We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mud Mirror Guest House
Ranked #2 of 158 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would highly recommend the Mud Mirror Guest House. The rooms were cozy and romantic (and CLEAN!), the rooftop cafe had good, reasonably priced food and a great view, and most notably the service was superb. The online booking service messed up our reservation, but the owner worked everything out with no additional charges and was very attentive to all of our needs and requests. He was able to book a camel safari for us, which was a great experience and well orchestrated (though word to the wise- don't do more than one day/one night if you're inexperienced!!).

Room Tip: The red-colored room on the ground floor was quite cozy with the best atmosphere of the three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Have you ever seen Mad Max and thought of living that life and making a hideout for your posse. Thought that you would capture a fort and then build your castle there? THIS PLACE IS IT!

Away from the touristy hordes which have taken over this town, and the crowded mash-houses in the middle of the fort, Mud Mirror lies in the forgotten end of the fort right after the Jain temple. I found out that there are similar options in the fort, but all are either too pricey or too hippie! Mud Mirror keeps it nice n simple. And the view is to kill for! Suraj and Lalla keep things chilled out without trying too hard and the food is a lovely affair at their rooftop restaurant.

And dont even believe the eco-babble the Lonely Planet says about the hotels inside the fort damaging the monuments. Those half-twit snobs don't even know half the reality! Ask Suraj about the real story!

Room Tip: You will need the AC rooms in the summer time for sure. Else go higher for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadasmi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

it's the best guesthouse I ever lived,very kind and friendly.
you can see the best view of Jaisalmer at here,Im sure I will come here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Eating at the roof top restaurant is really wonderful, you can find a place like home in this middle of desert!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyhu1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I first stayed in Mud Mirror guest house a couple of years back and since then my every Jaisalmer trip ends up at the one of the most friendliest guest house. Right next to the jain temple, view of desert from the windows and the new cafe on the rooftop make it a very comfortable stay. The best part about the place is the brothers who run it. They are super friendly people and do take an extra step to make your stay an eventful one. Do try if you are traveling through this part of the desert and they will help you not only with the stay but other sightseeing and safari tours as well. It is surely great value for money if you are travelling with friends or even solo. I wish to see Mud Mirror growing much more in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumit13sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights, as we booked a room beforehand. Otherwise we would probably have changed it after the first night. I know that I should not have the biggest expectations on that kind of guest house, but a little bit more attention and care for the rooms would be appropriate. Also if you hear, that they do not sell the convenience of a better hotel but the view. Ok, the view to both sides (city and jain temple) was nice. I did not see the other rooms, but we had no AC, which is a no go in the middle of the desert, where it becomes hot at night. Fortunately we had an extra bed sheet with us, because the available one was not really saying "have a good night" to us. The shower was also cold for two days, which didn't bother us that much. The disadvantage about facing the city was the nightly noise of dogs barking almost the whole night. Therefore the room gets 1,5 points from me.
Yes, the staff there is really friendly, especially while you are eating at the roof top restaurant. We had always breakfast there, which was quite good. Special thanks to the kid who served (and cooked for) us.

Room Tip: If you go there, ask for the room with the AC, as there has to be at least one according to the pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxPowerRBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed with Mud Mirror only for one night but the guesthouse is excellent.It´s located within the fort at Jain Temple and from the roof top restaurant you have a fantastic view over the city, The Guesthouse is run by two brothers who are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a good view over the city. The Sunset was beautiful. Food is well prepared and not costly. Even after Check-out they stored our baggage till the time our bus starts so that we could go for more sightseeing.
Thank you Mudmirror for a nice stay in Jaisalmer :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline87_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Mirror Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Mirror Guest House

Address: | near Jain Temple, Jaisalmer Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $11 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can ensure you with quiet stay, friendly atmosphere and hassle free accommodation in Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mud Mirror Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing