We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A welcoming friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Huge rooms with window beds for the family. Very clean . Friendly and welcoming. They really want to please. A very good restaurant too. Had an excellent lunch and dinner there. They have the intimate cushion style alcoves as well. Top terrace out of action as it was January but looks as if it'll be nice when opened up. The style needs some updating - but the rooms have a television and a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: They also have windowless rooms which are quieter as Jaisalmer is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalgarhjsm, Owner at Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2015
Dear Sir\Madam,

Thanks lot for feed back.

Warm Regards
Narpat Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
63
60
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived in Jaiselmer at our booked accommodation and were told they could not fit us in and they sent us away, luckily we were directed to Lalgarh Fort and Palace Hotel where we were told that nothing was too much trouble. The manager of the hotel personally organised us and made us feel very welcome. We were told to feel at home there and ask for absolutely anything we needed and they would try their hardest to accommodate it. The restaurant was lovely, great food, an airconditioned section for the hotter months and a very lovely outside section for cooler weather. The view from the restaurant at night was great and all the staff were polite and happy. It is in a great position being close to the fort and was one of the nicest hotels i stayed in whilst in Rajasthan. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalgarhjsm, Owner at Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Dear Sir\Madam,

Thanks lot for Feed back it was nice to host you in My hotel hope you will give us chance to Host again.

Regards

Narpat Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I know that each person has a unique experience in a place. Mine differed greatly from some recent negative reviews.
I found the staff to be quite polite upon our arrival. Over the couple of days we spent there they became warmly friendly. They snagged the tuk-tuks for us so no hassle there. They recommended places to go, things to do (such as the little puppet show at the local History Museum down the road). Even cautioned us about a part of town to avoid at night, and warned us of the rapacious hawkers and pickpockets at the fort (not like that's any news...)On our last day there, one of the young front-desk clerks walked us through the busy town pathways to help us find a music/CD shop that we NEVER would have found. He even nailed the right song from my inept description--which included no title, no artist name, not a single lyric (Punjabi? ME?), and nary a note. I have no idea how he did that, but he'll forever have a place in my heart.

But one wonderfully sweet desk clerk does not a hotel make. Here's my rundown on the Lal Garh:
-Our room was enormous and sparkling-clean, and very pretty with sandstone carvings and niche lights.
-Everything worked :-)
-Our bed was giant, and very comfortable. The linens were crisp and clean. The cover was a beautiful hand-made textile in signature Rajasthani chain-stitch. Wow.
-We had hot water whenever we needed it. I was disappointed that we had to let it run so long in order to get to the hot part (we live in a desert so are acutely sensitive to water waste. Yikes--I could have watered half my houseplants!).
-The rooms are NOT serviced daily--and should be, given the sandy environment.
-The hallway, though short, was a bit echo-y because of the hard surfaces, so any noise down the hall was amplified. (Perhaps a few of those local stitchery masterpieces on the walls would help.) However, the floors were immaculate: I saw a worker washing them on his hands and knees.
-Restaurant--must have spruced up a bit since the bad reviews, because I saw the same guy giving those floors the same treatment. The glass doors were spotless.
-The food was good (we didn't eat at the restaurant proper, only had brunch on the terrace). Not great cuisine, but well prepared. Clean place. We struck up a fun friendship with the owner, who, yes, can seem a bit grouchy at first. But he melts pretty quickly.
-A few of the amenities listed on the website do not exist ( or have been removed?). There is no in-room safe, for instance. Yes there's a TV, but it really, truly sucks. It could use an upgrade to cable--it's 2013!!
-I don't know about WiFi, as we had neither laptop nor smartphone with us (I know, I know…). But we had no problems accessing the hotel computer downstairs whenever we wanted.

Bottom line, I'd stay here again--which pretty much says it all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very helpful and pleasant staff. Free wi fi and the use of PC. Back rooms are quieter. No tea / coffee making facilities . Clean rooms and service levels. Only problem we had was a leaky shower base!
Good location as it was close to fort and had fantastic views from restaurant to the Fort.

Room Tip: Choose back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jaisalmer turned down my expectations but then there were the brighter sides too. The hotel for instance turned out really nice. The view of the Fort from the roof-top restaurant was nothing but beautiful. The ambience of the hotel was let's put it as fairly good. For a small hotel with around 15-16 rooms, I would give a thumbs up. But if you are looking for pure luxury, my recommendations would be that you look for places elsewhere. The hospitality of the staff was good enough. And I should also mention that the food was pretty expensive but in a way worth for the taste and a thumbs down to the quantity. No 24 hour running hot water, no side tables and chairs for sitting and working or doing stuff and a few other things I don't remember but attribute to the basic amenities required in a hotel. Rest said, I'd rate it AVERAGE..

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the FORT..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asay_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went by trip advisor rating and booked the hotel for our stay in Jaisalmer. But later we regretted doing so. Its not worth the money. We have booked suite for us but to our surprise it was very small. Not enough light in the room. During our 9 day stay in Rajasthan this was one of the worst hotel in which we stayed. Over that staff is also not polite. Infact I found them rude. The food is also not that good and very costly. Please avoid it if you don't want to spoil your trip. A strict NO from my side.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Monal_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived here as a family after a long drive. Our hearts sank when we saw the place but we checked into the four rooms we'd booked and paid for. The rooms were large and cold and done up in a loud and cheap way; there was the ubiquitous Jaisalmer-style carving but this didn't cover up: very basic bathrooms, no proper wi-fi, no proper restaurants, only a rooftop thing which sported a couple of drunken thugs, one of whom we saw being carried, puking, down the stairs later by his friends/the staff (imagine eating a meal here!). The staff was unhelpful. There were men in various states of undress walking about, and trying to stare you out of countenance. We managed to get out after an hour of this, and went to Gorbandh Palace, which was absolutely fantastic. FYI: Lalgarh received a higher rating than Gorbandh. Go figure.

Room Tip: Find a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitra_Indica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#87 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden House
The Golden House
#24 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace

Property: Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Address: Patwa Haveli Road | Kalakar Colony, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lalgarh Fort & Palace - one of the most classic Jaisalmer Heritage Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani generosity in this Desert city Jaisalmer. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable palace whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds everlastingly. Lalgarh Fort & Palace is built as heritage style Jaisalmer hotel with some of the most exclusive exclusive and artistically furnished rooms, modern amenities and ambiance in Jaisalmer city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing