We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Thar Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Thar Vilas
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were given a corner room, which had a lovely seating area from where we watched the sun go down. The rooms were clean and nice shower stall. The staff were very attentive and food in restaurant was good. The staff even lent us a computer to us. Hotel is about 15 minutes outside Jaisalmer and is located in the desert. Lovely pool area and gardents. Good menu selection although the wine was expensive (in most of India very expensive wine in restaurants). Staff saw our laundry on the floor and picked it up and had it done, a pleasant surprise. Satellite T.V. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

the hotel looks spectacular amidst the vast vacant landscape. Total peace and Quiet ! rooms and services were excellent . Very warm and caring staff. wish i had stayed longer !

Room Tip: had a room with wonderful view of the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urmila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Thar Vilas- A hotel with short drive from city centre, stayed at hotel from 4th and 5 th dec, 2011. i enjoyed my stay at hotel in comfortable and clean rooms. the Sunrise and sunset from the Hotel is very special. Advised by staff to visit kuldhara village and offfering additional service are appreciated.
with a reasonable price it is good to stay at Hotel

Room Tip: renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udaipurmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Thank you for a really nice stay in your Hotel. The rooms are big and clean and I like the bathroom with the separate restroom. We stayed by 2 persons for 2 nights. The dinner was delicious and the staff very friendly. The city is reachable in a 10 min drive and the desert for a camel ride too. The Pool is clean and big for just a good relaxing time. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in india
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

What a terrible experience! After 5 minutes I was on the phone to the travel agent begging for an alternative. This hotel has a wonderful facade on arrival - as often happens the real face behind the facade leaves a lot to be desired. The rooms were furnished with old and dirty pieces of furniture, the bathrooms were reminiscent of old swimming pool changing rooms, the room door was locked with a padlock (!) - this is somewhat quaint in an old hotel such as the Neemrana fort palace, but is rather frightening in a new structure like the Thar Villas, it contributed to the "Shining"effect. The restaurant was incredibly bad, dirty, unfurnished, uninviting and above all full of plastic crates placed indiscretely around the restaurant in which the dirty plates were deposited. A hotel that caters for the undiscerning masses.

  • Liked — leaving!
  • Disliked — everything, the list would be too long.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecritic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#25 of 104 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#26 of 104 in Jaisalmer
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thar Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thar Vilas

Property: Hotel Thar Vilas
Address: Kuldhara Road, Jaisalmer, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thar Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Thar Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing