We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suryagarh Hotel...........”
Review of Suryagarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suryagarh
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
1 review
“suryagarh Hotel...........”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

fort like hotel lil away form the city and crowd.....nice welcome............good staff friendly and eager to help,,,,good room spacious,,,good food,,,,everyday folk cultural show.......close to sam dunes,,,felt like special guest on every day of our stay......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Your generous comments are a joy to read. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our property and to know you enjoyed your visit . I am happy you liked the Hotel and I hope the experience will bring you back to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    145
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
413
411
28
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Magnificent palace, half-way to SAM sand dunes from the town, is astonishing in its grandeur and yet warm n welcoming in its service. Staff was eager to please,and were all around us. Rooms were clean,beautiful n the central laws n courtyard looked beautiful in evening. The GM personally meets the guests n supervises te staff all the time, nice guy. We really relished staying in ths property.
Now for the -ves, the staff were inefficient as wellas rigid. Request for a simple medicine, violinist spray, went unheard for hours eve though we requested several times. To top it, they asked us for to n fro fare to the town to fetch it..sad. Also, food is too expensive. 2000 for Rajasthani thali, exorbitant!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rajat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Suryagarh and we are pleased that you appreciated the property and enjoyed your stay with us as a couple. We have noted your other comments and suggestions. At Suryagarh, we are constantly striving towards excellence so as to impart an extraordinary experience to our guests. We hope you will return to visit us and we hope to exceed your expectations. Seasons Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

to know the vast rajasthani culture closely this was one of my best trips to Suryagarh, the fortress in SAM with golden sand dunes all around was an experience of a life time.
the lonely desert with strong winds and the rhyems of the rajasthani past history were heart touching. One should in a life time visit this beautiful property along with the golden sand dunes of SAM.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avtar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for expressing your views on your visit to our property. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the experience and consider it one of your best trips. We value your feedback as it means a lot to us and encourages the team be even more quality conscious at every level. Your gracious comments are a joy to read and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a very good hotel, a bit out of town but close to the Sam Dunes. The facilities are great and breakfast offered was good, continental and hot breakfast was on the room for us. We had expected that they'd serve tea with Camel Milk. Didn't happen, but that was just a minor blip. Staff are friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvaidyanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Your generous comments about your stay at our property is a genuine pleasure to read. Thank you for taking the time to give your views. I am glad the facilities were to your liking and your stay was comfortable. Thank you also for your comment on the staff and service. It is always good to know that our efforts are appreciated. I hope the memories of this visit will bring you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Surya Garh was one of the highlights of our third trip to India. We felt like very special
honored guests at a palace in the desert. After a six hour stressful bus ride having our luggage
rushed to our spacious rooms lifted our spirits. A few hours later, we met the general manager and various members of his staff in the lobby. We truly believed that all our needs would be met, learned about life at the hotel, and enjoyed a local musical program. Next day after a sunset camel ride and campfire program among sand dunes, we returned to find our hotel sparkling with millions of tiny lights. An exquisite gourmet dinner prepared personally by the general manager helped us understand and appreciate the subtle tastes of Indian food and the true meaning of Indian hospitality. I strongly encourage everyone to try this hotel and cannot imagine a more appropriate wedding venue.

Room Tip: They all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments about our property. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we certainly appreciate you taking time off to give your feedback. I am glad we had the opportunity to show you true Rajasthani hospitality, campfire among the dunes, et al. I am also happy that you enjoyed the food and find our property very appealing for a wedding venue. I hope you will visit us again when you come back to India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ct
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the moment our group drove through the gates of this magical hotel, to be greeted by drums and two colorfully clad camels, I knew that we would never find another hotel in India like this. Every room is a suite, the meals are superb, the evening entertainment is rich and tradition-filled and the staff could not be more solicitous and helpful. Every guest is treated like royalty and this visually exquisite hotel deserves to be visited by anyone touring India. If I am asked my favorite moments in India, they will include this hotel- right after visiting the Taj Mahal!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in this hotel- really. The Suryagarh must be visited to be believed, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clfort2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments in regard to your recent stay at our property. It is a pleasure to know that Suryagarh holds a special place in your memory, about your travels in India. This feedback is very encouraging to the team. We strive to ensure guest satisfaction and such appreciation of our efforts is very rewarding and means a lot to us. I am glad we were able to make it a memorable stay and I look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

it is worth staying here . the hotel is really worth staying despite being far from the fort. the cultural program in the night is really good. food is also good. overall high rating. near to sand dunes though little far from the fort

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryagarh_jaisalmer, General Manager at Suryagarh, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for expressing your views on your recent stay our Hotel. Your kind words are very encouraging and truly appreciated . I am glad you enjoyed the cultural program as well. We hope you will visit us again and you can be assured of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.5 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
8.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 106 in Jaisalmer
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#26 of 106 in Jaisalmer
542 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#23 of 106 in Jaisalmer
485 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 106 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryagarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryagarh

Property: Suryagarh
Address: Kahala Phata, Sam Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suryagarh 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably designed with luxurious interiors, the sixty two room hotel is proof that contradictions make for a wonderful hospitality experience. This unique juxtaposition of the modern with the medieval is what makes a stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Suryagarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryagarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing