We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well build location is also good but bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
Ranked #52 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very well build location is also good but bad food”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Well first of all don't compare this with chokidani Jaipur hell Lot of difference. We went in high season and all tents were full. The rooms are very good for a tent ,well furnished bathroom (no hooks for towel) rest all good . It's pretty huge. the cultural evenings can definitely be improved . About the food if you want ethnic village Rajasthani food it's great . But no non veg and only 3 dishes in breakfast buffet ( poha,puri bhaji and toasts) and you want get any snacks. ‎
The complimentary camel rides were nice.
With respect to rooms this is great . With respect to food there is definitely room for
Improvement .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

our train reached in the morning ... and when we reached the tents by noon we were told that people check in by evening ... no one told us about that earlier .... it took 2 hrs for them to sort out everything and give us a tent ....
It was October and the tents were pretty hot till late evening and they did not had any provision of fan, after 3-4 follow up we were given a table fan... the water in the bath was extremely dirty...
Since the property is listed as luxury tents, expectations were different.....
Food was average.... and below average for what Chokhi Dhani is known for... overall a very bad experience... will not recommend anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanushreeGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was with my Family to this place on 25th November-2012. Resort is nicely maintned, very good food, good location. Mr. Balwant Singh is jem of person, he did all possible efforts to make stay comfortable and attend guest/s personally.
Camel Safari offered in Package needs to be improved, otherwise if you pay extra then only
Camel Safari will be excellent. Dance/Music/Cultural prog. also need some improvement.
All other is very good & Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuptaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I reached the hotel at noon time and i was told that normally people come in at around 1600hrs, and the welcome was not as expected. I was initially put off by that but the entire stay was very good. We were allocated a tent and it was good. There are many camps with tents in Sam but chokhi dhani is the best one as people from other camps also came up in the evening to see the kathputli dance, magic show and kalbelia dance and this camp. The food was authentic rajasthani food which u have to eat sitting on the floor. Normally people stay in jaisalmer for one day and Sam for one day but I decided to stay in Sam for two days and visit Jaisalmer from there. There are many things to do in Sam camel safari, jeep safari & para-gliding(this has been started recently). I have been staying in hotels but staying in a tent was a different experience. The sound proofing is next to nothing ... but i guess it all adds up to the experience. The lunch is not included in the room rent. The breakfast with a limited menu and dinner with full rajasthani menu is included in the room rent.

Room Tip: There are only one kind of tents here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkahlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The stay at this desert camp was average, with decent tents. The tents were equipped with running water both hot & cold. The place was neat. But the evening show was below average. The performers were not enthusiastic. The magic show was the worst. The evening meal was average. The breakfast was better with the staff much more willing to serve & look after. Hence for the amount they are charging, the stay was a let down. However compared to the maintenance & style ( with painted walls & decoration ), for photographic purposes, it is better than the rest around it.

Room Tip: All tents are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prajauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great experience, however, the tents were not fully occupied as claimed. Probably 10 odd tents were occupied of almost 30+, so the evening show etc was a bit lame ( could be better). Dinner was the best, breakfast was kind of average. The Tents were nice n comfortable.
The view of the sky @ 5 am in the morning was out of the world, as if you could see the sky hanging low with bright lit stars, an experience which our family can never ever forget.
Camel ride is included, however, the Camel person does try to negotiate extra money for a longer ride, which we did pay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.4 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#54 of 104 in Jaisalmer
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
7.1 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#5 of 218 in Jaisalmer
408 reviews
14.5 mi away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#1 of 218 in Jaisalmer
424 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#26 of 218 in Jaisalmer
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp

Property: Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
Address: Kanoj Village, Near Sand Dune, Jaisalmer, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing