We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, friendly staff, great rooms”
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at this great hotel in Jaisalmer, Picked up from the train station and brought there in the hot hot sun (stayed in May 2013).
The room had an amazing view over the city, and very nice decor inside. Soft beds, wifi and a cool chillout area upstairs too. The staff were lovely, esp. Tarun who helped us around the city, and chatted about the local culture, a friendly guy.
Top marks, would love to return...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernardMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
09414761394

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

i stay here for 2 nights:).this hotel has the best view in Jaisalmer.i went to couple another place in jaialmer,but no where can compare: )the roof-top resturant have really good ,and the sofa outsde is amazing!!!!!the staff here is very helpful and friendly.they give u a lot of useful imformation,even they take u for a ride!!!!!(awesome).the room s very clean: )and have a lovely balcony

highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank marybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear madam , I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
09414761394

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great intimate place built within the walls on the boundary of the Fort over looking the Aladin like fairytale city full of elaborate shops and markets, friendly helpful staff / friends. Water is warm, food is great. The view is amazing. Good connections with cammel trekking. Affordable and stylish.Jaisalmer is a place in which should not be missed Garam garam

Room Tip: All are good, water is warm and communication/ food is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed in Surja last year, but only now managed to write a review... ;( Arrived at 4am. Yogi, one of the two managers came to pick me up on his motorbike. Treated me with a good Chai and a nice room with a view until my room was to be ready. The hotel is located in the fort with an amazing view from the rooftop lounge. My room had a small balcony facing the street with an interesting everyday life view. Quiet, clean and with a hot shower. Both Yogi and Raj, the managers, were very attentive and friendly. Enjoyed it for 10 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank evekelner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had the most amazing time here ... the guys that run it go well beyond the call of duty - he ended up bringing a rickshaw to us as we'd arrived at 4am and couldn't get one! Did the camel safari through Surja Hotel and would HIGHLY recommend it .... all round great experience, beautiful rooftop to lounge around on with a nice cold beer and survey the city below! Couldn't recommend it highly enough - will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Madam, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Felt very safe as a woman travelling alone. Great location in the fort. Don't sleep outside! Jaislamer is so hot & you will need a cool place. Food is amazing! All staff were very cool & welcoming. I loved my room. Finally I had toilet paper & 2 towels. Very fair prices for a double room with a beautiful view. Loved my balcony & especialy the roof!!! Great view & nice to sit after warm & long day. It's a place I will go back & stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sigal658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Madam, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Two things stand out about Surja Hotel in Jaisalmer: the location and the service. It's set inside the fort, and the view from the rooftop restaurant is spectacular. Lie in one of the cushioned beds outside and watch the sunrise as you enjoy your morning chai. The cosy rooms have great rustic character. The managers Raj and Yogi do everything they can to be the perfect hosts, even taking me into town to see the sights and experience the best lassi in India! They were also very kind when I came down with a nasty throat infection and cough. This place is also good value when you look at other places inside the fort. Staying at the Surja Hotel made my stay in Jaisalmer great, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Maharaja room and enjoy the window seat with the amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromcanada51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suraj
Hotel Suraj
#24 of 108 in Jaisalmer
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 159 in Jaisalmer
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gaji Hotel
Gaji Hotel
#4 of 159 in Jaisalmer
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#11 of 159 in Jaisalmer
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prem Baba Guest House
Prem Baba Guest House
#13 of 159 in Jaisalmer
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing