We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view.... and great hospitality”
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #6 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The view.... and great hospitality”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Jaisalmer is a totally different city from any other in Rajasthan. And the Surja hotel is the perfect fit for this city. Viewing the Kite festival from the roof was a pleasure! Great location, marvelous views and we enjoyed the service. Everyday smiles made our three day stay enjoyable. The room is large and bathroom OK. First time a hot shower in India, so that was a good experience! Thank you Ray, Yogi, Aki and all other staff. It was a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony one floor below the toproof restaurant: You'll feel like a mah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Surja Hotel with the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Raj.
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    92
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
108
95
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. The view from the terrace was awesome, Raj (The owner?) was very friendly and nice, he showed us around by his bike and even joined our camel safari in the desert. The bathroom was just basic, but it was okay for a short stay in Jaisalmer. A great time in Jaisalmer, I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best hostel we stayed for a long Time!!! Thanks again Rog and your staff, very friendly, service maximum we can have!!! And definitely the best view of jaisalmer city! cafe and restaurant correct, very peacefull and nice to have a rest! Gael and Céline

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaouel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Surja Hotel with the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Raj.
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location of Surja is super - super view of the city and sunrise. Although the bathrooms can be done better. While everything in the bathrooms is funtional it is not a comfortable bathroom to use. Other than that the staff is great and the roof top is very nice too. We were there for just one night - for which it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bata75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are a couple in our 50's and stayed 4 nights at Surja Hotel, one being an overnight camp/camel trek. We booked through Agoda choosing it from good reviews. There was no disappointment at all. Surja is brilliantly located, views are spectacular, the rooftop is a wonderful place to hang out, Raj, Yogi. Aki and all staff are outstanding. We felt really well looked after. 5 of us that were staying at Surja did the Surja camel trek together which was a huge highlight. Maybe top dollar but so easy and worth every cent. We most definitely recommend to all travellers.

Room Tip: There are a variety, best to ask as we did. Raj responds quickly to email. We started in a small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is right at the end of a street so there is no passing traffic, which is good as it's quiet, and it is right on the fort wall. The views from the rooftop terrace, and actually from my room, are incredible. There was always hot water for the shower, and it was clean enough. I had the room on the ground floor and it was massive, with some furniture (some of the rooms just have a bed). There is free WiFi on the roof terrace and they also have 2 computers you can use to upload pictures etc. I died not eat here at all, just had lots of chai masala, but the menu looked good and I think they supply at least one nearby hotel with their restaurant food. Laundry was a whole 15 rupees per item and came back same day. I actually cannot fault this hotel, on the budget it is on, for anything. I loved it!

Room Tip: Ground floor room is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_sujra, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed here in July, we had a free pick up from the train station which was great. we stayed for 3 nights inbetween a camel safari that we did with the hotel.
the hotel is actaully inside the fort so you are centerally located, you have to pass small shops and stalls to get to the hotel.
The room was really nice, decorated really well and had aircon. we needed it on all the time because it was 45 degrees but on the first day it started to leak quite bad, straight away the manager moved our rooms and said he would fix it in the mean time which was great of him. on the 2nd day we went on the 1 night safari and were allowed to keep the room and didnt have to pack our bags up even though we were not staying in the room. again i thought that this was really good service. we ate a few times at the hotel the food was nice but it was the view that made us stay on the roof to be honest, it was amazing but too hot to stay out for more then 20 mins haha.

i think we paid something like 4000 rupees for the hotel and safari with was a good price too. the safari was well done, it was only the two of us which i really liked and we had a heard of camels to choose from, we rode in the afternoon for maybe 2 hours and then set up camp and had food. we slept in the desert with just us and a blanket.

overall i would stay again and do the tour again. 5 Star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
8.4 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#8 of 104 in Jaisalmer
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wanderlust Guest House
The Wanderlust Guest House
#7 of 156 in Jaisalmer
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 156 in Jaisalmer
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Property: Surja Hotel
Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing