We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Super friendly staff”
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #6 of 163 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this place after a nearby hotel called Surya (be careful with the names, there are lots that sound similar) had overbooked. Raj and Yogi run the place and our extremely friendly and helpful. Even though we hadn't booked with them, they gave us a small room for a decent price given the lack of availability and tourist season. The view from our room's cute little window was fantastic, and even better from the roof top restaurant (a must). The bathroom was unfortunately not as clean as we would like. But there was hot water all morning and evening. Best thing about the place is that Raj and Yogi don't insist you to take camel safari which all other hotels do. They even organised a day auto for us to take us to various sites. They were always ready to help with everything. Their hospitality and the view and location make Hotel Surja a must in Jaisalmer according to me.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room with balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Km_P2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 429 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at Surja Hotel for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The guesthouse itself is fantastic, built directly into the Fort Walls, with a good rooftop restaurant and charming rooms. Our room was beautiful with a great view and tons of character. It was also really clean and very quiet which is always a major bonus in India.

The staff was also especially wonderful. We didn't book our Camel Safari with them (we had received a recommendation from some friends and had already booked with them) and they didn't pressure us to change to them at all. (Which we found out is very rare in Jaisalmer.) They also offered to store our stuff during the safari and gave us a room for a couple hours when we got back so we could shower and rest before we had to get on the train. It was greatly appreciated!

As some other people mentioned the hot water was on and off but Raj was installing a new water heater when we were there so that should be fixed now. Also, be careful when you are looking for this place as there are a number of copy-cat places surrounding it with names like Surya or Surga.

Overall would highly recommend Surja!

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor that while it didn't have a balcony or window seat, had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This place is just great. The two guys who run this place, friendly Raj and stern looking but still friendly yogi, will go out of their way for you.the restaurant is amazing and one of the few that serves meat. The rooms are great. The toilets are clean and the water hot. The view is awesome.

Ask raj about the local hangouts. He knows the vest places and even spent the day showing us around.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaraziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at Surja hotel for four nights and it has been one of the highlights of our trip. Their rooftop restaurant is the best we had in the fort, and the staff were happy to make me an indian breakfast on request.
It is located within the fort in one of the quieter corners and we didnt experience anyone hassling us outside or anything like that. Raj offered us free pick up late at night from the train station and was very welcoming. It also helps avoid the touts at the train station.

We stayed in the star room for two nights and room 2 for two nights and both were comfy and very clean with a nice balcony, although room 2 is bigger. The whole family of staff were friendly and very polite. There was no hassle to book a camel safari with them, and partly because of this we did book with them!

I wanted to do a camel safari long before we came to India and had high expectations that were met and exceeded with Surja hotel. It was a little more expensive than other companies but we had a great time. There were seven people in our group and we all enjoyed ourselves. The guides were friendly and made some really delicious food (watch out for the chilli!). They also supplied us with unlimited mineral water and made yummy chai. We didnt see any other tour groups whilst we were on safari, saw lots of wildlife and slept under the stars in an area with plenty of beautiful sand dunes. It was a magical experience.

Thank you to Raj and the whole family for a wonderful experience in Jaisalmer. We will always remember our time here and how much you enriched our holiday.

Katherine & Grant

Room Tip: Ask for room 2! We stayed in here for two nights and it is a big room with a big bed, and a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Really nice room on the edge of the fort with great balcony to relax on with pillows and amazing view. Really clean and nice feel. Hot water was off and on though. Wifi upstairs only. Staff was really friendly and professional. Restaurant was okay. We booked the overnight camel safari with them and had a reall great experience. There safari costs slightly more than others, but we didn't see any other tourists at all in the desert. They let us store our bags, shower when we returned and stay in another room until we left for the bus at 6:00pm since we booked with them. Great value overall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdale2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We couldnt of asked for anything more really...it was spot on :-) Beautiful views from rooftop terrace and location inside the Fort. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jaisalmer, it won't let you down! Thank you Raj Bissa and company, take care.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Surja Hotel is one of those rare corners of the world that stirs the soul. Truly one of the most enchanting places I've ever stayed, or rather that has stayed with me. I will return one day to this poetic little heaven on earth, a magical hotel in the wall of a 950 year old fort. A romantic vision that gazes out across the Thar desert & golden city from the walls of Jaisalmer. Surja Hotel has truly found it's way into my heart. I long to return & laze on the rooftop in the afternoon sun over a cold beer & the world's best view.

Spend your nights gazing out at the majestic land & desert night over dinner on the rooftop, or wake in the morning to the rising sun. This place is pure poetry. The rooms are marvelous but modest. Possesing that rustic charm that leaves you feeling like you've stepped back in time. Consequently, this also happens to be the best restaurant in the city. The Palak Paneer is marvelous & nothing like a good beer under the stars on the roof of a castle.

This is by far the best hotel in Jaisalmer, or India for that matter. I can find no critique at all, only praise.

I think Raj & his wonderful team deserve an honorary mention. He is truly a great host, I look forward to seeing you next year Raj.

-Kyle

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastKyleNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#14 of 113 in Jaisalmer
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#67 of 113 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#17 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fort View
Hotel Fort View
#54 of 113 in Jaisalmer
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 163 in Jaisalmer
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pol Haveli
Hotel Pol Haveli
#16 of 163 in Jaisalmer
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing