We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel ever seen”
Review of Suryagarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suryagarh
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel ever seen”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The best part of staying in this hotel is the location. It's out of town on the fringes of the desert and looks amazing. It looks like a typical desert fortress, yet is only four years old and is built and finished to an incredibly high standard. It's a joy to stay at, and the service levels are superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajayaggarwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you come stay with us at Suryagarh, Jaisalmer. We look forward to you coming back again and enjoying other facets of our property and its surrounding environment. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    143
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
405
405
28
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you prefer to stay in luxury even if you are in the middle of wilderness, this is the best option for you in Jaisalmer. The property is about 15 km after the city which makes is closer to the sandunes and drive back to the city doesn't take long either due to brilliant roads. While its a relatively new construction which ensures all modern amenities, the traditional rajasthani architecture gives the hotel a heritage feel. Service of all staff is very good and you continue to get senior level service throughout your stay. We stayed only for 2 nights so missed using the indoor pool and the spa but both are worth a try. Food quality is brilliant and there are several a la carte options but buffet spread for breakfast wasnt upto the standards of a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the first floor open on a large courtyard. You could walk out of your room and make us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekdahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are pleased that you appreciated the property in detail but are surprised to read that your buffet breakfast experience didn't meet expectations. We have noted your comments and we hope that you will visit us again in the future and that we may even live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The best part of staying in this hotel is the location. It's out of town on the fringes of the desert and looks amazing. It looks like a typical desert fortress, yet is only four years old and is built and finished to an incredibly high standard. It's a joy to stay at, and the service levels are superb. Unfortunately, during our stay the main dining room was closed for some refurbishment work, bur the "Nosh" coffee house area was more than adequate for our needs.

The only disappointment that we had, was that we, along with all the other guests, were invited to join a major luxury wedding reception in the grounds of the hotel, but it was on the day after we checked out!!!

Definitely a place to try.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We do hope you will come back to stay with us in the near future and we look forward to welcome you back to experience our fine dining restaurant " Legend of Marwar", we have indeed spent much time in designing the property and kept the architecture very pure to its nature. We look forward to your return and to further exceeding your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodhpur
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you want yourself to be spoilt in utmost luxury, do visit this place atleast once in your lifetime.
the ambience,food,decorum,staff courteousness,location- every aspect of this property has been worked upon by the management so that the guest can have a jaw dropping experience.
Truly one of the leading properties in rajasthan,its best part was the morning session in which the staff including the senior management personally attend your breakfast arrangements inthe courtyardand give you a once ina lifetime surprise. Check it yourself.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varundhoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. At Suryagarh we hope to make each guests' stay a truly memorable experience and I am pleased to read that it was just so, for you. I hope you will come back to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was there only for 1 night with my family, definitely regret making it only one night. What to look forward to -
1. Great rooms and service
2. Not many activities for kids so plan for the same
3. Make sure you have a car with you to be mobile
4. Great food with good choice
5. Cultural program is avg so you may want to go to a Desert Camp for Dinner and the Cultural program near by in Sam Dunes
6. Pool is very good so kids can enjoy this for sure

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that open into the gallery, make sure you have a car to remain mobile as this is a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and words of encouragement. I have taken note of all your suggestions and i thank you for your detailed analyses. I am glad you enjoyed the other in house facilities and the service. We look forward for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent three nights at the Suryagarh in February and totally enjoyed our experience. We were a party of two and decided to relax at this lovely property. We enjoyed the spa taking advantage of one of the treatments designed for couples. Additionally we went out for a sunset dinner at the desert which probably would have been fabulous had we not arrived at the beginning of a sandstorm. However the Suryagarh's great staff were able to set us up at a table out of the wind at the hotel, and we had a lovely meal which saved our evening. We also got a chance to see the new restaurant that is opening at the Suryagarh and it looked lovely. I am sorry that it wasn't open when were we guests at the hotel but eating outside in the courtyard was really special. I can't rave enough about how wonderful the staff was at this property and how much time they took explaining local food and customs to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you so enjoyed your stay with us. At Suryagarh it is our ongoing endeavor to make each guests' stay a truly memorable experience. We are delighted you thought so too and look forward to your return visit and experience our fine dining restaurant "legend of Marwar", which unfortunately was under refurbishment during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Its commonly said that "Nothing is perfect in this world". But if anyone wants to see a perfect hotel then visit Surygarh. I along with my family and friends enjoyed every bit of it. Hotel is not situated in crowded city, it is almost 15 KM from city and i enjoyed the peace and sight of stars in the night.

Welcome with flowers was amazing, check-in was fast and quick. Rooms were spacious and very well organised, welcome sweets made up of fig fruit was great. However i would have appreciated more if they would have also kept some fresh fruits.

Suryagrah's courtyard is really spectacular, in evening lights it looks awesome, in morning sight of peacocks and local musician playing music makes it touch core of your heart.

Food: Breakfast was great and choice of food was great. Dinner i felt their menu should have more items, its far less than what i expected. But preparation was very good and beautiful courtyard makes your experience a real memorable one.

Music program in evening was great but it was too short. The moment we started feeling great they said its over. It should be of at least 2-3 hours.

Suryagarh is an amazing experience, i highly recommend this. If you are going to Jaisalmer you must not miss it. They have amazing people working for them and they will make you feel great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneetrao78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your gracious comments. I am glad you enjoyed the hospitality extended, as well as the food and the friendliness of the staff along with various in house experiences . Your suggestion regarding dinner menu options have been noted. We hope you will continue to visit our property and look forward to welcoming you back. Once again Thank you so much for such detailed comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.5 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
8.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#21 of 104 in Jaisalmer
483 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryagarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryagarh

Property: Suryagarh
Address: Kahala Phata, Sam Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suryagarh 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably designed with luxurious interiors, the sixty two room hotel is proof that contradictions make for a wonderful hospitality experience. This unique juxtaposition of the modern with the medieval is what makes a stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Suryagarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryagarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing