We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Luxury”
Review of Suryagarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suryagarh
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Desert Luxury”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a long drive from Bikaner we finally arrived at this stunning place in the desert. The hotel is located a 15 minute drive out of Jaisalmer and this is probably the only downside of this hotel as Jaisalmer is quite a pleasant town.
Our arrival was announced by drums and we were greated with a flower garland and a bindi. During check in refreshments (tea, fruit, cakes) were offerend to us. The hotel is built in the traditional palace style and only at a closer look you realize that it is actually a modern building.
It has a stunning courtyard where you can dine in the evening or have tea in the afternoon. The hotel has also got a spa, an indoor swimmingpool, gym and a billard room. On the first floor you can find a terrace where the evening entertainment (dances , puppet theatre etc.) takes places.

Room:
Our room (Palace Room) was on the first floor and had a second exit on to the terrace. The room was large with a super comfortable bed and modern furniture with an Indian touch.And it was spotless clean. Again here, we found a small plate with cakes to welcome us. Bottled water was provided for free and in abundance. When we came back from dinner we found again some "good night" sweets. I love these little somethings. They make me feel special and welcome.

Bathroom:
Stylish modern bathroom with walk-in shower and a separate bathtub. All the amenties were there, shower gel, shampoo , conditioner, body lotion, soap and even shaving kits and a toothbrush (just in case you forgot yours). Clean, thick towels just what you expect from a luxury hotel. One tiny little thing that actually made me laugh. The cable of the hairdryer was too short, so I couldn't dry me hair standing up ( I am tall though).

Bar:
A wonderful bar just off the courtyard. You could either sit outside in the coutside or inside. The bar is made out of marble and is backlit to create a stunning effect. The cocktails are very good and costs between 400 to 600 rupees. The bar staff is very attentive and polite.

Restaurants:
The first night we had dinner at the Indian restaurant which is decorated in red, gold and dark purple. It looks very opulent and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately they only offered Thali in this restaurant and the price for this was at around 1500 rupees quite steep. The Thali , however, was excellent.
The second night was chose to eat in their "World Cuisine" restaurant where also breakfast is served. It has a sleek modern look and lacks atmosphere. There was a buffet meal on offer but we did not really fancy it. The menu could have been a little bit more detailed and we were struggling to find anything we wanted. The waiter offered his help and we asked him for advice specialities etc. He actually brought the chef out of the kitchen to discuss what we like and what they could do for us. In the end we had a fantastic dinner that had been created for us and wasn't on the menu. We expected a hefty bill for this and to our surprise it was not expensive at all 300-400 rupees for a main course. We were over the moon and so impressed by the staff who bend over backwards to make this meal special for us.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was for me personaly a bit of a let down. Plenty of choice in terms of Indian breakfast. (Don't forget you ARE in India). The choice for Westeners was a bit odd. They offered eggs made to order but had no beans or hash browns. I don't think there was bacon, either but I didn't check as we ate vegetarian. There was a huge cheese platter but no choice of bread. fresh fruit and fresh juices were available.

All in all a fantastic hotel and we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesslizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting us in Suryagarh. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as well as delighted in the little treats that have have become a Suryagarh hallmark. We hope you will come stay with us again when visiting India and we look forward to creating more culinary delights and adventure excursions for you to sample.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    143
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
405
405
28
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Boy do you have a treat in store! Not easy to get to (we drove for 5 hours from Jodphur) but worth the effort. A spectacular building, modeled on a desert fort but only a few years old; a great location, in the middle of the desert; and outstanding facilities.

The building itself is the star of the show. A vast central courtyard, cool walkways and roof top views over the desert. Our room was large and well equipped. The main restaurants are off the courtyard, but look out for the rooftop restaurant. We didn't actually eat there as we didn't find it until the last night! but it looked out over the desert and looked like a fantastic location for dinner. Great staff too, very attentive and eager to help.

We had day trips out to Jaisalmir (I'll be adding a separate, glowing, review) and an evening trip to the desert festival which was amazing. Wandering out in the sand dunes with thousands of locals and hundreds of camels to see a concert of local singing & dancing. Getting back to our car was a challenge in stygian blackness, but we made it!

The hotel has a good pool, gym and spa and has cultural events each evening.

The only, very minor, criticism would be the decor of the 'Nosh' restaurant, which reminded us both of 70s UK. Not a problem obviously, it just jarred a little.

So, if you're thinking about going to the Thar desert, I can't imagine there would be anywhere better to base yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your warm and glowing review. Indeed it is our ongoing endeavour to present our guests with a superlative experience. That we were able to meet that and exceed it is a testament to our continuous efforts to improve and upgrade. We are particularly proud of our striking architecture, our off-the-beaten-track menu of services both offsite and onsite, our fine dining and culinary treats and our staff across all segments.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Suryagarh and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Evderthing you could expect from a luxury resort. Attentive staff. Well appointed rooms. Variety of eating options. Evening entertainment. It was a bit cold on our second evening and the musicians and dancers called it off early. The food was of a high quality and service in the coffee bar was personal and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyjudederbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and endorsement. We are pleased you stayed with us at Suryagarh and are happy to have made your stay an enriching experience. At Suryagarh it is our endeavour to make our guests' visit a memorable experience. We hope you will return to this quiet corner of the desert and we look forward to welcoming you back for some more R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked the palace for a family holiday.
The place starts showing up from a distance as Phoenix rising from the ashes.We were completely blown away by the subtle elegance and personalized service of this hotel.Everything about the place is perfect.If you want to experience a hotel which is full of tranquility and away from the hustle bustle of city, this is the place for you..The place worked beautifully for us as a family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comfytourist519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Than you for choosing Suryagarh as your hotel of preference. We are delighted to have pleased you on so many levels and to have made your visit with us a truly memorable experience. We hope you will return and stay with us again and partake of our diverse menu of culinary treats and sight seeing and adventure trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

an admirer of the scrub rajasthani desert, the drive from jodhpur to jaisalmer was a treat. comfortable car, gentlemanly driver - stylish it was. and then some 4 hours later there in the distance looms this edifice which was simply jaw dropping as we drove in. WOW. Suryagarh is all that and more. immaculate in its conception the hotel offers a multitude of joys and treats for the discerning traveller. Superb food and beverages, stunning dreamlike venues, perfectly appointed rooms and bathrooms, varied in house activities and much to do in and around the surrounding area. my son was enthralled and entertained every minute of the day. the Spa is all that and more, the staff everywhere - elegant courteaous and bursting with energy - this was a vacation that will go down in the annals of (my) history. i strongly advise that one visit this hotel. i too will be back, soon. thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEVAKI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Your review was a delight to read and thank you for that rich endorsement. Indeed it is our ongoing endeavour to present our guests with a superlative experience. That we were able to meet that and exceed it, from such a seasoned traveller such as yourself, is a testament to our continuous efforts to improve and upgrade. We are particularly proud of our menu of services both offsite and onsite, our fine dining and culinary treats and our staff across all segments.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Suryagarh and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We flew into Jodhpur and drove to Jaiselmer. Probably the best road trip while in India. The hotel provided a very comfortable vehicle for the drive and arranged for a wonderful stop for lunch about half way.
The arrival is quite special, the property is absolutely astonishing. We arrived at sunset and the hotel looked even prettier. They were getting ready for a function so the hotel was decorated with beautiful fresh marigolds and saffron color cloths that adorned the structure.
The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, big and comfortable. Wonderful amenities, the robes were my favorite: loved the color an fabric, soft and comfortable.
The property is beautiful to say the list. You feel like you step back in time and became royalty!
The food was delicious. We enjoyed a traditional Rajasthani dinner as the Maharajas use to - wow, we could totally get used to this!
The hotel arranged a tour o the city and fort with a guide. So much history!
This is definitely a place that must be visited and enjoyed. We loved our time there and if we have an opportunity we will absolutely go back!
WONDERFUL!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGHMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments and words of praise and endorsement. At Suryagarh we are constantly striving towards perfection and it is our particular passion to make each guests' stay a truly memorable experience. We are pleased that you delighted in so much; from the decor to the architectural styles, from our food and beverages selections to the room service and housekeeping.
We look forward to you coming back with your family and staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Driving up to this hotel- it's easy to mistake it for Jaisalmer Fort. Although the hotel only has 60 rooms- the property is huge. Everything about this hotel is five star. The staff was amazing, the room large and clean and the hotel grounds spectacular. The hotel sits on a small lake that is lit up at night.... just typing this makes me sad that we aren't still there. During the day there are musicians, dancers and even a very talented magician peppered around the courtyard for the guests entertainment. Also in the courtyard is a coffeeshop, a bar and two nice restaurants. All our meals were fantastic.

When i first booked this hotel i was concerned that it being 10 minutes or so out of the main part of town would be a pain but it really worked out perfectly. Jaisalmer is a bit crowded and a little noisy- it was nice to have a secluded hotel to come back to. Cars can be easily arranged for a trip into town for just a few dollars.

Really a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Your gracious comments on your stay at our property are a joy to read. Thank you for your generous views and also for taking the time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. I am especially happy you mentioned the little magician, whose form of entertainment is a genuine pleasure to watch. We hope this experience will bring you back to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.5 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
8.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#21 of 104 in Jaisalmer
483 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryagarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryagarh

Property: Suryagarh
Address: Kahala Phata, Sam Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suryagarh 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably designed with luxurious interiors, the sixty two room hotel is proof that contradictions make for a wonderful hospitality experience. This unique juxtaposition of the modern with the medieval is what makes a stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Suryagarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryagarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing