We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harry potter guest house deep mahal was INCREDIBLE”
Review of Hotel Deep Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Deep Mahal
Ranked #121 of 153 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Harry potter guest house deep mahal was INCREDIBLE”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great view, nice guesthouse, cool staff.
Rooftop has the best view of the Jain temple.
Free pickup from bus and train plus free wifi on the rooftop. Camel safari into the deep desert is amazing.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    44
    20
    15
    26
See reviews for
20
58
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in December and wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms are good value for money and the decor is lovely, we had a beautiful motif above the bed in glitter and a bathroom to die for. Little Jonny who came to meet us from our bus was smiles from the start and took us back to our hotel. The food was good if not a little pricey but with the gorgeous view from the roof top terrace there isn't much to complain about. You cannot fault the pristine hotel or the very welcoming staff. Thanks guys for the lovely stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniBear1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Welcome to Harry Potter Guest House, Deep Mahal Magical Guest house. Maharaja room is amazing, wow wow magical! The whole place was mind blowing, the host was more than I could have asked for. His name name is Little Johnny and he personally collects you from the bus. It's a profession well run business that feels like home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dylanhorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only stayed for one out of our two night booking - apparently there was a leaking pipe above our room which meant they moved us to the hotel over the road for the second night. All very well, these things happens, but it would have been nice to have my luggage carried over without me asking three times. It was also a real shame because the bed was the comfiest I've slept in in nearly 3 months in India!

That aside, the family that run the place are very friendly and generally helpful, if a little 'in your face' at times. The breakfast was OK and the laundry done well in record fast time.

The camel safari we did was OK too, but make sure you negotiate hard as the starting prices are heavily inflated. Look to slice a good 30% or so off before you commit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is full of charm and our room was lovely - sadly after one good night we had to leave our room and we were told we had to move to a different hotel and into a much inferior room without any financial compensation. If we have known when we arrived it would have been less inconvenient but having unpacked, to them have to re- pack and move again was frustrating and we should have been offered and equivalent standard alternative or a discount especially when so many other people were checking in to be uprooted seemed very badly planned.

We did the afternoon camel safari through here also - was ok but we paid extra to go to a quiet part of the desert but we ended up being taken to the main tourist hub along with about 50 other tourists which was a real shame - could have been fun but was a bit of a rip off!

If we had stayed in the room we purchased and they had delivered on the desert safari it would be a very different review - has potential to be lovely if they were more straight up!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in the Deep Mahal Hotel for 3 nights in January '13 and enjoyed it a lot. Little Johnny came to pick me up from the bus for free and took care of everything while I was in Jaisalmer. Good food, a nice camel safari and a tour through the city at night.

The hotel is right inside the fort and next to the famous Jain Temple, so you always have a good view on the building from the comfy roof top restaurant.

The rooms look like in a little palace, Johnny calls it "the harry potter guest house" because it does look like Hogwarts.

I stayed for a night on the camel safari and had good fun with the camel guides as well. Matar and Gordon were very sweet guys, cooking great food and laughing a lot with us.

Highly recommendable and for a reasonably low price as well!

Room Tip: The maharaja room is a little bit more expensive but looks beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quork_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

... we stayed fo 4 days in "Deep Mahal" in Jaiselmer, and it was one of our best experience in India! The Deep Mahal staff is more than kind and helpful - pick up service from train or bus, helping in organising rooms in other cities, camel safari - no problem. They help with everything - with a smile.
The Hotel is located right inside Fort in Jaiselmer, beautiful old house with nice rooftop terrace and a few nice roms around a small patio. The view from the rooftop is great, just next to the famous Jain temple in Jaiselmer. And if you asked the staff for a nice sunset view, they will bring you over to another hotel the family runs, where you have the nicest sunset view ever. We can really recommand "Deep Mahal"!!!!

But ... the best was our Camel Safari! Everything organized by the staff, the safari and its preparations where perfect and well done. ASK FOR SALIM! He is the best camel guide, best singer in the desert, best cook and best story teller ever! We had a great time with him, great food and a fabulous experience. Thank you Salim, it was wonderful being in the desert with you! Best camel college ever!

Thanks to the people from "Deep Mahal" and to Salim! We had a wonderful time with you guys!

Best from Berlin!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Franziskaaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Haveli Guest House
Desert Haveli Guest House
#36 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaisal Castle
Jaisal Castle
#71 of 105 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 153 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Surya Paying Guest House
The Surya Paying Guest House
#6 of 153 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#12 of 153 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deep Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deep Mahal

Property: Hotel Deep Mahal
Address: Vyasa Para, Inside Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Deep Mahal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Jaisalmer one can find Hotel Deep Mahal Haveli, a small family run hotel carved in glowing local golden sandstone, sharing thousand year old Jain temples with comforts and feeling of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Deep Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing