We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mud Mirror Guest House
Ranked #1 of 154 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pilani, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's Like Home”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just adjacent to the famous Jain Temple, the Mud Mirror Guest House is such a lovely place. Mr. Surya, the owner himself picked me and my friends up from the Jaisalmer Railway Station not bothering our arrival at around 00:00 hrs. He's a friendly chap to get information about the place from. A genuine guy, honest and humble. The guest house's rooms offer a fabulous city view from up the fort facing east, and hence, we could enjoy the beautiful sun rising from in between the windmills far visible from the room's window. The room we stayed in, truly original, gave us the "We-are-Kings-of-the-place" feeling. The Guest house also has a roof top restaurant, with an amazing view of the Jain temple's fabulous construction. Food quality is good, a bit expensive though. Located at just a 3 to 4 min walk away from the Jaisalmer fort's main attraction, the Raja Mahal, Mud Mirror Guest House is a perfect place to stay at.

Room Tip: You should go for largest room they have in their ground floor. We were four friends, stayed in comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaibhavraov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
127
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The time we went was off season, the weather was extremely hot so there were less tourists. When I called the owner, the place was supposed to be closed down for renovation, but he kindly opened up to us. Jaisalmer is an enchanted place, and Mud Mirror hides in one supreme corner of this magical fort, over looking the small town at its edge melting into the ocean of sand.

I love the zig zag lanes that lead up to the place, along which, there's always interesting encounters awaiting, somehow, maybe it's the heat, what have been annoyed me so much in the other part of India have all turned into its positive side.

The rooms at mud mirror has a rusty feel, they are the same golden color with the fort, simple yet charming and most of the rooms are blessed with great view of the desert town. Spacious bathrooms are attached to the rooms, but Jaisalmer is surrounded by the desert, water is precious. Like other part of India, Jaisalmer is also facing energy shortage, electricity is not stable, however,don't be annoyed if the fan stop working in the evening, just go up to the roof, the desert wind is waiting, and the stars are much brighter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsqt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Once up the Jaisalmer Fort , a short climb up from the Jaisalmer City Palace Square leads one to Mud Mirror through narrow alleys. The Jain Temple is just at the entrance and the real beauty of the neighbourhood can be best experienced after the Jain Temple closes at 12 pm and all the tourists leave. We stayed in the family room with was large with windows that overlook the city and the desert far beyond. The bathroom was fairly clean and the views from the roof top restaurant was awesome. Though the service was a little slow as the kitchen is at the basement level, the food was very yummy. We tasted the best Ker Sangri we had in Rajasthan when there. We were never pushed about the desert safari but when asked, we were offered the non-touristy Desert/Camel safari that took us to pristine sand dunes where we were the only group with no other tourist ever in sight. Raj, our guide was good. Indeed it was a memorable stay at Mud Mirrior.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed in Mud Mirror Guest House for one week during the month of October. I chose this accommodation due to its location (Fort Area with a beautiful rooftop view of the Jain Temple), and speciousness, coziness and affordability of the rooms. The staff at the guesthouse was always very friendly, accommodating and willing to help at all cost. The rooftop restaurant serves the best espresso in town and wide array of great meals. I truly enjoyed my stay at Mud Mirror Guesthouse and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenak2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for a few nights and we were really happy with everything (service, location, rooms, restaurant...). Is a small guest house (some other located in the fort are bigger) so if you want to be relaxed is a great option. His boss Lala is very friendly, was a very honest person. I recommend you go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santperemitja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a nice place to stay. The owners - two brothers - and their young staff are so welcoming, so friendly and so willing to assist in anything you ask. We think we picked the best room. Okay, no air-condition in it, but hey, if you have several windows on several sides of the room (and added possibility of opening window in bathroom) who needs it... At least not us during our visit in August. Very spacious room which can sleep at least 3 people (there is an extra bed). Also very big bathroom.
The rooftop restaurant is a fantastic place to look out to the desert, over the close-by Jain temple and other buildings within the fort. But it also served nice chilled drinks, great breakfast and lunch items. We were going to have a dinner there, but on our last night it was pouring rain (a great relief for Jaisalmer) so we had to resort to a indoor restaurant.
All credit to the fantastic people at Mud Mirror Guesthouse and let's hope they stay high up in the ratings on TripAdvisor.

Two things which need attention (our opinion):
- On street level there is a reference that it is called a bakery. This is not the case, so it should be removed.
- WiFi is very limited

Apart from that. Go there, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndonesiaNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the rooms seemed very new and were very clean and tidy with AC. Huge bathroom and brilliant shower. Located inside the fort!!!!

A good price and very lovely owners, they have a great rooftop too serving good food!

Thank you Mud Mirror :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet042011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Surya Paying Guest House
The Surya Paying Guest House
#7 of 154 in Jaisalmer
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Mirror Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Mirror Guest House

Property: Mud Mirror Guest House
Address: Near Jain Temple | Near Jain Temples, On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can Ensure You with Quiet stay, Friendly atmosphere and hassle free accommodation in Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Mud Mirror Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing