We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Jaisalmer.”
Review of Suryagarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suryagarh
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel in Jaisalmer... and I guess the most expensive also :) . But our stay here for 2 days was worth it.

The hotel is around 10 km outside the city but at a great location. It has all the modern amenities. The staff is also very helpful and courteous. We recommend a stay to anyone who doesn't mind the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Suryagarh and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although we went to jaisalmer in aug end but we had benefits of all sides. We got good rate in hotel and also the weather was ok. It was not too crowded. We had a great time in the hotel n in jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8,654,467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you come stay with us at a somewhat down season time. But Suryagarh and indeed its environs enchant equally as the monsoon season has a charm of its own. We look forward to you coming back again and enjoying other facets of our property and its surrounding environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

after driving non stop from Delhi for 16 hours we reached suryagarh @ 9 pm , totally exhausted and drained but our mood was uplifted by the beauty and fairytale setting of this Magical Hotel.
First of all I would like to compliment Mr Karan Singh, the general manager of the hotel for his sIncere and Hands On management of the Property.We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay there and were served excellent Breakfast and Dinners during our stay.No complaints from myself whatsover.
The Hotel is a Visionary concept for Tourism in JAISALMER and i am Sure it will become an Iconic property in the Region.
i would highly recomend this PALACE hotel and would love to come again,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAUTAMDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

It was our pleasure to receive you after your long and adventurous drive from Delhi to Jaisalmer. We are pleased that Suryagarh proved to be such an oasis of charm and comfort. At Suryagarh it is our endeavour to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and we are deeply satisfied that we were able to do that for you. We look forward to you returning to spend more time with us in this quiet corner of the desert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Suryagarh is no ordinary luxury hotel. Even before we got there, we were greeted by a welcome squad - local men in traditional attire leading the way in an open jeep! The hotel itself is built like a Rajasthani fort, and merges with the surrounding wilderness. There are 2 things I absolutely loved - the "outdoor" dinners, and the offbeat trails they offer in the desert. The outdoor dinners are on the hotel's own hillock, and on the dunes far inside the desert. Local musicians played desert tunes as we feasted on Rajasthani delicacies.
a very unique experience in Jaisalmer. Highly recommended over any regular 5-star hotel in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavanbafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging words and ringing endorsement. Indeed it is a Suryagarh signet to create rich and extraordinary experiences for our more adventurous guests. That you appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed so many of our varied activities from fine dining to our midnight trails is a testament of our efforts.
We hope you will return soon and we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the whole setting love the people yes it's costly but worth every penny will definitely go again and again really worth it from the time you are received till the time you check out and dropped at the railway station I enjoyed every bit of it couldn't go for the spa but will try next time

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice I loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Suryagarh and we are delighted you so 'loved' your experiences here. It is our endeavour to make each visit a unique and rich happening and we look forward to welcoming you back and sharing more of us from our varied menu of offerings both culinary and adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If one is planning a trip to Jaisalmer, i would only recommend this hotel.The minute you enter,you just know that you are in the right place..One is always greeted with nice smiles and the staff goes out of there way to make the stay very pleasurable..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We were happy to welcome you to Suryagarh and share our hospitality and time. At Suryagarh we strive to make each visit a unique and pleasant experience and we are pleased that you were deeply satisfied at so many levels. I will be happy to pass on your words of praise and endorsement to our tireless staff. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Suryagarh is no ordinary luxury hotel. Even before we got there, we were greeted by a welcome squad - local men in traditional attire leading the way in an open jeep! The hotel itself is built like a Rajasthani fort, and merges with the surrounding wilderness.

There are 2 things I absolutely loved - the "outdoor" dinners, and the offbeat trails they offer in the desert. The outdoor dinners are on the hotel's own hillock, and on the dunes far inside the desert. Local musicians played desert tunes as we feasted on Rajasthani delicacies. We also did an evening of wine and cheese under the stars in the desert. Must try!

Suryagarh offers a haunted trail, which we did at midnight, visiting places in the vicinity that are believed to be haunted. We offroaded with them in the desert and saw meadows and oases smack in the middle of the desert, far from the touristy Sam dunes, and something difficult to do on your own with no signs or directions.

The rooms themselves are luxurious and modern, and the bathrooms well equipped, including a nice bathtub. And soon as you step outside, you find yourself amid expansive courtyards and traditional Rajasthani architecture.

I liked its location away from Jaisalmer fort, where the increasing number of hotels are seriously damaging the fort's centuries old foundation. Suryagarh also uses rainwater harvesting and solar energy.

I felt that the food offered within the bar / restaurant was a bit pretentious. Though these tapas style courses were delicious, I would've preferred simple Rajasthani fare. The breakfast however was great - with local sweets and savories.

Overall, a very unique experience in Jaisalmer. Highly recommended over any regular 5-star hotel in Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the Jaisalmer Suite. It comes with its own private splash pool overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Your review was a pleasure to read and thank you for your endorsement. Indeed it is our ongoing endeavour to present our guests with a superlative experience. We are particularly proud of our menu of services both offsite and onsite and are happy to note that you both participated and thoroughly enjoyed your experiences.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Suryagarh and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.5 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
582 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#25 of 108 in Jaisalmer
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#32 of 108 in Jaisalmer
565 reviews
8.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
421 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryagarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryagarh

Address: Kahala Phata, Sam Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $249 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suryagarh 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably designed with luxurious interiors, the sixty two room hotel is proof that contradictions make for a wonderful hospitality experience. This unique juxtaposition of the modern with the medieval is what makes a stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Suryagarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryagarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing