We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and best”
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #9 of 159 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

what u pay you will get.the owner Chandra is very cooperative and commited to his work. the problem is never take royal campus desert safari.I had worst experience ,they don't know how to treat the guest ,they simply pass ur time .their traditional food was not properly cooked, folk dance was very average,service is worst

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155ajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback155ajay,

We are glad that you had a pleasant experience with us and are sorry for your experience with Royal Campus Desert Safari.
We now run our own desert safari experiences. We provide high quality, freshly prepared, traditional desert meals as well as great service. It is recommended in a number of travel guides and we have a website coming soon.

If you ever return, safari with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 301 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

First things first:
Be cautious: I booked this place through a tout who approached me inside the train luring me for a cheap price. But when I entered the hotel, staff was not ready to offer at the price the tout promised. These bugger touts also try to sell you the desert safari and camp stay during your lunch and try to make some good pennies there. I ddnt opt for their package and immediately his tone and attitude changed!! Fake personalities though the hotelier was a good man.

Pricing: Since it was just the start of the season i was able to negotiate for 400 bucks for a 4 hour stay to refresh before we leave to the desert. The prices are extremely competitive given the fact that all hotels run at less than 40% fill rates. If you are not travelling between oct - jan, I suggest you to avoid booking online to get the best fares.

Rooms: the rooms are just basic and enough for an overnight stay. The have fort view premium rooms which you can opt if you are interested. That should come at a slight premium.

Staff courtesy: Staff seems to be polite and helpful. My particular regards to this person Kamal who was a genuine and a well behaved manager. They even arranged for a train station drop and pickup which was very courteous. I guess they do it for all the guests and you should take that service to avoid paying further to the autos.

Location: the hotel is a 5 min walk from the fort entrance and is outside the fort. The surroundings are not very clean and even the approach roads are dirty. But you cant expect more even inside the fort since the alleys are small and not well maintained.

Food: they have a decent roof top restaurant. Food tastes good. Def try their dal fry. Amazing taste!! The menu is not very elaborate and it is steeply priced. I guess they make up for the revenue in food by subsidising room rates. Watch out!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank yssunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came to Jaisalmer to venture in the Thar-desert. The guesthouse is run by a real Rajput! Very friendly huge man with cool moustache. You're bound to speak with him in the evening when he is relaxing in his rooftoprestaurant. Wifi is available as is laundryservice. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom with shower and european toilet. There is the possibility to store your luggage as long as you are on desertsafari. You can see the ramparts of the fortress from the rooftopterrace. For the rest the view is not very special. The guesthouse is run by employees speaking english. He will assist you with arranging transport and trips. Oh and the food is very good. The location is outside the ramparts but the entrance to the fortress is at walking distance (7min). I would really recommend this as best and cleanest bet very good price-quality. No real downsides but the lack of roomdecoration but screw that you are a backpacker!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, had a large room with ac, didn't need the ac as the windows opened and the ceiling fan was great. Light bulbs needed replacing, hot water is only switched on in December, although when I asked for some they provided it to me in a bucket which was adequate. Chandra is a knowledgable man and he is always willing to help, his staff when he is not around can Be very lazy. We booked the safari with chandra it was more expensive than others but we felt it was worth it as the guide was great and the experience was amazing. Food not great, service slack when chandra not around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nee_NeeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

To Nee_Nee Liverpool,

Thank you for your feedback! We have elongated the season for which we heat the water as a result of your feedback and advise from other guests.

Our boiler is on the roof, so during the hot season it is warmed naturally. During the cold season, we light fires to heat the water.

Thank you for your patience and understanding during the transitional period of your stay, we are always grateful for constructive feedback!

We hope you will stay with us again,

The Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place wasn't bad, but certainly nothing to rave about. The owner/manager seemed a little creepy and when we arrived really tried to push the camel safari thing.

The room was spacious and it had a good airconditioner.

The food at the restaurant was a bit ordinary and the wifi was constantly on the brink. Also the location was a little out of the way.

Room Tip: Get a room with AC - Jaisalmer is seriously hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are sorry for coming across as overbearing, we are very proud of our non-touristic desert safari as we feel it is a service we provide that cannot be experienced with the same quality elsewhere. We try to run a friendly and sociable service but will take a step back if visitors require a little more space. We are sorry not to have judged the situation correctly during your stay!

Our hotel is a stones throw away from the fort. It has a close and direct view of the fort as well as across the city, most of our visitors are very satisfied with our location, we apologise that this was not the case for you.

Our apologies for not providing you with a more satisfying stay, we are grateful for your constructive feedback.
The Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I traveled around India for 1.5 months and I can say with confidence that the Roop Mahal was certainly the best place I stayed. The rooms were reasonably priced and clean and the support staff was friendly and helpful with booking trains for us. Also, we booked an overnight camel safari with the hotel. It was a little more expensive than other tours, but it was one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences I had in India. Certainly worth every penny. Also, the safari staff were extremely friendly and even made a special dinner for me (because I have food allergies) when in the desert. The hotel was also within walking distance from the Fort, which allowed us to come and go as we pleased without having to negotiate with rickshaw drivers. Overall, and excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allybaba_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was really nice and very friendly. We got a free transfer from the train station and the room was cheap. Our en-suite room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was wihin short walking distance of all of the main sights and restaurants in Jaisalmer. The family running the hotel were really relaed and welcoming. There was a computer with internet available for guest use and a roof top restaurant.

Room Tip: In India hotelkeepers are only to pleased to show you the room before you decide to stay. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Marigold Hotel
Golden Marigold Hotel
#7 of 159 in Jaisalmer
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 159 in Jaisalmer
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Silk Route
Hotel The Silk Route
#10 of 159 in Jaisalmer
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $11 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing