We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Golden Haveli
Nearby Hotels
Suryagarh(Jaisalmer)
$301
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$25
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shahi Palace(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$19
$18
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorbandh Palace(Jaisalmer)
$45
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Rajwada(Jaisalmer)
$80
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rang Mahal(Jaisalmer)
$150
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Haveli(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$15
$10
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
136
104
45
12
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
104
45
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsun loungersheritage roombeautiful sandstonerooms are hugelate checkreception staffbeautiful hoteli highly recommend this hoteljaisalmer fortrooftop restaurantbuffet breakfasthotel stayvery comfortable staysuite roombooked roomsreached jaisalmer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 315 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Golden Haveli was the last hotel in our 19 days tour in India. We were nine members traveling together. And we stayed in four hotels within our stays; among all Golden Haveli was the best of the best. We faced one and only difficulties on pick up issue, we were told by the owner that hotel car will pick up us from the train station but we couldn’t find any one from the hotel that time. But the hotel management was really sorry for the miss understanding and they also paid the fair of our jeep. But is not a big problem to find transport to the hotel from station, it was like a little adventure to us. It took only 10 minutes to reach the hotel from the train station.
Golden Haveli is a one storied hotel with a small green lawn with nice small fountain. The most amazing feature of this hotel is the desert. Just a few foot steep behind the hotel u can test the desert. You can take walk in to the desert can see one small 400 hundred years old building. According to the hotel boy it was made by the Maharajas for their rest during hunting time, isn’t it exiting !!!
Golden Haveli has an exquisite roof top restaurant. From the roof you can see the desert more nicely. Having dinner with the view of the gorgeous fort of Jaisalmer will be just awesome. The foods were so testy and made in a healthy environment. We enjoyed the food very much. Another thing I should mention here that the cooperation of the hotel staffs was so wonderful. They took very good care of us. Sometime it feels like we are not in a hotel rather in some friend’s house. They even made special food for our sick friend which really touches my heart.
We took the desert safari package organized by the hotel and it was just unbelievably full of fun. We took camel ride through the desert and had lunch in middle of the desert too. We enjoyed our dinner with the performance of local artist at night in the desert which is a great memory for us. About rooms and other amenities in one word ‘Fantastic’. If I go to jaisalmer again I’ll stay at Golden Haveli without any doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasnuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is a beautiful building, in a quiet location just on the outskirts of Jaisalmer. Our room was lovely in terms of decor, facilities, bedding, etc., but the management of the hotel was poor. Our bathroom had not been cleaned properly, and was truly dirty, with a filthy vanity and mirror, dirt on the floor, and recently used toilet. we asked the hotel staff to come and clean the bathroom, as it had obviously been missed. they came in, dusted the tables in the main room, and then left, totally ignoring the bathroom. I was upset, and frustrated, but the staff didn't seem to understand what the problem was, or care that I was unhappy. I think that it may have been a communication problem, as only the manager seem to speak much english. Unfortunately, the manager was rarely on site, as he was at his other property. eventually I just asked for new towels.
The food at the rooftop restaurant was good, although much like all of India, very slow. The food presented was frequently not quite what we ordered (probably also communication problem), but we enjoyed the food that we ate there.
Staff did not seem to care if you were happy or not, whether it be with the room, the food, or anything. With improved management, and better communication, this hotel could be really great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellefromCanada12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

When we arrived at this out-of-the way Hotel we were welcomed in the immaculate Reception area with it's Rajasthani architecture and design by the Managers Veronique, her husband Sebastien and their young son Louison who are from France. They welcomed us warmly to their charming brand new Haveli away from the bustle of Jaisalmer.
We enjoyed our spotless, spacious room with comfy beds and adjoining bathroom. All perfect for a quiet night sleep.
The food was very good served on a very spacious roof-top Restaurant with amazing views of the Fort on one side and the desert on the other. A great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast on a cool morning to watch the sun rise. The peanut masala is a must to enjoy with drinks. We especially enjoyed the very tasty Tomato Soup. I was given the Recipe as I had requested but next morning after breakfast, Raju the captain of the restaurant took me into their kitchen so that their chef Gopal could show me step by step how it is prepared. I enjoyed this little cooking lesson and planning on making this delicious soup at home. The service was excellent and we wish to thank all the Staff and Veronique and her family for being so kind and attentive towards us.
During our stay at the Hotel we also enjoyed a camel safari in the Sam desert which had been planned for us including traditional Indian cuisine with local entertainment around a roaring campfire. It was a wonderful experience and enjoyed the evening very much and not soon forgotten. Gunda and Ivar

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Just 5 min walk to the old city, this brand new haveli, with beautiful and clean rooms, very good and helpful service, fantastic food in the terrace with an amazing view of the fort in one side and the dessert on the other. Good value for money. Though if it's winter you will need a blanket to have dinner in the restaurant, but the staff will burn some wood for you to keep you warm. Very recommended

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZariaRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

When I had contacted this hotel for booking in 2nd week Nov 2010, for room in last week of Dec, I was told by the frontdesk that no rooms are available, but I saw availability via Cleartrip so went ahead and booked. The place is very close to Jaisalmer fort (about 1km) and the terrace restaurant offers a good view of the fort. The place was fully booked due to peak season, and we were asked to wait an hour as the roon we were to occupy had just been vacated and was being cleaned.

Pros:
1)The hotel is clean and has a boutique hotel type feel.
2)Staff is polite and friendly
3)Restaurant has decent food, though not exceptional.
4)Close to jaisalmer fort

Cons:
1)The approach road of the hotel is very dusty and full of rocks and pebbles, its about 300-400m from main road.
2)Hot water was a problem. When we got a room at 11am, and proceeded for shower at 11:30am there was no hot water (weather was quite cold as it was Dec), on contacting reception, we were told hot water is available only from 7:30am to 10:30am. On asking why we were not informed of it during check-in and how do they expect people to take a shower within 30min as their check-in time is 10am, we were given a lame excuse that usually people come to the hotel after taking a shower (??!!). Anyways, but they started hot water, I had to wait for about 30mins.
3)Although we were given a room at 11am, we were asked to check-out at 10am the next day. I was exteremely annoyed, and refused to checkout before 11.
4)When we enquired about autorisckshaw and taxi prices, all prices given to us by the receptionist were about 3 times (Auto - 50rs from nearby petrol pump to hotel, but we got it for Rs20, Taxi from Hotel to SandDunes Rs2200, we got it for Rs 800), so not reliable in terms of rates.
5)The receptionist kept insisting that we stay at a camp site resort plus theme village overnight (with which they had a tie up) at an additional cost of Rs6000, I did not find it logical as I was anyways paying the hotel for the night, so we just visited this theme village (paid the resort Rs 1000 directly) and came back.
6) No free internet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank MumbaiTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenhaveli, Owner at Hotel Golden Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Firstly we were asked by Cleartrip to open up our dates for the xmas/new year period which we did. Hot water is only till 11 am and needs to be specially asked for if needed later as we run on a fire burning boiler - this we are happy to do.

We do not suggest that internet is free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews