We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exemplary B&B Inn in India, save money and get THE best experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gajanand Guest House
Ranked #15 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“An exemplary B&B Inn in India, save money and get THE best experience!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

1.Very clean place, the floor almost shines.
2.The rooms are medium-sized and bathrooms are clean.
3.Hot water is available but you have to notify a short time before you need it.
4.The exterior is beautiful and the rooms have various coloured glass fitted in the door and windows, giving it a nice effect when light comes in at night.
5.The owner, Kamal, will organise camel rides, tents, desert trips etc and is very hospitable.
6.We were there in 2012, he was planning on setting up an open kitchen for guests to use. Check with others to see if it has materialised.
7.Value for money. Basic necessities available with no extravagant prices.

Room Tip: All of them are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjAwadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
55
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was one of the best hotel I stayed in my whole Rajasthan trip. In Sanskrit, they say-Guest is God. You will be treated in the same way by owner Kamal. He will not only provide you a pleasant stay, will also make sure to make proper arrangements for Camel Safari, city tour, restaurants,water etc at the most reasonable price. I will highly recommend Gajanand guest house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been travelling in India for a long time and I can truly say that Gajanand Guest House is the best hostel I have ever been! Rooms are very clean, big and bright! Hostel has a perfect location - you can walk everywhere! Price was very good. But this is only the physical description. What create an amazing atmosphere is the owner!
Kamal is an amazing person! Extremely helpful, friendly and obliging! I have never find anyone so kind and trustworthy in India! He helped us to organize our safari and bus to next city! His advices was priceless! When we were on our trip to Safari he agreed to storage our bags and when we come back form desert he offered us a room to rest and take shower before journey to next city! He didn't charge us, even when we insisted! The best thing is that Kamal is totally disinterested and helping is a part of his personality! He don expect any profit!

Thank you Kamal for all your help and great hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A good option if your budget is tight. Very close to the fort. They dont hav a kitchen so food is an issue. The guy who runs it , Kamal is good to talk to. He will help you with most things. The place is clean and homely. At this price..a good option. Call him on 9829310890...should negotiate between 500-600/-

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul30902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We emailed kamal two days before we wanted to stay at his guest house and emailed back with the prices availability and offered free pick up from the bus station and free wifi, almost straight away!
When we arrived, he was there to pick us up and we got to the guest house, he insisted that we have some chai before we filled out the long and laborious forms! So we chatted whilst his wife made the tea!
The room itself was big and clean! The cleanest we've stayed at and definitely the nicest too! We also had massive windows which was like a luxury after the places we've stayed in!
We stayed a total of 2 nights but in between our stay we went on a camel safari and he was more than accommodating to us, he kept our bags there over night and then we came back the next morning!!
Kamal really is such a nice guy and I couldn't recommend his guest house more!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anossaviagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

During my ten week trip throughout India, no place was better than Gajanand Guest House. It's a great value with comfortable rooms and an exceptionally friendly owner. Kamal is very generous and calm, and he is always willing to provide recommendations for what to do and see around Jaisalmer. The rooms are quiet and pleasant, and the guesthouse is located on a very peaceful neighborhood street. You will certainly get a chance to meet Kamal's welcoming family and the curious neighborhood children. He also operates an internet cafe with reliable wifi that allowed me to skype home from the street so I could show my family the surroundings.

Kamal is open and honest too, which we found to be rare among guesthouse owners in Rajasthan. We were looking to take a camel ride out in the Thar Desert, and he told us he could arrange to take us for a set price. Instead of insisting we go with him, to my surprise, he actually suggested we look around at other tours offered in the city to see if we found something more appealing. I appreciated the gesture because usually a young traveller is pressured or taken advantage of in those situations. We found nothing better than his offer and had a great time on our mini adventure.

In all, you cannot go wrong with Gajanand Guest House. You are guaranteed to have a relaxing and enjoyable experience in Jaisalmer. I felt like I was leaving the home of a good friend when the time came to depart. I will be sure to visit Kamal and his family again the next time I'm in India, even if it is not in the original itinerary.

Room Tip: Book early! Since Gajanand has great rating on many travel sites, rooms fill quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vassaras98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely family run guesthouse.
We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with everything.
Kamal, the owner is a really nice guy. Very accommodating and helpful.
Unlike many other places in Jaisalmer, at Gajanand no one will bother you with any camel safari talk. You can get good advice if you want it though.
The rooms are very clean and tidy and reasonably priced. There is hot water and very fast wifi.
Kamal also has a small shop with internet, a selection of great books and the essentials: water, toilet paper, cigarettes etc. all sold at honest prices.
The location is also very good, only a short walk to the fort entrance and also close to the local market where there is plenty of good street food if that's your thing.
Kamal is very honest, kind and generous. You are made to feel very welcome here. It's a great place to come back to and relax after a busy day in Jaisalmer.
We would recommend Gajanand Guest House to our family and friends and to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.4 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 156 in Jaisalmer
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residency Centre Point Guest House and Desert Safari
0.6 mi away
Golden Marigold Hotel
Golden Marigold Hotel
#10 of 156 in Jaisalmer
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gajanand Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajanand Guest House

Property: Gajanand Guest House
Address: Near Gandhi Chowk, Main Pura Street, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small guesthouse on a residential street, a short walk from Jaisalmer fort and steps away from the market, restaurants, banks and booking agencies. As a guesthouse, we offer personalized service, including free WI-FI and free internet. Our clean and spacious rooms with air conditinor include individual bathrooms with hot showers. As natives of Jaisalmar we have lots of local information for travelers. This is a peaceful place to rest after the area's famous camel treks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Gajanand Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing