We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great views!”
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 153 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great views!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is set in the outer walls of the Fort in Jaisalmer offerin great views of the city below from the rooms. We had the largest room with a big balcony for 2 people overlooking the city below. The room was clean and comfortable with AC.

Service in the hotel is fantastic - as soon as we arrived we were offered a welcome drink and upon our departure 2 bottles of ice cold water. The hotel has two computers with internet as well as free wireless access, the fastest connections we've had in India so far.

All in all great value, great service, great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ie_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    92
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
108
95
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Probably the best deal inside the fort, and maybe outside too. Big clean rooms from 250-750, depending on view. The fort wall is the outside wall of the hotel and some windows/balconies look directly out. One rounded room is a bastion of the fort. Good and cheap food at the rooftop restaurant with free wifi and friendly staff. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Jaisalmer is a nice town, but staying in Surja Hotel will significantly improve your experience it! of It's a shame to stay anywhere else.

I sat on the rooftop for hours a day. The view was breathtaking, especially at sunset and sunrise. I simply didn't want to go anywhere else (I liked the view and the atmosphere on the rooftop so much that one night I even slept there, under the stars!)

The staff was friendly, generous, and honest. I stayed at Surja for 10 days, partly because the staff consisted of some of the nicest people I met in India. They trully made me feel like family. I was sad when I had to go back home, and next time I'm in India I'll definately stay in Surja for a longer time.

Besides that, the rooms were very beautiful and romantic and had great view of the desert (especially the ones with a small balconies that go out of the fort's wall!).

And above all that - THE PRICES ARE REDICULOUSLY LOW, which makes this place TERRIFIC VALUE!

One last point, there is free internet on the balcony which made made stay there much more than I expected :-)

So, do yourselves a favour and don't miss this place! It's really everything you're looking for in a guest house. No other place in Jaisalmer can compete with it. In fact, I'm pretty sure it's the best guest house I've EVER stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were beautiful, but it's best to ask for A ROOM WITH A BALCONY. Having a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Surja Guest House is not a hotel, is a real home. In my first trip to India I spent only one night there. I feel like I'm real Maharana:) A large room, very large, royal bed, spacious bathroom, food served in the room ;)... although the roof terraces are incredible! Balcony from the window allows me to see the world from above ... from the wall of the fort ...
On my second trip to India I spent in Surja Guest House two weeks, and the third trip I spent a month there :) I felt like in a house, all the staff is very friendly, the restaurant is the taste of every tourist, and for me is the best!
There, on the roof, you can spend a nice time with staff or other beautiful tourist, and in the roof top you feel like you're in Paradise - are just you and the sun, or just you and the stars :)
Maharajah you want to be? Living in Surja Guest House! It is wonderful! There I felt the taste of royal ... ;)

Room Tip: Each room is different. It is impossible not to find a room right on your taste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simona_Luciana_Pirvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel Surja we had had a couple of bad experiences, and we were on our guard ready for any bad treatment. We were therefore completely knocked off our feet by Raj's hospitality and kindness. He drove us around on his motorbike, even giving us a guided tour of the city. All the staff were friendly and did everything they could to help us. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Jaisalmer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeedsStudent521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hotel Surja was perfect to enjoy Jaisalmer. The room was very nice and the balcony to relax and enjoy the view topped it all. The food was very good and for a very good price. But the best was the staff and especially the manager which made our stay so much easier. With free pickup from train station and free drop off to the bus station. He even rushed to the bus station on a motorbike to tell the bus to wait for us as we were just on time. The camel safari booked through the hotel was very nice and there also we had a very nice camel driver. I definitely recommend staying there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucyandjulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My boyfriend an I stayed here for two nights in August 2011. We didn't have a booking but were given a rickshaw for free anyway from the train station. We chose a room with an awesome view out from the fort. The price and location inside the fort cannot be beaten. We had an awesome couple of days exploring the old town inside the fort, visiting the nearby palace. Upstairs they have a restaurant which we ate most meals at which were great. There is also free wifi as well as two PCs which are free to use. We were also taken back to the train station for free on our way out. All in all, thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sammy_v25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#9 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Property: Surja Hotel
Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Surja Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing