We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly! Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sanjay Villas
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly! Great food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel was spotless! The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a lovely bay window. The staff were friendly and helpful and always had a smile on their face. The food in the upstairs restaurant was DELICIOUS and fresh! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
42
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

After a long walk in the main market with lots of crowns,horn and motorcycles.We found this hotel really peaceful and relaxing.Located a bit out of the city somehow become its advantage,away from noise and also you can see the whole view of the fort and the city from the hotel rooftop.i particular like how they keep the hotel very clean,simple and classic.Spacious room,clean toilet,sort of homemade and tasty food.The rooftop restaurant is my favorite place.The staff are also very friendly and very happy to take care of us in anyway we asked for.lovely stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amika2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We started our Rajashthan tour on our 1st marrigae anniversary from Jaisalmer. Before I write something and other's judge it by that let me remind you that its a budget hotel, economically friendly, i have seen some review which complains about services of the hotel, buddy ..chill ..if u want more...dig more in ur pockets .. :D, its a small hotel, limited staff, but very nice, clean and peaceful..moreover the staff...very gentle and humble which cannot stop you from saying that I m gonna visit u guys again.
The only compromise is in the name of location...but is a small city so nothing to worry abt it.
The food is made when you order, yes its take time but they made it fresh just for you...warm and delicious.
The rooms are clean, the terrace is simply but effectively decorated in Rajashthani culture...the hotel is also made in Rajasthani style. In evening u can have ur dinner at terrace or simply can enjoy ur time watching sky and feeling wind making you refresh after all day hustle and bustle.
On the receptions the Thai lady Miss Boom was very helpful and friendly. The cook Mr Narendra kumar is always ready to fill ur stomuch tight with delicious freshly cooked food. Last not the least the helping hand and friendly gesture of Mr Madan was always a cherry on ur cake, he is always ready to attend you, if needed give advice how to start ur trip, where to visit.
At last..it was a pleasant stay, thanks you all for making it more beautiful..and yes..i will visit you guys again... :)
Stay happy stay blessed.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a budget hotel...u just try this one out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammymarkians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaRam, Manager at Hotel Sanjay Villas, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Jammymarkians,

Thanks you for sharing your opinion here. It's our honour to have nice people like you and you wife as our guests in our small hotel. I was not here myself when you were here.
In the name of all staffs in Hotel Sanjay Villas, thanks you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you and your family back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were brought to our hotel by our tour company after a mix-up in reservations. We were supposed to be at a hotel run by the same management. Also, our daughter was sick from a long car trip, and the region was going through an exceptional cold spell. None of these things, of course, are the fault of the hotel. Nonetheless, this hotel managed to win us over during the two nights we spent here. The staff tried constantly to please and accommodated us in every way they could.

They brought us our food to our rooms for several meals because their rooftop restaurant was simply too cold to eat at. They brought extra blankets, etc. So while the food seemed plain and uninspired, well, that could well be because it was carried down two flights of stairs on a tray.
The building had the appearance of a place that had just been built, and they did mention that they had just bought the place. There seemed to be a slight disorganization to everything. But they sure did scramble to keep the customers happy. I think part of the problem is that my family was in a generally pissy mood from the weather and long car trips through the desert. Time will make the place more organized and not all customers are as pissy as us ;)

The location of the hotel is well away from the fort area, though. This of course cannot change and for some people does have its advantages. I believe a rickshaw cost our family about 60 rupees at night to take us out to the hotel. Make sure you bring a card from the restaurant if you want to direct a driver to this place. Ours did not know where it was, only the general area.

We were brought to our hotel by our tour company after a mix-up in reservations. We were supposed to be at a hotel run by the same management. Also, our daughter was sick from a long car trip, and the region was going through an exceptional cold spell. None of these things, of course, are the fault of the hotel. Nonetheless, this hotel managed to win us over during the two nights we spent here. The staff tried constantly to please and accommodated us in every way they could.

They brought us our food to our rooms for several meals because their rooftop restaurant was simply too cold to eat at. They brought extra blankets, etc. So while the food seemed plain and uninspired, well, that could well be because it was carried down two flights of stairs on a tray.
The building had the appearance of a place that had just been built, and they did mention that they had just bought the place. There seemed to be a slight disorganization to everything. But they sure did scramble to keep the customers happy. I think part of the problem is that my family was in a generally pissy mood from the weather and long car trips through the desert. Time will make the place more organized and not all customers are as pissy as us ;)

The location of the hotel is well away from the fort area, though. This of course cannot change and for some people does have its advantages. I believe a rickshaw cost our family about 60 rupees at night to take us out to the hotel. Make sure you bring a card from the restaurant if you want to direct a driver to this place. Ours did not know where it was, only the general area.

====================================
Background of our trip through India: my wife and I traveled with our two kids, ages 6 & 7, through India for five weeks in Dec 2013/Jan 2014. On two legs of our trip we hired a car and driver, and took trains and taxis for the other parts of the trip. We are Americans, but live outside of the US in a third world country. When looking for a hotel, cleanliness is a prime consideration for us, followed by location and price. I always appreciate a place that appears to have friendly and responsive management. We consider ourselves to be ‘budget travelers’, but now that we have kids and are more fastidious about cleanliness, we have upped the budget a bit and no longer go for the absolute cheapest option that Lonely Planet and/or Trip Advisor have to offer.

On our trip through Rajasthan, we were rather cold during the evenings and found rooftop/outdoor restaurants to be often to chilly to eat in. Not that it is so incredibly cold in Rajasthan, but we live in a hot climate, so we have become unaccustomed to it being so cold.

When we were with a car and driver, we stayed at hotels for 1-2 night in each city, and the hotel was chosen for us by the tour agency, so we were not aware of the price of the room. However, the quality of the rooms was comparable to what we would have chosen anyways. To give you an idea of our budgetary considerations, in Delhi, Goa, and Mumbai, we were paying about 2000-2900 rupees per night for our family of four, often in a room with one large bed, or a medium size bed with a mattress on the floor, or sometimes three twin-sized beds. Outside of these cities, this type of room seemed to be priced at 1500-2000.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Schlabotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The only reason for a decreased mark is due to the location. I wouldn't personally venture out alone at night time with the hotel being so far away from the town but the staff were very nice and accommodating. The food was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the soup that Narendrakumar the head chef prepared. We would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want the hustle bustle of the city, enjoys great service with smiling faces and wants a relaxing time in Jaisalmer. Madalnlal kept a clean new hotel with tidy rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camosalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaRam, Manager at Hotel Sanjay Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Camosalt,

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion here. We really appreciated it. Yes our hotel is located in a residential area away from the noise and crowded city. We love how peaceful it is here and we know you did too. We can not change our location but we can improve it by giving the best service we possible could.We're really happy that you have noticed that.
Thanks you once again from all Hotel Sanjay Villas staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

After the initial chaos of India, I was happy to stay to have found this hotel. Clean room, good food and a very relaxing environment all made my stay very pleasent. The staff were also very helpful and were happy tp take care of any issues I had. would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klynch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

About my stay in Sanjay Vilas i don't have any other words than excellent , i have stayed their with group of my friends and found this one most economical place and value for money , although the hotel was booked but the service quality and outstanding was heart winning.
it is a quite place for the relaxation and very close to the main city. Hotel staff is courteous.
what all one should expect in this budget ;-)

Room Tip: make a prior booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarun380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#34 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bharat Villas
Hotel Bharat Villas
#21 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#32 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanjay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanjay Villas

Property: Hotel Sanjay Villas
Address: Achalvanshi Colony, | Nr. Sunset point, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sanjay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaisalmer and Hotel Sanjay Villas!Our hotel is constructed throughout with the golden stone, laced with unique Jaisalmeri carved features. Located near the beautiful sunset point which is one of the quiet area but still within a walking distance to the main market and Jaisalmer Fort. We have a range of rooms that will suit your budget, non air-conditioned or air-conditioned rooms with Rajasthani style appointed bay windows. Total 11 spacious rooms with attached bathroom and clean toilets. Each room is simply decorated, neat and clean, fitted with large comfortable beds and colour TVsFeel a cool breeze in our relaxing roof top restaurant where you can enjoy delicious Indian, Rajasthani, Western, Asian and real Thai foods which only available here. Service to your room is also available with no extra charge.Horn-free area, friendly neighborhood, hassle-free environment Hotel Sanjay Villas is where you will find real 'peace' in Jaisalmer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sanjay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing