We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Luxury”
Review of Suryagarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suryagarh
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Entering Jaisalmer feels like you are entering a small town , my heart sank .... Is this Jaisalmer

Suryagarh is little on the outskirts on Sam Road , looking at Suryagarh i got this feeling is this really a Hotel or some palace , Its a place ....
Grand Entry with Royal interiors , Its done with high taste
After settling in our room , we went out to have a look at Hotel premises ...

Its Big & Beautiful , in the vening we attended Live Folk Dance Prog but it got finished before 9pm ...

Nothin much to do in the night we called the cab and went to city for Italian Dinner at 1st Gate House , Rooftop restaurant looks average but food is really good

Next day we went for Local Sightseeing and in the evening to Sam Sanddunes ,

Our Cab Driver took us to Prince camp , Its far from other camps so no noise ... they also gave us camp to get freshen up and change if needed . Rode camel and went for a sunset in the Desert ... Nice experience , Rajasthani Dinner with Folk Dance

Dont Miss playing with Suryagarh’s Ducks , Masakali , Turtle in the BF time, Swim in there Indoor pool – Neel , Workout in there Nice Gym – Akhara and also do some cycling on Sam Road if you choose to , Overall its a good experience in this beautiful property

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your comments and for visiting us at Suryagarh. We hope you were pleased with your stay and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is located around 15 kms away from the city. The surroundings are calm and quiet. The rooms are not professionally done. The height of wash basins are too low, the wire of the hair dryer is too short. The towels are placed on the towel rack which is located at the bottom end of the tub, very difficult to take the towels without falling in the tub. Instead of biscuits or fruits, the hotel provides sweets in the rooms on all days. The breakfast is not that elaborate as it should be looking to the tariff they charge. The hotels facade is good but the management is not so good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHManager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest
I appreciate your feedback on this travel forum and thank you for taking the time. It is unfortunate that you were not entirely satisfied by your experience.
I have noted your comments and ask for your understanding of the following:

As a design feature the wash basins are indeed low and the vanity counter includes a couch to easily use the sink whilst seated in comfort

We take great pride in offering our guest freshly made sweetmeats on a daily basis. These sweets are thoughtfully prepared by our resident Halwaii and are accompanied by a note which elaborates the uniqueness of these special treats.

Our breakfast selection offers our guests a variety of Cereals, Juices, Yoghurt and Bakery with Imported French Cheese, Cold Cuts and Whole fruit Jams. Eggs are on Order, Live stations include Dosa and Pao Bhaji and Fresh Paranthas. Unique to us is the vast array of Namkeen and Chaat.

A cursory on line check will reveal that our rates are extremely competitive as offered by similar hotels in the region

It is our regret that we were not able to offer you an experience that many others have come to appreciate at Suryagarh Jaisalmer. I hope that your travels bring you back to the region and that we have an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Although I have never reviewed a property on this website, I felt it would have been amiss of me not to do so given the overwhelming experience we are having in this hotel.

The hotel Suryagarh although some fourteen Km. from the small town of Jaiselmer, is easily reached within 10 mts or so from this town as the road leading to this hotel is virtually free of the maddening traffic you find in India. Moreover, this is the road you will inevitably take to reach the sand dunes.

Suryagarh is illuminescent sitting as a fortress in the midst of arid dry terrain. The architecture is awe inspiring with its golden sandy hue. The strength of the Rajputs and the hospitality they offer are clearly depicted within its design.

As we approached the majestic archway of this hotel, we were met by a quintessential security guard sporting a long handled moustache who smartly waved our car in. We then approached the main pathway leading to the front entrance of the hotel. We were welcomed by folded hands by another elegant and unmistakable guard by the name of Sawai Singh. The luggage was promptly unloaded by a crew of porters while we were led up to the threshold of the main entrance door. There we were welcomed by Pandit Sharma who welcomed us with a Vedic mantra and a teeka on our foreheads. The check in was smooth and painless whilst we were offered cold drinks and chilled wet towels to ward away the exhaustion through having undertaken a five hour car drive from Jodhpur.

We were then led by a welcoming member of staff to our room but on our way to our room, we were introduced to the facilities provided by the hotel.

Despite not requesting for one, we were upgraded to a suite on the first floor. As the entrance door of our suite was being opened, we could hear the unmistakable lilt of local Rajasthani music coming from the court yard downstairs. The door of the suite opened into an oasis of sheer luxury which despite being regular luxury tourists, did not fail to overwhelm us. The cool air conditioned ambiance of the suite was a respite much appreciated when you consider the heat outside. To our utmost delight, we found the quality of toiletries, bedding and towels to be world class. There was abundance of complimentary bottled water replenished with utmost generosity every morning and evening. House keeping was top class with its room cleaning and turndown service. The thoughtful presentation of free traditional sweets every night punctuated the day.

There are two restaurants in the hotel and a bar. Although one of the restaurants is undergoing a refurbishment programme, it in no way affected the quality of service and the range of food served up on a daily basis. The food and beverages team headed by the most exuberant and thoughtful of people I have personally encountered is Sachit Jha. Despite his youth, he exhibited an innate sense of understanding of his guests needs. Being a resident manager on the premises, his presence was reassuringly there at all times. The restaurant served traditional Indian and Rajasthani fare along with oriental food. Having said this, there was nothing that Sachits chefs would not cook for you, if requested. Hot Dosas, puris and other Indian breakfast delicacies were to die for. Manjeet at the Nosh restaurant was most attentive to his guests and always insisted that they left the restaurant wonderfully satiated.

Having breakfast in the quad was by itself a novel experience. The hotel let out their pets consisting of two dogs Alex and Simba much loved both by the staff and guests. They also let out their peacocks and duck whilst there sat in its glory of seeming indifference, the hotels pet tortoise. As if this was not enough, we were suddenly subsumed by soft Rajasthani music being played by a musician perched on the top floor of the hotel. A site so uncanny and his position so obscure that you would never have expected anything like this.

In the evenings, there was a regular music programme arranged by the hotel. The Sufi music was mesmerising and the professional dancers accompanying this music left one overwhelmed. The hedonic mix of music, lager and the open starry night serving as a canopy left me fulfilled. It truly was soul affirming!

The spa at the Suryagarh might be considered by some as being expensive but it is not so given that such an array of treatment offered by the spa would cost twice as much in a comparable hotel in major Indian cities. Mahesh ran the spa with the depth of knowledge he shared with us and which is essential when deciding upon the treatment you opt for. The spa rooms and couple rooms were havens of tranquility.

Draksh, the watering hole of the hotel, served up cocktails which you would perhaps expect in a downtown bar in Manhattan. The subdued lights of this bar added to the atmosphere.

The staff at Suryagarh were each cogs of a wheel which makes this hotel into what it is. The General Manager, Karan Singh Vyas is an unassuming person who runs an efficient team. However, in the midst of this well oiled team, some individuals need to be named. Sachit Jha heading the food and beverages dept.is an asset to this hotel and without who we would not have had the level of experience we had. Rajesh Sharma, Nathan, the yoga teacher, Pandit Ji. Sawai Singh, Manjeet and Mahesh are precious stones studded in the armatarium of what is known as Suryagarh.

Ours was not a stay but an experience which will forever abide with me. Today, this is the sanctum you need to rest your head in should you arrive here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We do hope you will come back to stay with us in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your thoughtful review and we are delighted to read that you appreciated so much that is on offer. The management has indeed spent much time in designing a numerous options and activities for our guests, helping create truly remarkable memories that they can carry with them.We look forward to your return and to further exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

To be honest this was my first stay in a luxury hotel in India, so was always going to like it! However it was much more than just 'liking' it...
I travelled there with my wife in February 2013. The hospitality is superb, and we got the feeling of what was to come as soon as we entered the premises! To our excitement, they upgraded our room (special occassion!), and why not! We enjoyed the sunset followed by lovely cultural shows in the evening. The restaurant serves excellent food, though it's not open all day. They also have a separate bar + lounge area. Though we could not enjoy most of the other services like swimming, spa or gym it was a very pleasant stay overall.
If you are heading to Jaisalmer and want to experience luxury + heritage, and also want to get away from the crowded town, then this is the place for you! Hopefully they would have improved the bar/lounge and also the service in their restaurants!

Room Tip: Chose as per your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumeet_Luktuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and comments. We are pleased you appreciated much that we have on offer. You suggestions have been noted and taken under advisement. We hope you will return to Suryagarh and we look forward to exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Loved the hotel. The hotel is at its best in Jaisalmer.

Good one

1) Quick Checkin took only 5 mins. Everything was ready. Naresh was the person who had done the checkin with all the details ready.
2) Hotel gave me a warm welcome good refreshing drink and snacks. We where little tired since we had taken a quick trek finished it and came to the hotel
3) Ambiance of the hotel is taken care every where be it either lobby,restaurant, pool, gym, courtyard, room that i stay. Every where its king SIZE. Undoubtedly the BEST in its class.
4) The staffs are very courteous. I had asked for Rajasthani food which is not there in the menu they had called the chef and ensured my requirement is met.
5) Hotel staff is available on call for anything that we ask for.
6) Lunch was too good. Well prepared.

Need to Improve

1) Menu card needs to have improvement. There is not difference on Non Veg and Veg menu. Standard color coding is missing
2) Rajasthani Menu needs to added. I couldnt see much of Rajasthani Menu

Overall 4.9/5 i would rate

Special thanks to Naresh/Chef( sorrie i forgot the name). You people have ensured that my stay is at the BEST IN JAISALMER

SURYAGARH ROCKS !!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gksreeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

It was a pleasure to read your appreciation of our Hotel and the facilities provided. Your gracious comments are cherished by the team as it encourages us to strive even harder to improve our standards. Your mention of the care provided by the staff is especially rewarding and I have shared your kind words with all of them. I am glad your stay was comfortable and look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Driving up to Surya Garh, we were pleasantly surprised to see this stunning property. The boutique hotel is majestic - looks like a mini fort. We had a minor issue with the room's ventilation system, but that was quickly resolved by the on-site staff. The grounds are well-maintained and clean, and guests enjoy the company of the resident peacocks, pigeons and puppy (Simba). The hotel is very peaceful and quiet, which is a nice refuge after a long day of sight-seeing. We did not have time to take advantage of the on-site spa or swimming pool. The restaurant food (dinner) is alright, as is the breakfast buffet. The staff are helpful. A wonderful hotel in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3101_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We have looked into the matter that you raised regarding the room ventilation and have attended to it internally and hopefully it wont arise again. We are pleased you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope you will return again, on your next visit to India and we hope to exceed all expectations. Seasons Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The place is magnificent, absolutely beautiful. Beautiful like a museum and totally soulless. Every detail in the public spaces is awesome (in the true meaning of the word) from flute players who appear in windows you havent noticed, to the man with the pet pigeons. Room disappointing, perfectly comfortable but nothing remarkable. Restaurants unfortunate, you have a choice between a steam table cafeteria style buffet, and a Rajasthan restaurant which seems only to serve two dishes. Its far out of town, so there is no alternative, and its by far the best place to stay, Bar serves the smallest drinks known to man, first time in my life I actually ordered a triple right off. Spa quite wonderful, had a massage one of the best ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essbeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are pleased that you appreciated the property and its environs but are surprised to read that your restaurant experience didn't meet expectations. At Suryagarh we endeavour to exceed our guests expectations and make each stay a truly memorable experience. We have noted your comments and we hope that you will visit us again in the future and that we may even live up to your expectations. Seasons Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.5 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 114 in Jaisalmer
606 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#28 of 114 in Jaisalmer
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#1 of 114 in Jaisalmer
448 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#37 of 114 in Jaisalmer
596 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 114 in Jaisalmer
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryagarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryagarh

Address: Kahala Phata, Sam Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#1 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $225 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suryagarh 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably designed with luxurious interiors, the sixty two room hotel is proof that contradictions make for a wonderful hospitality experience. This unique juxtaposition of the modern with the medieval is what makes a stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suryagarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryagarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing