmer City and The Golden Fort. The restaurant is one of the most popular and highly rated restaurants in Jaisalmer, serving a wide range of traditional Indian dishes, as well as Western style food to suit the needs of everyone. Guests can enjoy easy access to Jaisalmer’s lively Market, Golden Fort, Jain Temple, Folklore Museum, Bus Term. and Railway St., which are all within walking distance of the hotel. Those arriving by bus or train can enjoy complimentary pickup and drop-off services that Tokyo Palace has to offer. Hotel offer excellent value budget rooms. They are decorated in elegant Rajasthani style with ornate stonework. All guests can also enjoy our lavish swimming pool and sun lounge facilities to relax after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing