We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahadev Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mahadev Resort
Ranked #102 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Date of visit: - 27th Oct 2013. Pick up from Jaisalmer railway station is arranged by Mahadevresort on paid basis. We stayed in Mahadev resort for one night, enjoyed camel safari and cultural program and next morning a drop on paid basis is arranged to our hotel.
Mahadev Resort is one few permanent resorts in sam sand dunes as most of the resorts are only temporarily created for few months of in-season. Unlike temporary tents Mahadev Resort have solid built AC rooms converted into tents with big attached bathrooms. The resort is created to give a traditional look with option of mud cottages (mud cottages are very small but they too have attached bathroom).The resort provide a good desert safari and the food here is just awesome.
We liked everything about this resort, it was just by chance that at the time of our stay there were no other guests in the resort because of which evening become a little dull as the resort didn’t organize cultural program in resort but accommodated us in one of the neighboring resort for it. After watching the program we came back to Mahadev resort and had a mouthwatering dinner.
Mr. Choudhary the owner of the resort is very helpful. I will surely like to visit this place again.
Tip: - Before booking call up the resort to check whether they have other bookings (guest) on your date of visit or try to visit in a group to have more fun in cultural program. Rest everything is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Mahadev resort is good property..
It has solidly build Swiss tents and cottages.
Has a amphitheater where the cultural programs happens...Folk songs and dance...with puppet show.
If you are travelling in winters...should not know that there is no heater in the room and hot water is only supplied 6 am in the morning.
We also happen to have few water outages in the evening/night which was very annoying.
This property is a bit far from from Sand Dunes (almost a 1 KM)...there are more properties closer to Sand Dunes...if you would really like to live in Sand Dunes...
My take on Sam Sand Dunes is that its quite polluted with lot of littering of beer cans...chips packets etc...I wish to have seen a real Sand Dunes...may be Khuri Sand Dunes have been a better choice (didn't go there)..
If I were to go to Sam Sand Dunes back again...I would stay in good properties in or around Jaisalmer and take a drive to Sam....ride on camels and comeback to my resort in or around Jaipur instead of staying at Sam.
I must add the staff was very courteous...and one Mr. Satya Singh was fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in Club Mahindra resort, but they sent us over to Mahadev resort for the desert safari. The place is good to be the base of the desert safari. We were greeted with tea and they made arrangements for the safari. After the safari, we were treated to very good finger food snacks and tea followed by local entertainment (very good). We had a very good and tasty dinner (the hygiene factor in handling food could do with some improvement). We did not stay overnight as we went back to our Club Mahindra resort after dinner. But the rooms looked clean and livable. The toilet & baths were decent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is one of the only reasons we came to Jaislamer to go on a safari resort, and it was above our expectations. we where ready for a tent and a wooden fire but this was no ordinary tent. We really enjoyed it. Clean rooms, warm water and great friendly staff always helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploringindia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been to Mahadev Resort ,Sam Desert on 23rd October,2012. Had Booked the Swiss tent and had a Fabulous overnight stay there including the Camel safari and Cultural programme. Full marks on hospitality and concern of the staff. Will surely stay there if visit again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the swiss tent. The Mud Huts are also good and warmer. Good for winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

had been to Sam dunes with family.... and stayed overnight at mahadev resort. this is a wonderful place with good service. the rooms are good. well maintained and with good amenities. i would definitely recommend this place for fellow travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Booked over the net. Their camp is out in the desert. It was a wonderful experience. The Camel Safari organised by the camp is quite enjoyable. The staff are wonderful and take very good care of their guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NabinYatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaisalmer
23.7 mi away
Mahadev Palace
Mahadev Palace
#85 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#27 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Prince Desert Camp
Prince Desert Camp
#9 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Adventure Camp
Desert Adventure Camp
#19 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
21.5 mi away
Thar Resort
Thar Resort
#42 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Limra Desert Camp
Limra Desert Camp
#9 of 37 in Sam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahadev Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahadev Resort

Property: Mahadev Resort
Address: Jaisalmer 345002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mahadev Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahadev Resort in the midst of the thar adjoining to the Desert National Park overlooking the grand dunes of sam is a perfect venue for that night out in adventurous mode. 20 modestly designed cottages styled like the ethnic concept of "Dhani" complimented by comfortable modern interiors. 14 swiss tents with attached bathroom and well equipped interiors make it a perfect one night lodging. The ambience and grandeur of the resort is enhanced by the picturesque setting and perfect weather that adds to the adventures spirit. Beautifully decorated interiors and exteriors complemented with modern amenities yet retaining the old world charm combined with the rusticity and adventurism. An experience of life time the resort offers ethnic folk artist to keep you entertained ensuring tapping lags and dancing spirits whilst delicious snacks and sumptuous dinner is served where aromas of local cuisines gratify the very soul. The Bar attached enlivens the spirits under the open skies with the stars and the peace your only other companions. We welcome you to this ethnic resort with the traditional yet souls invoking slogan..... "Khamma-Ghani" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing