We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Guesthouse experience in our three months in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 151 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
In flux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Guesthouse experience in our three months in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

The entire staff at Surja Hotel is fantastic. Raj and Yogi, the owners, are amazing hosts and made our experience in Jaisalmer memorable. In the last two months backpacking through India, we have been looking to find a hotel that could replicate and live-up to Surja. Hasn't happened yet!!!! We arrived before dawn, straggled into Surja, and immediately we were brought upstairs and given chai after chai until our room was clean from the night's prior guests. We were shown into the Maharajah room and quoted an EXTREMELY reasonable price for their best room which was spacious, immaculate, with charming painted walls and a little window seat/balcony that looked out over the fort wall. It was refreshing after being in India for one month and not feeling like we needed to haggle for the price of the room - the quote was fair and I was surprised at how cheap.The restaurant upstairs has undeniably the best view over the fort and the food served was unparalleled to any we had in Rajasthan. Try the Kaju Curry. Service was prompt and the food was served in a timely manner and could even be brought to your room (although it would be silly to be in your room when you could be sitting on the rooftop overlooking the fort down below and the desert in 360 view, especially atmospheric at dusk). The staff treats you like family here - Munna (a staff member) referred to me as his sister and provided me with a full outfit for HOLI so that I wouldn't ruin my clothes. Another huge perk to this place, which we haven't found ANYWHERE else, is that they provide free wifi. We have a blog that we keep up and it was perfect to be able to sit there on the patio and not rack up the rupees uploading pictures. So if you have a laptop, this is your place. Yogi had mentioned that for next season he was going to get several laptops for customer use on the rooftop, so you might ask about that when you book. Just next door there are high-dollar expensive hotels that have the same views, but they charge 4 times the price as this one. It is already a popular place, and understandably so. You might want to book in advance.

We also, (and I cringingly admit), booked a camel safari. Yes. It IS about as touristy as it gets and we were worried at how cheesy it might be. We decided to book through Surja with Yogi's promise that it wouldn't be touristy. We were still skeptical. Turns out it wasn't. They took us through a stretch of desert where we hardly saw a soul and spent the night under the stars. Munna and our guided cooked us a beautiful meal over open fire, everything made from scratch and then were presented with a breakfast fit for kings. And again, all for a reasonable price.

This is definitely your best pick for Jaisalmer. Don't listen to lonely planet or rough guide when they say you should stay outside the fort. Raj and Yogi treat you like friends and after one week there (which is the longest we've stayed anywhere) we were invited to a complimentary dinner of egg curry made by Yogi himself for our last night in the hotel.

Best location, best value, best service, no hassle.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snarklesnarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    92
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
108
93
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have been backpacking for almost two years and on the
recommendation of a friend we decided to stay here. The rooms were
spacious, clean and have beautiful views of the fort (The hotel is
actually on the fort walls). The staff are extremely helpful and
accommodating. They allowed us to use their showers and room to rest
even though we already checked out preparing for our train to Jodhpur
at no cost.

There is a restaurant upstairs "Lakeview Lounge" which serves great
continental and Indian food at reasonable prices for the area. We ate
the spinach spaghetti and cheese, mushroom, tomato burger both were
delicious. We can also recommend the banana honey porridge for
breakfast, very yummy. You can have a 360-degree view of Jaisalmer
from the second floor or the restaurant.

They also have FREE WiFi in their hotel rooms and restaurant in
addition to a shared computer.

They also book camel tours that have constantly receive great reviews.
We enjoyed our 4 day stay in Jaisalmer, partly due to Surja Hotel,
it's restaurant and staff.

The only issue...like th rest of Rajastan and most of India, the cows are everywhere and you really have to be careful where you walk. There are also dogs everywhere barking randomly in the middle of the night but that is no one's fault.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylingduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We were delighted of staying in Surja GH! Yogi was wonderful host and I would to thank him again for his hospitality. He helped us much with everything what we needed. We recommend to everyone to stay in Surja GH in Jaisalmer. It is in the fort, between wonderful streets and with a beautiful view of the city of Jaisalmer!! Go there and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moso81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

Come as tourist, stay as a guest and go as a friend.
These words are not just a slogan on the official website of the
Surya Hotel. The whole team under the leadership of Ray and Yogi is really
putting with so much personal arrangement the stay for each guest
to create beautiful and memorable as possible.
The rooms are charmingly decorated, very clean and inexpensive. By most
rooms you have a great view over the city and into the desert.
In the warm season it is wonderful to sleep on the roof, to
morning enjoy the sunrise and see how the city awake.
I have found no better place in Jaisalmer!
Thanks for the beautiful days in the Surya Guest House. I love coming back as
a friend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebrown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Raj and Yogi run a wonderful hotel. They treat you like family and genuinely care about your stay being happy. They are quite happy to give you advice and guidance, even if you are not staying with them, or using their camel trekking teams. Raj looks after the hotel side of things, while Yogi cordinates the camel safaris. Yogi comes from a desert village and chooses his team from people that he personally knows. I had a wonderful time trekking on the camels, enjoying the desert experience and felt very watched over and cared for by the team. They also cooked us wonderful meals over open fires at night. The rooms at the hotel range in price and features to suit those looking for cheaper, value for money rooms, to their Maharaja room which is stunning. The Maharaja room is great value, very spacious room that has been so beautifully decorated. Spoil yourself and stay in this room. The views from their rooftop restaurant are wonderful. Jaisalmer Fort is a magnificent place to stay, so unique and unlike anywhere else you will visit. The team at Surja have left me with lifetime memories, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiRam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel is in the fort with a nice view overlook Jaisalmer and you can see the horizon of Jaisalmer desert town. The other side you have the close view of Jaisalmer palace. Staff are very friendly in the not disturbing way. They offer the information, advices, and the trip. They even offer me to ride their motorcycle to take the fort picture view at night. A bit sorry that I'm too tired to take this chance. The food is the best especially haveing the breakfast with the sun rise on the roof top. The dinner is also nice. If I have a chance to visit Jaisalmer again, this is definitely my first choice to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dej1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

The people who work at Surja Hotel are the most friendly and welcoming people we met in India. Raj and Yogi could not have been more helpful and they made us feel completely at home from the minute we arrived in Jaisalmer.

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the roof terrace is a perfect place to chill out and have a cup of chai with good value of money.

Make sure you ask Raj to take you to the around while you are in Jaisalmer.
Sorry, for writing it late after a month as i got my account updated.
Thanks you for your warm Welcome To Us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutetomgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Property: Surja Hotel
Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing