We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden Haveli
Ranked #71 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is very modern and beautifully designed. The rooms are very spacious and there are extra comforters in the closet in case the AC is too cold for you. The patio on the roof has a picturesque view of the Fort on one side and the desert on the other side - what a great place for breakfast or dinner! The food itself is good and they really customize it for you. Additionally the hotel has an amazing swimming pool. Service was great, they arranged transportation for us to train station. The only downside was that the bathroom had a really bad smell, possibly something to do with the pipes...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful sandstone building with very nice and welcoming path and small swimming pool.
The rooms have a bay window sitting are filled with cushions, comfy beds and clean bathrooms.
WiFi worked in the room.
We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overviewing the Fort however seemed a bit empty, some plants and extra umbrellas would add extra character.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

the hotel looks good in the website but actually is worst the staff is not ready to work , they didnt had cold water in summers just imagine it , the food was unbearable , by chance you go there as a compulsion please take food along with you that would be fine as those people cant cook also. Just imagine we were in a group and we had to cook to make the food eatable overall a pathetic place to go , spending here is bad idea its better to purchase a ac and sleep at home

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harshdeep786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda K, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

I am sorry that you did not have a good experience as you know when you checked out there was a problem with payment as you wanted to check out a day early and were refusing to pay for the extra night and you had booked the whole hotel for 3 days. When I talked to you and your other colleague you did not mention any of the problems with the staff or food. I do know that you asked if you could use the kitchen to make your own dish from your region but it was not because of our food/cooking as you say.

Once again I am sorry for your experience at my hotel. Gazi Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have mixed feelings of my stay at the Golden Haveli.

The positives: the building itself is beautiful sandstone and the rooms are very spacious and pretty clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff were were sweet and attentive. The manager was very accommodating allowing us to have late check out.

The negatives: our bathroom was in a very poor state of repair and let the lovely bedroom down. It smelt terrible (like old rotten food), and there was no shower curtain so water went everywhere and the floor sloped in the opposite direction to the drainage so there was permanently water collecting on the floor. The restaurant staff were attentive but they really should have their uniforms cleaned regularly - they were all wearing terribly dirty stained clothes which looked awful. The table cloths were also very dirty - surely throwing everything in the wash every couple of days can't be that hard and would improve the impression of the 'restaurant' remarkably.

Like the majority of hotels in India (in my opinion) the Golden Haveli does have potential but just needs to improve in some basics and this would improve guests' stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm overdue in writing this as it has been over a year since I stayed at the Golden Haveli (November 2011 in truth). Still, I have fond memories of this place. My cousin and I were backpacking through the north for about two weeks. Our stay in Jaisalmer was the highlight. The Golden Haveli is beautiful, clean, spacious, and truly peaceful. After two days of buses and trains, having a proper sized bath is a godsend. Meanwhile, the hotel is located on a small street outside the walls of the fort ~15 minutes walk from the center. Can't comment on the desert/camel tour as were only there for 2 nights. Restaurant was good, not great, but convenient. Highly recommended for weary travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was OK and the bed was comfortable. The duvet covers looked very grubby which was not very encouraging. The shower had no screen and one got water all over the floor making it slippy. The only ventilation for the bathroom was a vent in the corridor. Breakfast was a bit chaotic the first morning, though the porridge was great. The location seems a bit out of town, up a not particularly attractive road, but it was only 25 minutes walk to Gandhi Chowk via the bazaar. The view of the fort was quite good. For bird watchers we saw a bee eater out the back and a fabulous kingfisher dived down to wash itself in the hotel swimming pool (or to feast on the mosquito larvae). The website bills itself as a family run luxury hotel which did not seem like a particularly accurate description.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from reception as you can get to get away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

the hotel looked good from outside and also rooms were clean and comfortable. but the hotels reception was not much welcoming a bit grumpy types..breakfast was good but again the staffs were a bit rude, their breakfast time was till 10 am, reached at 9.30 and they said the buffet was over.when we told our breakfast was included they reluctantly served our food...and the worst part was the hotel location.. amidst ill maintained road which has heavy vehicles every single sec..but once you cross the half km stretch you reach the road leading to the fort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somosree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenhaveli, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Just to confirm that the road outside the hotel is a road which is only used by hotel traffic. It is the main road at the end which is very busy and it is this road which is 1/2 km away from the hotel. The hotel is on the edge of town and in a very peaceful location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#30 of 106 in Jaisalmer
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
#58 of 106 in Jaisalmer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#57 of 106 in Jaisalmer
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
BRYS Fort
BRYS Fort
#67 of 106 in Jaisalmer
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Haveli

Address: Bera Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Hotel Golden Tower)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $40 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Haveli is a Boutique hotel in Jaisalmer . Golden Haveli is a 42 room hotel and derives its name from the nickname of Jaisalmer,“Golden City”. It has yellow sandstone walls which appear ochre-colored during the day and honey-gold during sun set, spectacularly merging with the desert and adding to the yellow-golden tinge of the city. The professional team is passionate to provide comfort to valued clients and ensure a perfect retreat to weary travellers. The ornate balconies and bay windows, tastefully done rooms, bricked poolside and the hand carved reception desk surrounded by stone pillars add to the royal holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Golden Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Haveli Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing