We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you try the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sagar Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sagar Guest House
Ranked #16 of 151 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make sure you try the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This place was great! Set right inside the fort, it's quite easy to get to, but you'll probably want to use a rickshaw from the bus/train.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and the showers hot. They have a great room at the end of the corridor over looking some of the city.

The restaurant does some amazing food with a fantastic chef who is so pleasant! It also has some great views of the city, especially during sunset.

Thanks for all the help

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NateLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
51
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a good time at Sagar Guesthouse. Kamal and the staff are very friendly and they take care of you. The rooms are clean and decent. If you decide to stay in the fort, check out this place. Would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mnuesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice guesthouse even if the air-co is not working ...
Clean.
The host, Kamal, is very sympatic.
We did the camel safari to visit his village and it was incredible. We seen true sand dunes, we eat in the desert Under the milky way ... great moment !
An adress to keep !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aurelie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place from a friend in pushkar. Kamal the guesthouse manager picked us up from the bus station. The rooms were clean and varies in range all very good price for what you pay. The view from the room looks over the entire town. The guesthouse is situated right in the fort. There is an amazing rooftop restaurant. All staff were friendly and helped us with every single question we needed. Kamal helped us tremendously with bookings around jaisalmer to places and routes to the rest of our India travels. He is very good at English and knows many other languages. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

just few steps from the jain temple inside the fort, a peaceful, clean and friendly guest house with a rooftop rest.
they also have great safari trips...the best prices in jaisalmer...
Kamal the manager, an honest and kind person will help you with everything with all his heart. speaks an excellent English, a bit of japanis, a bit of Hebrew, german etc...highly recommended...

Room Tip: all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danaorron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sagar guest house has great location inside the fort area of Jaisalmer. As I was walking around the small streets, I was intrigued by the nice and polite host Kamal, who was outside in the great chill-out area near the entrance of the guest house. At time I was there (March 2013) high season was ending and the place was really peaceful, quiet, laid-back...perfect for a person, that needs some good quality time off. Rooms were basic, but clean and comfy, bathrooms too. I would definitely recommend the place, plus Kamal is really helpful, he would ensure you have great stay, arrange camel-safari for you etc.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sagar is a basic guesthouse that represents great value for money.
The management are very helpful in providing advice. They run camel safaris within the Desert National park (I had already done a safari elsewhere when I stayed here, but if I had my time over I'd like to try the Sagar safari).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 151 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
0.1 mi away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#11 of 151 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Guest House

Property: Sagar Guest House
Address: Inside Golden Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sagar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sagar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing