We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Serai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Serai
Ranked #12 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Serai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Quite the most fabulous desert experience in the lap of absolute luxury, taste and impeccable service. From the shower to the spa, it's all a complete experience. The tents are treats that you may never leave, its the ideal place to write your book, relax, have a romance. The food is great, your postal valet decides where you have your own private bonfire and your breakfast, poolside, duneside. Camel rides and sundowners overlooking pristine desert sunsets. If you love yourself or want to spoil someone you love, here is where you take them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, SUJAN Luxury at The Serai, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Pavane M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to pampering you again very soon. Do keep us posted on your next visit and stay updated with us on Facebook for the latest news about The Serai.

Lots of love,

The Serai, Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A stay at The Serai combines the atmosphere and service of the best old fashioned country house life, or what we, fed on a diet of Downton Abbey upstairs/downstairs existence, believe was so, and the sort of service that almost equally old-fashioned grand Italian hotels used to pride themselves upon. In those places rooms were not necessarily particularly spacious or luxurious, they just worked well and the point was a level of unparalleled service. At The Serai you get the unparalleled service and the luxurious space in perfectly appointed tents. Nobody on the staff ever seems to be in the wrong place, never in the way but there is always someone there when you need something. This goes as far as the invisible fairies who turn down beds and leave delicious tissue wrapped surprise gifts on pillows besides all important hot water bottles. Excellent food, much of it home grown in the splendid vegetable garden, wonderful music by the camp fire, tea and sundowners on desert dunes and for one permanently cold person, plenty of radiators and hot water in the tents as well as the hot water bottles make this a perfect place to stay even in colder weather. Sadly it was too cold when I was there for all but the very hardy to think of swimming in the beautiful pool or even the outdoor jacuzzis attached to some tents - a treat for warmer days when the radiators become redundant..Meanwhile there are other plenty of other treats including massages with the best smelling oils ever in the peaceful spa. The Serai lifestyle is irresistible and a return to normal existence after a few days there is very disappointing indeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, SUJAN Luxury at The Serai, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear adloyd,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about The Serai, Jaisalmer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge your appreciation of the service. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Meanwhile, stay updated with the latest news on SUJAN on our facebook page.

Thank you,

The Serai, Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

After 2 days at the stunning , yet crumbling ( compared to my last visit years ago) and crowded Jaisalmer Fort, The Serai really was an oasis.
We loved everything- every comfort in the tents , lots of heaters and hot water bottles , khadi blankets , organic vegetables , a huge treat of the Manganiyars singing under a cold desert sky with lots of campfires , excellent library and elegant leather boxes for scrabble - finally high tea on an almost private sand dune . I went there a bit uncertain about having enough to do ... But loved the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piarampal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, SUJAN Luxury Hotels at The Serai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear piarampal,

Thank you for such a great review and of course for visiting us at The Serai, Jaisalmer. We are so happy that you had such a fantastic time and that you had an enjoyable experience.

We hope that you will stay connected to us through our Facebook page and will visit us soon at either of our properties.

Much Love,
The SUJAN Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Its luxury camping and a travel back in time. The property has a lot of character and charme, especially at night when they set up lights - did you see the hanging lights in the tree? we spend 3 nights and were glad to have added this one additional night to really get into the spirit and fully unwind. Best sleep ever.
Rooms: luxury camping tent, amazing bed, loved the hot waterbottle at night
Service: hand written note from GM - that has style and is in line with everything what followed, excellence (i dont want to tell more, you need to be surprised :-) )
Amenities: charme, charme, charme (take time and sit around the fireplace)
Spa: massages and yoga excellent
Food: we loved the indian food
Location: you need to be aware that its a good 45 minutes drive to Jaisalmer so you dont stroll by the city just like that. We decided to take a very early morning tour in Jaisalmer and left the hotel before sunrise. It was the first time we saw the stars in its full beauty (we had full moon) and enjoyed seeing Jaisalmer before everyone else - highly recommend it

Room Tip: we had the normal tent without pool and loved it, the main pool is amazing anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, SUJAN Luxury Hotels at The Serai, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear i s,

Thank you so much for your message. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back with us very soon at are other properties as well! Follow us on Facebook to stay updated with our stories and we wish you all the very best for 2013!

Happy Travels!

Much love,

The SUJAN Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at their other property, Sher Bagh, a year and a half back we clearly knew what to expect when we booked for a night here - nothing but the most exclusive experience that money could buy. And we were not disappointed.
The property itself was awesome. The engineering that went into it has been well captured in a photo-journal in the bar and is worth skimming through. The place does get really cold at night - but the design of the tents and the heaters ensure that you are comfortable.
And the service was exceptional. Some of the small unexpected touches were the hot water bottles slipped under the mattress to warm up the beds for you, the gift of a puppet for our daughter that was such a big hit, the hand-written welcome note from the resident manager-architect and the shawls in their jeep to keep you warm during the drive - such attention to detail is something that very few hotels deliver well.
The birds that we spotted in the property were quite interesting and included a Purple Sunbird and the Green Bee-eater. Their sun-downer experience is not to be missed for a private desert/dune experience. We also managed to spot several birds including a great sequence of photos of a Crested Eagle taking flight, foxes and cinkara deer.
The night sky is something that left us awestruck and regretting not packing a tripod - we missed some stunning long-exposure photos.
Though the meal choices for vegetarians was limited, the quality of the food was excellent with a lot of the ingredients being grown organically on the 100-acre property. The only disappointment was that they had not yet adopted any recycling mechanism for the food waste.
The Serai should ideally be a 2-3 night experience to be enjoyed slowly - highly recommended if you are looking for an indulgent break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSridharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, SUJAN Luxury Hotels at The Serai, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Samyukth S,

Thank you for your message..

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and have been a patron of SUJAN. We hope you will complete a SUJAN hat-trick and visit us at Elephant Pepper Camp in the Masai Mara soon!
It is delightful to hear how much you enjoyed all the different aspects of your stay. Thank you for telling us about dailydump.org, we are always interested in learning about new methods as we pride ourselves on being eco-friendly.

The entire SUJAN family is looking forward to welcoming you back here in the near future and wish you all the best for 2013!! Do follow us on Facebook to keep up with the latest about us.

Much love,

The Serai, Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fantastic place to check in for indulgence..... Premium property, super hospitable staff, superb ambience, delicious food make it a perfect place to unwind. They have a spa and a pool to splurge in middle of the desert . The tents are luxurious with all basic facilities in place. A small sit out outside tent to have a cup of tea. You wake up amidst chirping of desert birds and love spotting some exotic varieties. They arranged for a evening sand dune safari which made our trip. It was followed by a campfire where canopies n drinks were served. They also have a lovely library where one would like to tuck in comfortable couches and spend reading books. Overall a lovely place to chill.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReetikaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, The Serai, Jaisalmer at The Serai, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Reetika,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Serai, Jaisalmer and look forward to having you stay with us again..

Best wishes for the New Year,

The Serai, Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent three nights at the Serai, Jaisalmer and the setting is so far removed from the palaces we had previously stayed at.
Turning off the main road, about 40km outside of Jaisalmer you then drive another 10km along a single track road and then follow that with a further 1km across scrub, semi-arid desert to arrive at "camp".
The Serai is an engineering and hospitality triumph.
The "tents" are beautiful and would give any luxury hotel and very good run for their money, but it is the camp itself that steals your heart.
Organic food is grown on site and used whenever possible and the food is delicious. We had 3 nights here after a hectic tour across from Delhi and this is the perfect place to relax. And relax you must as there are no televisions at all and mobiles are frowned upon in public areas -bliss.
The spa area is very nice and a great range of treatments are available in the treatment tents.
The staff are outstanding and every night seats are set outside round a fire for the guests to sit, have a drink, meet and chat. The fire was kept stoked until the least person left for dinner and all during this time small appetisers are brought you to keep you going. And lo and behold, you look up and you see a sky so clear and full of stars it takes your breath away.
The desert does get cold at night and all tents have radiators. Upon returning to tent our after dinner on the first night we crawled into bed and got a fantastic surprise - inside the bottom of the bed were two beautifully warm hot water bottles. From that moment on we were theirs.
If you have an opportunity to stay here take it, but be warned, it is very quiet and quite unlike anywhere else. We were told by a local guide that are lots of copies around the outskirts of Jaisalmer but none come close to this. If it's peace, tranquillity, luxury and something different you are after, then this delivers.

Room Tip: A few of the tents have their own plunge pools. If you wish to meet others i would avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10ldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA08, The Sera, Jaisalmer at The Serai, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for visiting us at The Serai, Jaisalmer and we are sorry you could not make it to Sher Bagh!

Thank you for your compliments on the architecture of The Serai, Jaisalmer. The family takes great pride in having built it from scratch. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional experiences and are delighted that you enjoyed it.

We hope you had a safe return home and have a great Christmas and New Year. Looking forward to welcoming you back and at Sher Bagh too. Meanwhile do keep up with our updates on Facebook..


Much Love,

The Serai, Jaisalmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
30.6 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#28 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
#5 of 215 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
37.6 mi away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#1 of 215 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
40.8 mi away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#6 of 215 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Property: The Serai
Address: Bherwa | Chandan, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Serai 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury desert camp and spa, The Serai has 21 large canvas tents set on a hundred acre estate of indigenous desert scrub in the Great Thar Desert. The Serai spa is the new Indian jewel in the global crown of spa company Raison d’Etre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing