We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group / Team - Be Ware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Golden Haveli
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Gandhinagar, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Group / Team - Be Ware”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are a team or group from some corporate or family friends please beware before check in. It was our bad luck that we went there and had a very wretched experience. The Staff was not well behaved and unbearable. The Enjoyment for breakfast on the terrace overviewing the fort was so worst that some team mates felt ill. the safari ride which organised by the hotel did not had camels for ride and spoiled our safari ride. We prefer that the hotel should take some professional training to be in this industry. Guest from outside india dont know this kind of flaws in the service. It can create a bad impression of the corporate / group in front of your own employees. I prefer this hotel name " Golden Haveli " is imprinted in my mind with golden ink....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenhaveli, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
As per an earlier response this person was part of a group who wanted to leave a night early and had to pay the full amount. Have a look at the other comments made at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    75
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
75
65
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

hi

I have no word to say about my this trip it was only my friends who could stop me to get into my most angry mood, The hotel overall looks good on paper and website but when you go inside its plethora of false promises. The staff was busy in fighting among themselves instead of serving us. I asked them for a glass of cold water he told me that we dont have cold water ??? Can you imagine it.
The room service was a JOKE you have to go to the restaurant to get your order . The crockery and cutlery was 50% than the total number of guests in the hotel.
There was no ice cubes in the hotel , the food was RUBBER BREADS with some legumes which was highly unexpectable
OVERALL A VERY VERY VERY BIG NO to this hotel better do some donation in the Charity which would help some people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anup J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenhaveli, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
As per an earlier response this person was part of a group who wanted to leave a night early and had to pay the full amount. Have a look at the other comments made at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is very modern and beautifully designed. The rooms are very spacious and there are extra comforters in the closet in case the AC is too cold for you. The patio on the roof has a picturesque view of the Fort on one side and the desert on the other side - what a great place for breakfast or dinner! The food itself is good and they really customize it for you. Additionally the hotel has an amazing swimming pool. Service was great, they arranged transportation for us to train station. The only downside was that the bathroom had a really bad smell, possibly something to do with the pipes...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful sandstone building with very nice and welcoming path and small swimming pool.
The rooms have a bay window sitting are filled with cushions, comfy beds and clean bathrooms.
WiFi worked in the room.
We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overviewing the Fort however seemed a bit empty, some plants and extra umbrellas would add extra character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

the hotel looks good in the website but actually is worst the staff is not ready to work , they didnt had cold water in summers just imagine it , the food was unbearable , by chance you go there as a compulsion please take food along with you that would be fine as those people cant cook also. Just imagine we were in a group and we had to cook to make the food eatable overall a pathetic place to go , spending here is bad idea its better to purchase a ac and sleep at home

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harshdeep786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda K, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am sorry that you did not have a good experience as you know when you checked out there was a problem with payment as you wanted to check out a day early and were refusing to pay for the extra night and you had booked the whole hotel for 3 days. When I talked to you and your other colleague you did not mention any of the problems with the staff or food. I do know that you asked if you could use the kitchen to make your own dish from your region but it was not because of our food/cooking as you say.

Once again I am sorry for your experience at my hotel. Gazi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have mixed feelings of my stay at the Golden Haveli.

The positives: the building itself is beautiful sandstone and the rooms are very spacious and pretty clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff were were sweet and attentive. The manager was very accommodating allowing us to have late check out.

The negatives: our bathroom was in a very poor state of repair and let the lovely bedroom down. It smelt terrible (like old rotten food), and there was no shower curtain so water went everywhere and the floor sloped in the opposite direction to the drainage so there was permanently water collecting on the floor. The restaurant staff were attentive but they really should have their uniforms cleaned regularly - they were all wearing terribly dirty stained clothes which looked awful. The table cloths were also very dirty - surely throwing everything in the wash every couple of days can't be that hard and would improve the impression of the 'restaurant' remarkably.

Like the majority of hotels in India (in my opinion) the Golden Haveli does have potential but just needs to improve in some basics and this would improve guests' stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm overdue in writing this as it has been over a year since I stayed at the Golden Haveli (November 2011 in truth). Still, I have fond memories of this place. My cousin and I were backpacking through the north for about two weeks. Our stay in Jaisalmer was the highlight. The Golden Haveli is beautiful, clean, spacious, and truly peaceful. After two days of buses and trains, having a proper sized bath is a godsend. Meanwhile, the hotel is located on a small street outside the walls of the fort ~15 minutes walk from the center. Can't comment on the desert/camel tour as were only there for 2 nights. Restaurant was good, not great, but convenient. Highly recommended for weary travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
2.0 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#55 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#22 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#24 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Golden House
The Golden House
#26 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
#53 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Haveli

Property: Hotel Golden Haveli
Address: Bera Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Haveli is a newly built hotel with 42 rooms all rooms have satellite TVs, telephone, large en-suite, wardrobes, dressing table, table and chairs, fridge and safe. There is a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and beautiful Jaisalmer countryside. A new indoor first floor air conditioned restaurant and a poolside restaurant. We also have a conference hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Haveli Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing