We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely desert oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp
Ranked #82 of 269 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Reviewed March 19, 2012

As we did not book any desert camp in advance and was driving on my own. We took the liberty to look at all decent desert camps... Chokhi dhani was the best bet in terms of Location, Camp facilities, entertainment, aesthetics and not to mention yummy rajasthani fare. The dining fare was quintessentially standard rajasthani food they offer at Jaipur resort. I was surprised at the wide variety in food and the hospitality of the staff. The Restaurant "Bindola" was decently stacked with basic needs in desert.. Not to mention the elaborate Breakfast the following morning. The Tent camp was nicely done in typical rajasthani decor and furnishings.

Room Tip: Best among the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarveshji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Namaskar.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on this esteemed travel forum. It is our endeavour to pamper our guests with the signature Feel Well experience; however, we understand that your stay was not as per your expectations and we regret not living upto the standards.

Please be assured that your review is a guideline for us improving our services and ensuring that your next visit is a flawless one. We also express our concern over the matter highlighted in your review. We have noted your comments and we will take necessary steps to resolve the issues at the earliest, as applicable.Once again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that you would enjoy a fabulous experience when you visit us next.

Yours Sincerely,
Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

This camp is the best in Jaisalmer Sam. The Award Winning Concept of Chokhi Dhani is quiet visible upon the entrance to the camp. On our way towards sam we saw so many camping sites but this was totally different from each one of them. The best one i can say. We have a warm welcome at the camp and the Swiss tents are filled in with luxuries and attached bath with running hot and cold water. The staff is friendly and takes good care of you while at the camp . We were provided with camels to visit the sunset by the camp and it was breathtaking experience ! After we returned back we enjoyed the puppet show , dance show traditional at the camp followed by a grand traditional dinner in pure Rajasthan style. We loved the stay at Chokhi Dhani and would highly recommend your stay at this camp without which your stay is incomplete in Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: All tents are luxurious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altaf786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The desert camp near Sam sand dunes of Thar will give good feel of dessert with comfort. The camp arranges for all stay, food, entertainment and camel safaris. We checked in at 3 PM per the dessert camp.
Camp: The camp has two parts; first part of the camp is the village. It’s not the real village but the camp guys have done good work to give you the feel of village. The other side of the village is the Swiss tents. The camp looks very beautiful in the evening when all the lights are on. As the night falls the stars on the sky looks so visible it wonderful experience of dessert. The camp was good arrangement of camp fire in the dessert which would help you during chilly nights.
Swiss Tent: The tent did look as luxurious as it was in the photo. But however it was well maintained, comfortable and bathroom is huge area. We went in Jan second week and it was extremely cold. Though the camp guys provide good blankets, the nights are very chilly and wind guesses though the gaps in the tents makes you shiver. But one should not forget this is one of the experiences of the being in the dessert. One good thing about the camp is there is 24hrs running hot water. It would be better if they can provide room heater but yes if they do then you might miss the chillness of the dessert.
Activities: The camp arranges for the camel safaris. The safaris provide you the good experience of the dessert. But what is disappointing is there are too many beggers at the sunset point who would keep troubling you and do emotional black mail to pay you the money. The sunset at the Thar is really wonderful. Thar dessert would have been much better if people can keep it clean without throwing water bottles and chips packets. Once you return to the camp, there are various cultural activities arranged by the camp folks who are part of the camp. They provide you individual performance for the guest on request in the chilly night. These guys have really good talent with them.
Food: They serve good spicy Rajasthani food with loads of ghee for dinner. The restaurant folks over do the service and looks really artificial and they expect tips and they are unhappy with even Rs 50 tips which h is annoying since there are around 5-8 guys and you cannot pay for each of them. The breakfast is good but lunch would be same as breakfast with poori bhaji and pulka with same bhaji.
Overall its definitely good dessert feel and different experience!

Room Tip: All tents are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pguruswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Namaskar.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on this esteemed travel forum. It is our endeavour to pamper our guests with the signature Feel Well experience; however, we understand that your stay was not as per your expectations and we regret not living upto the standards.

Please be assured that your review is a guideline for us improving our services and ensuring that your next visit is a flawless one. We also express our concern over the matter highlighted in your review. We have noted your comments and we will take necessary steps to resolve the issues at the earliest, as applicable.Once again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that you would enjoy a fabulous experience when you visit us next.

Yours Sincerely,
Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Chokhi-Dhani was our Desert camp at Thar during our road trip in Rajasthan in December, 2011.

On a first glance, Chokhi-Dhani emulates a long lasting impression. The desert camp near Sam sand dunes will make you awestruck with its marvellous grandeur within rustic desert habitat. When you come here, you come with a package that includes stay, all food and camel safari.

The entire encampment has two parts. First part is the village, where you have several entertainment options in the evening including games, live music, dances, magic and puppet shows, and the big dining hall. The second part is separated by a wall, which is the residential area. The residential area includes series of semi-permanent Swiss tents, on elevated solid foundation. The interior is just like a normal hotel room with comfortable beds, antic furniture, TV (not functioning in our tent), intercom and a surprisingly well equipped attached toilet. It has supply of 24 hrs hot and cold water. However, tents are not airproof (not expected also), so you will shiver, when chilly wind guesses in through gaps within tents. It truly gives true feel of a desert night. This was really impressive when such luxury is provided within the desert.

After a memorable camel safari, when you come back, the entertainment programs begin. However, in December, it was chilly and windy outside, therefore, the entertainment programs was bit flop. We felt sympathetic to the performers, who were waiting in in chilly outside for spectators to arrive, but it was really few people ventured out. They were giving us individual performances, which was good but not as expected. The food was awesome, with complete Rajasthani vegetarian meal, which was served in typical traditional styles. The breakfast was also good.

Overall, it created an indelible impact down the memory lane.

Room Tip: all tents appear to be same. Nothing special to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudipta_Sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our first experiance of stayingin Swiss tents was good and that too in desert. Sand dunes all over just like in Arabs. Camel Safari, Joy of driving cars in Dunes. Last but not least the ultimate experiance of Paraglidding at golden City

Room Tip: All are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miglani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I went to Jaisalmer and stayed here for one night in last week of October 2011. This is a village resort situated just 1.5 KM from Sand Dunes of Thar Desert and 40 KM from jaisalmer city. We took a package deal which includes stay, dinner and breakfast. The resort is well maintained and full of extremely freindly staffs. There are around 30 tents with attached bathroom. In daytime, it was hot and these tents are not having AC. They will give you table fan which is not enough in day time. But at night, it was cold and they provide you nice blanket which was enough for this time. I am not sure about winter ( Dec-Jan) if this blanket would be enough or they have heater options.
Food was very good for those who likes spicy food with lot of "ghee" ( typical Rajasthani food). At night, the resort looks awesome and a paradise for photographers.

Room Tip: Only typical rajasthani food is available. Non AC tents.Not good for staying at daytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidofNCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Celebrated Diwali weekend over here in nov and the stay was absolutely magic! Really enjoyed the ambience at night, the cottages are awesome and luxurious. Food is the best! We cherished the typical rajasthani dal bhati churma as well as various north indian dishes as well. The only thing was the slow service, but with smile and warmth! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greattravellerindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chokhi D, Guest Relations Manager at Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Chokhi Dhani Desert camp , Jaisalmer. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

We are fortunate to have a passionate team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go above and beyond to meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rajasthan.

Best Regards

Mohammed Umar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.4 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#67 of 108 in Jaisalmer
126 reviews
3.3 mi away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#44 of 108 in Jaisalmer
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#26 of 108 in Jaisalmer
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#31 of 108 in Jaisalmer
559 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#44 of 269 in Jaisalmer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp

Address: Kanoj Village, Near Sand Dune, Jaisalmer, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 269 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $67 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chokhi Dhani Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing