We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The desert experience everyone wants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Damodra Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The desert experience everyone wants”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Papu (Prithvi) and his team provide a great experience from beginning to end. The tents are comfortable, food is fresh and delicious, music program is amazing and the camel ride is away from other tourists to a small area of actual sand dunes.

The night time program at the camp was something we will never forget. Relaxing by the fire with dinner while enjoying music and dance from musicians from the local village who clearly enjoyed sharing their amazing talents with us.

We loved staying in the desert, enjoying the quiet, seeing the desert life, looking up at the stars - we will definitely be back. Thanks again to Papu, Raju and his team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjfjvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Manager at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are honored to read your comment on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for taking out of your time for sharing this positive review which motivates us every day to improve our team and serve our guests to the best of our abilities.

We work hard to ensure that your experience is truly memorable.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you again in our camp.

Warm Regards.

Damodra Desert Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
162
141
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent a night at the Damodra camp and loved it. The location is great, nowhere near the other camps n we were the only ones in the dunes they took us. Having read other reviews which mentioned overcrowding n camel poops everywhere in Sam dunes, we were a bit apprehensive but the dunes they took us to nearby was clean n as I said, our group was the only one there.
The service was v v good , Raju especially was always smiling.. The owner Pritvi has done a good job of training them n takes personal care of his guests n it is a small resort , so it feels quite intimate.
The tents are basic, not luxurious, you do get hot water for shower though! The food was not extensive but very tasty.
The folk musicians were the best we have seen and genuinely happy to be performing.
We were up late night watching the starlit sky, which was superlative to say the least! it is worth being there just for that experience!

We thought it a bit pricey , for the basic tents n food ., but the service and the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank here_and_how
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Manager at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and suggestions which will be taken into consideration.

We are glad to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable time with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the new future and create another memorable journey for you and your friends.

Warm regards.

Damodra Desert Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best part of the Desert Safari is the hospitality extended by its owner Mr. Prithvi Singh and his staff. Things are well managed at every stage (starting from the pick up from the hotel to check-out).

The desert safari started with a 30-40 min jeep ride to a spot where a bunch of camels were waiting to transport us to the nearby sand dunes. The camel ride was fun (although I was sore the next day) and the camel attendants were really friendly. They taught me how to steer a camel and by the time we disembarked, I thought I could control the movement of the camel (may be just my imagination). Anyway, a unique experience.

We waited in the dunes for sunset which turned out to be an anti-climax for me. I think these dunes are situated little bit away from the Sam dunes so it was really quiet here. Just noticed a few other tourists here.

After sunset a jeep brought us back to the campsite. In the evening (it started to get very cold), live folk music and dance show was organized around a bonfire which was really fun. Snacks and drinks (payable) were offered. After the folk music/dance show a buffet dinner was arranged with traditional rajasthani dishes (like gatta curry, ker sangri, churma etc.) as well as popular dishes like "matar paneer" etc. The food tasted fresh and delicious.

The tents inside the camp were well equipped with modern amenities (double bed, table and chair) and a clean and spacious western style bathroom with provision for hot water. We checked out after having a nice breakfast of poha, toast and omelette etc. A jeep brought us back to the office of Damodra Desert Safari in Jaisalmer.

Overall, it was a great experience, spending a night in a camp in Thar desert. I wish to thank Prithvi and the entire staff of Damodra Desert Safari for their hospitality and making the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky_Tourist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Owner at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for you review! These positive reactions motivates us to make this place better every day. We were honored to have you here and are most glad it was to your liking.
You are very welcome to join us again any time!

Kind regards,

Damodra Desert Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The tents are comfortable with all essentials including running hot water in the morning. The food is plentiful, hot and tastes great. And it is really refreshing to see how the staff move fast to look after you under the owner manager Prithvi's benign eye. As promised, the desert trip took us to sand dunes where there were no crowds. And we could have a camel ride and watch the sunset in peace and quiet. And when we returned, we had a great bonfire and some wonderful conversation around it while seeing the clear starlit sky. Highly recommended for people who value the quiet and nature and can live without TVs and newspapers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KannanVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Owner at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We where honored to have you here and we are glad you had such a nice experience at our desert camp. You are more than welcome to join us again!

Warm regards,

Damodra desert crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If I could give this place more than 5 stars...I would!! Everything about Damodra is carefully thought out and given more than 100% to make your desert experience the best it can be!! Adventure, breathtaking vistas away from tourist areas, the most delicous food, traditional top class entertainment with music and dancing and lovely tents that makes desert living luxury!
'Papu' the owner will go above and beyond to make you happy (as will his whole enthusastic staff) and having travelled Europe makes his place feel like a boutique hotel you might find in Morocco or Spain! Its unique amongst the rest of the many Safaris and 'Tent' hotels you can stay in the desert and a place I will recommend to all my friends and return to again and again!
I will never forget the magical time here riding on camels, sitting on deserted dunes at sunset and relaxing under the a star filled sky eating top class food and becoming mesmorized by the sounds of Rajasthani music. Amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Owner at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for these most positive words! We were very glad to offer you our services and hope you will join us again! Your review gives us motivation to make this place better every day!

Warm regards,

Damodra desert crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After a somewhat strange beginning ..dropped off in a bare hotel room to "freshen up" the jeep arrives and we are off. It is long.. 45 minutes of really rough roads-and then you are on sand and it really feels like you are in middle of nowhere...but it's all worth it. The tents are spacious and elegant .. the attached private bath is clean
There has been thought put into the experience the camel ride is 45 minutes and another 30-40 minutes watching the sun set over the dunes Later a bonfire set in the middle of an outdoor pavillion while we have a drink and snacks a dance is performed .. the music is haunting and beautiful but the dancer is not much more entertaining than your a verage belly dancer . The stars are the real show and the silence.. Amazing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabtravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Owner at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted enjoyed the experience out in the desert and under the stars! Our aim is to provide a desert escape away from the busy tourist areas and to make your experience an unforgettable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Before I decided to go with Damodra, I did a pretty extensive reviewing and comparison with other camps and it was one of the best choice we made. First, they responded very quickly to all my emails and concerns. Since we are arriving from Udaipur (a grueling 14 hours India bus ride), they arranged a car to pick us up from the bus station. The getting off and staying away from all the vendors who are trying to sell you the package is no joke. I am so thankful to have a jeep waiting there for us.
The camp was located at non touristy area and the small intimate setting made it so relaxing. And the service is incredible. All the staffs made us feel welcomed. They went out of their way to make us feel special. The quality of the mattress is one of the best. And the Chef even made some pasta for us. I will recommend this place to everyone..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sliutsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Public Relations Manager at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Reading your review made us proud of the service we offered you! Thank you very much!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our camp.

Warm Regards,

Damodra Desert Camp Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.8 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,184 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
15.7 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 106 in Jaisalmer
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 106 in Jaisalmer
899 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#26 of 106 in Jaisalmer
542 reviews
3.1 mi away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#5 of 232 in Jaisalmer
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damodra Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damodra Desert Camp

Property: Damodra Desert Camp
Address: Sam Road | Damodra Village, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Damodra Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damodra Desert Camp is run and operated by Prithvi Singh from Damodra village and our camp is located in the heart of the world famous Thar Indian Desert just 30km from Jaisalmer (The Golden City). We provide an unforgettable desert camp experience in our fully equipped deluxe swiss tents. Included in our price: a camel safari where we will take you to watch the beautiful sunset over our peaceful and private dunes. In the evening we will return you to the camp for traditional Rajasthani folk dance and music, appetisers, chai, coffee, and mineral water, we offer other beverages at a charge. We will then serve you a delicious Rajasthani buffet dinner. After a peaceful nights sleep enjoy our Indian style buffet breakfast, or fresh eggs made to order. Our camp includes 10 Swiss tents equipped with modern comforts and amenities including large beds, quality white linens, hot/cold water, shower, ayurvedic toiletries and western toilet with sanitary shower. We also provide a dining room, lounge hall and entertainment/campfire area. All of our tents have a/c and heaters. Our dining room and reception are also a/c. With magical sunsets, sunrises and perfect star filled night skys, you will enjoy a truly unique experience. Come and see what all the fuss is about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Damodra Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damodra Desert Camp Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing