We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable,memorable & friendly stay”
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #8 of 154 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“comfortable,memorable & friendly stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

the owner & the staff were helpful and always there to help.
Mr Ujjwal - the owner suggested desert safari (non touristic) was an experience. riding hours on camel , eating under the desert tree shade & gazing the stars during the night will be cherished in our memories. we reached early hours and was provided with the room without much formalities. also the room was provided to freshen up after 2 days at the desert at no extra cost. very thoughtful. Also a free drop up was provided to the station.a sincere than you for the camel safari staff, hotel staff - mr singh, the little boy & the manager. a true hospitality enjoyed here. Very informative & helpful owner. a real golden city which will be always remembered. made few friends here . a special thank you to Govardhan from the camel safari. thank you all :) recoomended place to stay to enjoy true hospitality. Also the roof top restaurant was with an excellent view & good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomiJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    75
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
63
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The location is perfect (not inside the fort, which is actually a bit too overcrowded), the rooms nice and big, clean and have 24h hot water (for real!). The best is the terrace with views to the fort and the staff: they are all really nice. Chandra is an great host! The camel-safari organized by them was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Many a night I stayed at this hotel run by the extremely professional and kind Chandra who will run the extra mile to the station to gather you and go out of his way to help you. Every chance I got, be it dawn or dusk, I would nestle on the comfortable couches at his rooftop restaurant and gaze at the Fort and the skies above. Night views revealed the Fort's golden luminosity with a perfectly placed bright moon shining overhead. I sometimes stared for hours for I have never seen a better view outside the Fort. Morning views offered the hot white desert sun rising slowly and finally breaking into radiant splinters of light. Where else can you find this experience? Service was incredible; the rooms impeccably clean and always a bargain. The camel tours are also good. I LOVE this place! You will too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sourceress2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Chandra's amazing. He organized a great 3 day 2 night Safari for us. Yes, it was a bit more expensive but it's definitely worth it. We got each our own camel, proper beds, fresh food, mineral water and a good guide! They took us 60km into the desert, away from all the tourists and it was only us out there :-)
Chandra's really helpful with everything. He even organized a bed on his roof top for the first night because the hotel was fully booked.
The rooftop restaurant has a great view towards the Fort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room right next to the restaurant area and it was a bit louder but is very che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Katrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

How this place has been given an award by trip advisor is beyond me. After reading some mixed reviews we decided to go ahead and book a few nights here. We were picked up by the owner, Chandra which was good and can be arranged if you let the hotel know you are coming. Our room was ok, spacious but filthy. The bathroom was disgusting, hair, stained tiles and dried blood (or faeces) on the toilet seat. I know for 500RPS a night (for two) I am not getting the Ritz, but I expect cleanliness as standard.
We did the camel safari which Chandra said he owned, it cost us £25 each for a night and two days riding. The safari was actually really good and the people who take you on the safari are friendly and cook incredible food. Shame the same hospitality can not be reflected back at the hotel. It felt that Chandra's main business was the safari and he was keen to persuade us to partake in this and the hotel is really just an afterthought. The service is very poor and the staff are very slow. Beware staff arranging your trip on from the hotel as we were quoted 1800RPS to get to our next destination. We did not organise this with the hotel and did it solo, which only cost 1000RPS.
I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
To Ami P,

Firstly, we are extremely sorry about your negative experience. We are glad at least that you appreciated the collection and drop off services and that you enjoyed our camel safari so much!

We keep a clean a neat hotel at all times and are surprised and sorry that you felt this way. Having looked in our guest book, we actually cannot see you listed as staying with us so wonder if you maybe took our safari and stayed in a different hotel?

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed our safari.
From the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had an awesome time, very friendly, helpful and clean! There is pretty much 24 hour service, a great hang out patio, and lots to do around town or out on desert camel treks, all of which they can help you set up or give guidance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinalfloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room was great and we enjoyed it a lot. Good value for money. The issue was the staff, which seem to hang out in the entrance area a lot which even for me as a men was a little scary and not inviting. But the worst was the service in the restaurant. You walked up to the nice roof top restaurant with great views and picked a seat. It was not busy actually nobody else was there except some staff hanging around. 20 minutes later still nothing happened. While I like not to be bothered every 5 minutes while I writing my journal this was too much. And it happened pretty much every day. The food was okay but the beer waaay overpriced. Actually the second most expensive beer I had in Rajasthan. I liked the internet service which was mainly used by the bored staff.

Other than that I really liked Jaisalmer which I thought was the best small town I visited on my 2 month trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renuka Hotel
Renuka Hotel
#19 of 106 in Jaisalmer
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Property: Hotel Roop Mahal
Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing