We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy for a Desert night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
Ranked #86 of 274 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
A Cleartrip traveler
London, United Kingdom
221
Reviewed November 29, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank A Cleartrip traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I reached the hotel at noon time and i was told that normally people come in at around 1600hrs, and the welcome was not as expected. I was initially put off by that but the entire stay was very good. We were allocated a tent and it was good. There are many camps with tents in Sam but chokhi dhani is the best one as people from other camps also came up in the evening to see the kathputli dance, magic show and kalbelia dance and this camp. The food was authentic rajasthani food which u have to eat sitting on the floor. Normally people stay in jaisalmer for one day and Sam for one day but I decided to stay in Sam for two days and visit Jaisalmer from there. There are many things to do in Sam camel safari, jeep safari & para-gliding(this has been started recently). I have been staying in hotels but staying in a tent was a different experience. The sound proofing is next to nothing ... but i guess it all adds up to the experience. The lunch is not included in the room rent. The breakfast with a limited menu and dinner with full rajasthani menu is included in the room rent.

Room Tip: There are only one kind of tents here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkahlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The stay at this desert camp was average, with decent tents. The tents were equipped with running water both hot & cold. The place was neat. But the evening show was below average. The performers were not enthusiastic. The magic show was the worst. The evening meal was average. The breakfast was better with the staff much more willing to serve & look after. Hence for the amount they are charging, the stay was a let down. However compared to the maintenance & style ( with painted walls & decoration ), for photographic purposes, it is better than the rest around it.

Room Tip: All tents are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prajauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on this esteemed travel forum. It is our endeavour to pamper our guests with the signature Feel Well experience; however, we understand that your stay was not as per your expectations and we regret not living upto the standards.

Please be assured that your review is a guideline for us improving our services and ensuring that your next visit is a flawless one. We also express our concern over the matter highlighted in your review. We have noted your comments and we will take necessary steps to resolve the issues at the earliest, as applicable.Once again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that you would enjoy a fabulous experience when you visit us next.

Yours Sincerely,
Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great experience, however, the tents were not fully occupied as claimed. Probably 10 odd tents were occupied of almost 30+, so the evening show etc was a bit lame ( could be better). Dinner was the best, breakfast was kind of average. The Tents were nice n comfortable.
The view of the sky @ 5 am in the morning was out of the world, as if you could see the sky hanging low with bright lit stars, an experience which our family can never ever forget.
Camel ride is included, however, the Camel person does try to negotiate extra money for a longer ride, which we did pay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaviSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

good experience in desert tent,thanks mr shenawaj and mr yadav for good welcome,food was delicious.staff was very cooperative and polite evening was full of joy thanks to everybody for good activites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drrkdixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

this amazing hotel with superb interior and awesome services will certainly be among the top most hotels in Jaisalmer..... Great welcoming staff and the cleanliness was awesome. ... A must stay... Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohitbhandari86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The entrance itself takes your breath away. It's simply gorgeous. The tents are spacious, airy and pretty cool. The food was absolutely delicious. And the entertainment in the evening was brilliant. It takes some getting used to when people bring plates of aarti to you and you are expected to know that you must put a tenner in there. NOTE: Always keep change on you. The staff and the help are very friendly, helpful and definitely know their job, but, they are not shy of asking for tips. Keep yourself well supplied with Rs. 20/Rs. 50 notes to not get caught with larger currency notes (you will not get any change back) or no cash at all, which can sometimes get a bit embarassing.

The ride into the desert to see the sun set was marred a bit due to 2 annoying hangers on. But once we were rid of them, it was better than anything we had ever seen. The hotel will organise camel rides to get to the desert, but make sure you fix the price before setting out. THe camel driver politely saying "As you think fit.", doesn't at all mean As You Think Fit. Check with the reception and know what you and the camel driver are getting out of it.

The beds are comfortable and extra blankets were available when we needed them.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant. Amble and served with tonnes of smiles. But an 8am start might mean that the setting up of tables starts at 8am. If in need of an early breakfast, make sure the staff know. They are usually lovely about it and do cater to the needs of early risers.

All in all, an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saanvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on this esteemed travel forum. It is our endeavour to pamper our guests with the signature Feel Well experience; however, we understand that your stay was not as per your expectations and we regret not living upto the standards.

Please be assured that your review is a guideline for us improving our services and ensuring that your next visit is a flawless one. We also express our concern over the matter highlighted in your review. We have noted your comments and we will take necessary steps to resolve the issues at the earliest, as applicable.Once again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that you would enjoy a fabulous experience when you visit us next.

Yours Sincerely,
Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.4 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#67 of 108 in Jaisalmer
126 reviews
3.3 mi away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#44 of 108 in Jaisalmer
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
#56 of 108 in Jaisalmer
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#32 of 108 in Jaisalmer
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#25 of 108 in Jaisalmer
514 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#38 of 274 in Jaisalmer
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp

Address: Kanoj Village, Near Sand Dune, Jaisalmer, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 274 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $76 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing