We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic safari, cheap clean rooms and great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #7 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic safari, cheap clean rooms and great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved our stay here. The camel safari was absolutely amazing and we never even saw another safari for the whole 3 days we went. It is a little more expensive than some other safaris however the experience was well above what we expected and even included full beds brought out to us each night on the dunes.

The hotel is super cheap, only 300rupees for a room you would normally pay about 1000 for. I know this is obviously a ploy to get you there so they can sell the safari but the owner was not pushy at all. We told him from the start that we did not want to do the safari there and he never tried to sell it to us again. We purely ended up doing g the safari as we met some other travellers and decided it would be a good fun group to go with so we ended up having to approach him to ask about it..

A great place close to the fort with a fantastic safari program. Plus it included free transport to and from the hotel.. Only tip is to check out the rooms first because they are all super clean and well fitted out but some don't have external windows and its veryyyyy dark.

Definitely worth a stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayandjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    73
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
63
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great, big rooms, very clean and at a great price. We had plans of doing the camel safari through a different company but we met some cool people so went along with them and in no way regretted it! Amazing fun, nice people. All up was a great place to stay with an awesome camel safari! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor9212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The safari is everything that the owner tells you. No lies, no selling techniques. Awesome experience, but expensive 1800 for a short trip if you bargain. And 2100 for full two days trip. The owner is really pushy. He will wait and wait and wait right next to you chewing his paan, until you decide and pay. No escape possible from the moment you get in to his car from the busstop (free ride of course). He is really rude to the nice people working there and pays his camelmen very little salary compared to the price he charges for a trip. Bad karma! The camelmen are awesome, such nice and sweet guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
To Diane W,

Our safari is a little more expensive than others, but this is because we offer a far less touristic safari at a further distance from the city compared to those offered by other companies.

We are glad you enjoyed your desert experience!

We are sorry that you felt pressured. This was far from our intention! We are proud of our trips, but do not want to force anyone into activities that they are not interested in. We are always happy to drive visitors to Jaisalmer elsewhere if they are not looking for what we have to offer. We are friendly with other hotels and safaris who are grateful for the business we provide them when customers are looking for something different to our services.

We are sorry for having left you with the wrong impression, but are glad that you were not disappointed with your trip.

Thank you for your feedback!

The Roop Mahal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for about a week and enjoyed my time here. The a high standard budget variety, pretty clean with a wobbly toilet seat and a great view (depends on the room though). The owner, Chandra was friendly and offered a free pick up from the train station (very helpful considering the number and intensity of touts there). The restaurant has a great view of the fort and serves good coffee (still instant, though). About their camel tour: he has a WONDERFUL tour guide who will take you through some interesting little desert villages, cook delicious meals, make your camp/bed for you, and sing local songs around a campfire. You will not see another person on this tour as you are in a rural location but this tour not through the Sahara-style sand dunes (there is some sparse vegetation and you see some local goat herders, which is interesting in it's own right). Price was high (about $40) which if you are on a budget you can certainly find much cheaper, but I can't speak to the quality/value of other trips.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lara-ak-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our bus arrived in the early morning in Jaisalmer. Still in the bus we were intercepted by Chandra who turned out to be the owner of the roop mahal. And he urged us not to take a hostel inside the ford. So we drove with him to the roop. Which proved to be the right decission. The rooms are clean and the prices are good.
He then told us about several possibilities to do a camel safari in the desert. The camel safaris organized by Chandra are very expensive but they are worth it. If you just want to tell your friends that you did one, then you might do another one with lots of other tourists and locals trying to sell you something. If you want to enjoy the trip to the desert, see nobody else except for your guide and spend a night in the desert in absolut silence, here you go. Its worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked to stay five days here but left after 1 hour. The whole place was in need of a good clean and was depressing. There were birds nesting in the reception area and in the lounge. If they made an effort to maintain reasonable standards it might have been OK but, as it was, we could'nt face 5 days here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
To Jot54,

We are terribly sorry for your negative experience at our hotel.

There are a lot of pigeons in the city, but we can comfortably say that they are not residing within our hotel. This must have been an exceptionally unfortunate time for you to have visited our hotel as we maintain a high standard of cleanliness and do not have any pest problems. We have only one other negative review of TripAdvisor and even this customer experienced a clean hotel.

We cannot apologise enough for your bad experience at our hotel and would love an opportunity to prove to you that this is not the way we run our business.

Thank you for your feedback, many apologies for your experience,
from the Roop Mahal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our train arrived early, and our hotel sent Chandra (owner of Roop Mahal) to pick us up for free. On the ride, Chandra told us about his camel safari, and we were immediately interested. He is a very amicable guy.

He took us to his hotel before dropping us off at our own hotel to give us more info and have us talk to other guests who had been on the same camel safari. They said they had a great time, so we signed up to do a 2 day/1 night safari.

The safari was great. Our guides provided drinking water and cooked us food for each meal. It was a little bland, but I guess they had to cater to everyone in the group. Sleeping in the sand dunes was an unforgettable experience. We slept on very comfortable mats with a thick blanket (but not too thick). Never thought I would be able to sleep that well outside, but it was a wonderful sleep. Gotta be aware of all the sand beetles though. They are harmless, but everywhere.

The best part of the safari is that it's different from the really touristy ones because they take you to a more remote place, so your group is the only group there. You'll also get to stop at local villages, but the kids will swarm you asking for rupees, pens/pencils for school, and candy.

Good items to bring: Your own water bottle to refill and a flashlight if you have to go to the bathroom at night or find something in your bag.

Room Tip: Watch our for ticks on the camel safari during meal breaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#9 of 150 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Property: Hotel Roop Mahal
Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing