We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place run by lovely people”
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We couldnt of asked for anything more really...it was spot on :-) Beautiful views from rooftop terrace and location inside the Fort. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jaisalmer, it won't let you down! Thank you Raj Bissa and company, take care.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 416 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Surja Hotel is one of those rare corners of the world that stirs the soul. Truly one of the most enchanting places I've ever stayed, or rather that has stayed with me. I will return one day to this poetic little heaven on earth, a magical hotel in the wall of a 950 year old fort. A romantic vision that gazes out across the Thar desert & golden city from the walls of Jaisalmer. Surja Hotel has truly found it's way into my heart. I long to return & laze on the rooftop in the afternoon sun over a cold beer & the world's best view.

Spend your nights gazing out at the majestic land & desert night over dinner on the rooftop, or wake in the morning to the rising sun. This place is pure poetry. The rooms are marvelous but modest. Possesing that rustic charm that leaves you feeling like you've stepped back in time. Consequently, this also happens to be the best restaurant in the city. The Palak Paneer is marvelous & nothing like a good beer under the stars on the roof of a castle.

This is by far the best hotel in Jaisalmer, or India for that matter. I can find no critique at all, only praise.

I think Raj & his wonderful team deserve an honorary mention. He is truly a great host, I look forward to seeing you next year Raj.

-Kyle

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastKyleNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is situated right in the fort and in itself feels like a slice of history. The owner Raj and all the staff made sure we had a warm welcome and they were all friendly and helpful.

The roof terrace is a great place to spend time and enjoy a few beers or some of the reasonably priced and tasty food they serve. You can see views of the town and Jaisalmer Lake in the distance and despite being located in the town, there is very little noise from the traffic below and everything feels quite relaxing and tranquil.

Raj organised an overnight camel safari for us while we were at the hotel and have to say it was a very enjoyable and memorable experience as we ate good food and sang songs around the campfire. The camel drivers were friendly and willing to do anything for us. They went to fetch beers for the group as the sun was setting (we didn't realise it but this was a 2 hour round trip). When they came back they had even managed to keep them cold!! Be prepared to have sore legs after being on the camels - they are not the most comfortable animals!!

We left here having been completely happy with the hotel and also Jaisalmer was one of the highlights of our trip in India

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Thoroughly deserves its place in Rough Guide. Difficult to fault.
Friendly, attentive staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Not big,so quiet most of the time.
Its most outstanding feature is the roof terrace. The views are amazing, both out from the fort over the city and back over the walls and rooftops within the fort.
There are lots of seating options including chill out sections and balcony type seats out from the fort walls where a head for heights is needed. Could have done with some more shade umbrellas, but it was a bit breezy, so understandable.
Hotel restaurant is also very good and reasonable.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsalter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Surja Hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed- comfortable large beds, clean bathrooms, nice Rajastani style decor and architecture. The rooms with balconies facing east have beautiful little sitting nooks for reading or just watching the sunrise. Yogi and Raj were helpful and attentive. They set up transport and a camel safari as well. The rooftop restaurant has outstanding views of city and the lake. Sunrise and sunsets are spectacular from the roof! People who weren't staying at the guesthouse would come there just for the views. They also serve good well-priced food.

All in all, a great place to stay in Jaisalmer. Great value and a warm inviting place. I could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomaicGypsy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was welcomed to Jaisalmer by Raj and Yogi of Surja Hotel with warmth and wonderful hospitality. My intentions were to stay a few days and ended up staying a month. In my opinion having spent a great deal of time in Jaislemer, that Surja offers the best value for a excellent location and standard of rooms. The views from the roof top restaurant and rooms on the fort wall have spectacular views facing east to enjoy the sunrise over the lake and then you can enjoy the shade in the afternoons on the canter levering day beds on the wall. These day beds are also fantastic for enjoying sleeping under the stars. The ambience of Surja is warm, friendly and genuine. The guys will do what ever they can for you to have a enjoyable time. I chose 2 nights 3 days camel safari that they offer with their local guide who speaks english very well. His enthusiasm to share local knowledge with me and his amazing cooking, left me with an unforgettable experience. The camels are really friendly too :) !! I will not hesitate to return to Surja and my friends that I have made there in the future and highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit this extraordinary destination in the desert.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, choose a room on the fort wall for the views !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff were great, helping, advising and being complete anest with you. There is an amazing view!
And good prices!! We payed 500 for a double room
We were staying there for 3 night
Hot water,
Generally i recommend to sleep inside the fort!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Moran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Moran, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suraj
Hotel Suraj
#23 of 108 in Jaisalmer
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 159 in Jaisalmer
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gaji Hotel
Gaji Hotel
#4 of 159 in Jaisalmer
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#11 of 159 in Jaisalmer
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Garh
Hotel Shahi Garh
#14 of 159 in Jaisalmer
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing