We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Backpack Hotel I've ever been”
Review of Hotel Pol Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pol Haveli
Ranked #4 of 154 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ShAGA518
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
“Best Backpack Hotel I've ever been”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Owner and Staff was as helpful and genuine as possible. They act as lifelong friends to all backpackers from around the world (Europe, America's, Asia) . Not hawking for money or acting over the top hospitality found all over India, Pol Haveli is refreshing because it is genuinely relaxed and friendly and ideal location and situation for backpackers traveling Rajasthan and Thar Desert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAGA518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    47
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
109
69
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaisalmer, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Pol Haveli for 5 days and it was excellent! They had young staff members who were not afraid to take time for a chat! The hotel and the staff was like living in a big family house with family members. They were open, sweet and nice people. Remember to praise the chef -Mahendra- for the food because then he makes even better food! The rooms were clean and sizeable for a couple. The most beautiful thing about their hotel was the rooftop area. It was a restaurant and a place to hang out in shade. Their balconies with pillows and blankets were lovely places for eating, reading or just relaxing. The place was relaxing.
The hotel offers free wifi and has computers to guest use!
Their camel safari is a MUST GO!
I highly recommend the hotel to younger (alone) travellers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodamifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pol Haveli for four nights. It was excellent. We felt at home. The staff sat down with the guests at the lovely rooftop restaurant to chat. Rooms were clean and cosy - just like the rest of the hotel. The food on the rooftop restaurant was amazing and they did exactly what we asked for even though it wasn't on the menu. The chef Mahendra is an intelligent and talented man! Their camel safari was really amazing. Next time I go on a camel safari I want to stay in the desert more than two nights! Would highly recommend Pol Haveli - especially to younger travellers who want to chat with locals and get some insight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnusardottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow what a great hotel i found a place to stay after a long , as i am in travelling job and seen N no of hotel but i felt homely at this hotel all the staff was just like my neighbor hood , and on the top most what a welcome i received from Mr Mool Ji , the owner that i was feeling like a Samrat of kings & last to mention awesome food served hot and it was i was licking my fingure after every meal .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnnatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everything was excellent, rooms were clean and really nice stuff. The location is great, everything is close from that. They have nice roof restaurant, where you cant see over all the city. You can order there lots of kind of foods, which taste great, expecially their pancakes. Thank you again for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasilof, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in Jaisalmer, really nice owner and crew that totally took care of us.
The Haveli is an amazing traditional sandstone mini palace, cool and beautiful with that natural building breathability which is so livable and peaceful. Thank you Manu for the sublime desert safari and taking us out to see your family and village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice place, and the staff are very accomodating. Not as far out of town as it seems, it's a very quick walk to the fort. They went out of their way to make sure we got the camel ride deal we wanted, and gave us a very good deal on our room. May be the best place we stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilderness1George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pol Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pol Haveli

Property: Hotel Pol Haveli
Address: Near Hanuman Circle, Geeta Ashram | Amarsagar Gate Is a Few Minutes Away, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pol Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pol Haveli welcomes guests and travelers alike with open hearts, free coffee and masala chai upon arrival at the Hotel Pol Haveli. We conveniently pick up all our guests at the bus and train station, at any time, free of charge. Please call our phone number at any time should we arrange a pick up. Hotel Pol Haveli is a charming antique boutique hotel nestled within the old city of Jaisalmer, in the princely state of Rajasthan. From our lovely rooftop terrace, you can enjoy timeless, beautiful sunset views of the Golden Fort and the Imperial Cenotaphs; Our family boutique hotel evokes the memories of times past with its traditional Rajput architecture while offering the modern conveniences that guests have come to appreciate. Our nine plush rooms, which are decorated with traditional Rajasthani furnishings, are very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms and hot running water. We also have air conditioned rooms (AC) rooms available on demand. Conveniently located in a quiet area of the old city, Hotel Pol Haveli boasts a beautiful sunset and Golden Fort view. We guarantee a clean, well furnished room along with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable and chic. Our friendly and helpful staff will be available on hand at any time, should your needs evolve like the sands of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pol Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing