We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mud Mirror Guest House
Ranked #1 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Mud Mirror House is run by two brothers who build up the business by themselves and have since come a long way in accommodating guests.

My experience with Mud Mirror House was excellent, from the beginning on I was taken care of by the friendly staff and have experienced the real Indian hospitality that so many other places tend to kiss out these days.

The owner was always available for a chat and even took me on a motorbike tour through the city free of charge. He showed me all the sights in Jaisalmer and explained the history behind them.

Mud Mirror House is conveniently situated right beside the Jain temples, which you can see right from the room. The roof top area is an absolute highlight and has great views over the fort and the surrounding desert. Food is decently priced and authentic Rajasthani and international cuisine. I found the food to be the best food I had in Jaisalmer, and beyond places recommended by the famous guidebook.

Wi-fi works great, and I had no issues surfing the net or Skype my friends.

Overall I can't commend this place strong enough. I am already looking forward to next year to come back to the Mud Mirror House

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
128
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was there twice for my visited Rajasthan, first time on February 2012 and my secound time on January 2013. The guesthouse are on very good location on fort just next to Jain temple. They only have 4 rooms but all the rooms are big and clean, toilet is working well. Hotel staff are very friendly and hotel owner are helping me a lot during my stay in Jaisalmer. If you stay here, you will see the best view of sunrise from the windows every morning. I was happy to go back to stay here again if I go to Jaisalmer in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkkplayground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I travelled around India for almost a month, this is the cheapest hotel I stayed but the best I enjoyed.
The hotel is inside Fort. The room is clean and with air-con and great view.
The owner is like a friend not a business man. He's not talkative as other Indians, but he gives you all the helps you need just as your best friend could give.
The owner brought me to a LP-recommended camel travel agent without any commission which is usually done by other hotel owners. And he can cook as you required.
Don't wanna say too much, just book this hotel and you won’t regret.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, 2 are with air-con and 2 are not. Choose the room with air-con, it seems tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicePiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed outside of the fort on the first night but decided to stay up in the fort for our final two nights and couldn't have been happier with Mud Mirror. One of the best places we stayed at during our two months in India.

Liked the service (all staff were amazing, friendly, chatty, always willing to please, good advice on itineraries but never pushy or trying to sell things, flexible check-in/check-out times, carried our bags to the rickshaw and negotiated the price with the driver for us), the room (one window with a sitting area facing the desert and perfect for the sunrise, another window facing the ancient Jain temples, large bathroom, good hot water), the guesthouse layout (rooftop restaurant with nice views, only four guest rooms making it a cozier stay), the location (inside the fort, close to the main sites, restaurants and shops), the food (the best food we had in Jaisalmer - loved the thali, they even prepared and packed food for us to take on our overnight train).

Didn't like that the WIFI came and went with my laptop, although it seemed to work fine for some other guests.

Overall a great place to stay especially for the opportunity to meet the amazing hosts. I wouldn't look elsewhere but I also wouldn't book in advance. Much better deal to show up and negotiate the rate directly with them.

Room Tip: Go for their top room with three different views (desert, fort walls, Jain temple) if it is availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biazuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I wasn't planning to stay overnight in Jaisalmer until I got a lift from the friendly hotel staff who showed me Mud Mirror Guesthouse. The room was so exquisite and Jaisalmer-like that I felt an immediate urge to stay for a night inside the fort. I cancelled my bus ticket to the planned destination and decided to stay overnight. Very clean and unique ambience. The hotel staff was really nice and helpful too. I highly recommend Mud Mirror.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenwentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose Mud Mirror Guest House because it had such good ratings on Tripadvisor and I must say we didn't regret our choice! Lala and his brother are the perfect hosts and did everything to make us comfortable. The rooms are beautifully decorated and of course the view of the temple and on the other side of the desert, make it all worthwhile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka_Es_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This guesthouse has a great location in the fort and the staff are fantastic and keen to please.The rooms are clean and the food is good.
I suggest that you book directly with the hotel and save money.Agoda is normally cheap throughout Asia but generally in India it is cheaper to book directly.
Here are the contact details mudmirror@yahoo.co.in p.0091-02992-252988
Mobile 09414763003

Room Tip: Some rooms are better than others so try to check out the rooms first. The staff are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locknuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wanderlust Guest House
The Wanderlust Guest House
#7 of 156 in Jaisalmer
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Mirror Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Mirror Guest House

Property: Mud Mirror Guest House
Address: Near Jain Temple | Near Jain Temples, On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can Ensure You with Quiet stay, Friendly atmosphere and hassle free accommodation in Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mud Mirror Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing