We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pol Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pol Haveli
Ranked #4 of 151 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George
1 review
“Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice place, and the staff are very accomodating. Not as far out of town as it seems, it's a very quick walk to the fort. They went out of their way to make sure we got the camel ride deal we wanted, and gave us a very good deal on our room. May be the best place we stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilderness1George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    47
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
104
69
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed a few months ago and I must say that this hotel is the best value with the most welcoming service we experienced in our month trip to Rajasthan.
Its certainly not down the best looking street, but it's only a 10minute walk to the fort and the location was not a problem and it has great views of the fort. The rooms were atmospheric and incredible value, and such thoughtfulness has been put into the design and look of the place.
Manu offered us a camel safari with no pressure at all. We actually went with a different company, but were still treated with the same generousity and service the whole time. We actually wished we had done his after all as we were quite disappointed with the company we picked.
We were originally reccomended Pol Haveli by a couple we met previously in Varanasi. I can only pass on the same thought and highly reccomend it to you too. Stay here its great.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bath! An amazing treat when travelling in India
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowantodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes from Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are a few places in the world that I would say are the best places I have ever stayed at - Pol Haveli has to be at number one. From being collected at the station till my drop off on departure. Transported into another world. All facilities including Wifi, Train and bus reservations - the whole kit and caboodle.The Haveli is warm and richly appointed, very comfortable and impeccably clean. The staff and the Owner make every moment seem like a Desert Fantasy.
The cook is sublime (try the Egg Curry - The Cashew Nut curry (raju). I believe I was in heaven.
Manu the Owner, personally took us out on a desert safari - far into the Far Desert away from all other beings. On occassion the some one will take you to the fort or around the city on a bike, or in the jeep. I know I shall return every time I go to Jaisalmer. Don't miss your chance to live the dream

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Pol Haveli, staff was extremely friendly, helpful and willing to teach - in case you were feeling like learning how to make chapathi for example.. I stayed for ten days, and after months of traveling through India without hot showers it was a real pleasure to enjoy the hot water there..even if it s just morning and evening available..but what more does a traveler need? there s free wifi available as well and computers for those who are traveling without laptop. and well, the rooms are quite comfortable and clean. The place has an amazing roof top terrace with restaurant /cafe on it and another smaller terrace on top..where you can lie and watch the stars at night if you want. During the days you ve got an amazing view over the whole city and the fort..with seeing the sunrise and sunset from the roof as a bonus. The place is not really far from the city centre and the fort, maybe a 10 minutes walk. It s a bit tricky to find it, so arrange with Manu and his crew to get picked up from wherever you arrive. They also offer Safaris, as almost every hotel in town..I didnt try them myself but I heard from other travellers that it was a pretty unique experience. And - referring to other reviews - I just got the information at the start that safaris can be arranged..afterwards I was never bothered with it again. Ah..and for bedbug-fearing people..the matresses (like the whole hotel) are pretty new, so no danger in there.. ;)
What really made my stay is the crew.. they re so friendly and welcoming that you might think after a while it s like family. Whenever I got up in the morning and joined them on the terrace I got a chai immediately, as a kind of wake up drink..without asking. And after a couple of shared meals at dinner and some more days it was really hard to leave.. and for sure I'll come back next time I'm staying in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary_loula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Most of my experience with hotels in India ranged from adequate to health hazard. So if I wound up in a room that didn't smell bad, I was satisfied.
This place blew all my expectations out of the water.
First, Manu, the owner picked us up at the bus station and elegantly pull us out of a mob of hustlers, and pushy cab drivers, and other unscrupulous denizens who prey on naive travelers.
Usually my travel partners and I shared a room, but this place was so cool, with its ornately carved alcove where the bed lives, we had to have our own rooms. My bed had something like 8 pillows in various sizes, and was super posh.
The roof has a restaurant that was so pleasant we were compelled to spend as much time there as we did out in the city itself. The staff bent over backwards not only to make us comfortable, but to dance with us, let us into the kitchen and teach us to cook Indian dishes.
At one point, we asked the self made, rags to riches, owner, (who uses a great deal of the hotels proceeds to help the needy of his village) where the best place to eat was. He said, without hesitation, that best place was his house. So we went there for dinner. We ate dinner cooked by his family, with his family. I love this guy.
When we went out he sent his cousin M with us. Who made sure we saw the best sights, from the best vantage points, and made sure no one ripped us off.
Jaisalmer, was the highlight of my trip, and Manu did everything he could to make sure that would be the case.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulartoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful in the typical jaisalmer style with this golden stone. Rooms are very comfy and with all the facilities. On he roof the view is spectacular and both service and food is really good. Price is very very reasonable and location is just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silviakapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

After meeting Manu's good friend Babu in Udaipur, we had a strong feeling about Pol Haveli. Manu the owner, met us at the bus station, helped us with our bags, and we hit it off right away. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are large and well equipped, with cozy big beds, and my room had a bathtub.... woo!
The food, on the very comfortable roof deck, was great, and the staff, warm and helpful. M, our tour guide (more like a good friend that shows you around, since he never asked for any money) was spectacular. He took us to some great shops, helped us negotiate, and I even got a ride on his motorcycle. We loved him so much, we demanded that he come with us on our trip to Pushkar, and he did!
One of the big highlights for our group, was going to Manu and M's village, meeting their family, and cooking dinner together. I'm not sure this is something every hotel guest would have the opportunity to do, but it was a real treat indeed. The food was amazing, a green chili mutton stew dish that was perfectly spiced. Sitting around the fire talking about the village, the town, politics, other places we had all been, and getting to hang out with all the kids, and even watch a little Indian Cartoon Network.
Our whole experience in Jaisalmer was top notch, and I feel like we owe a great deal of that to Manu, his family, and his staff. I can't recommend this spot enough. Thank you Pol Haveli for your tremendous hospitality. I hope to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, a couple of the larger rooms have bathtubs you might want to ask about, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear friend

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 151 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Temple View
Hotel Temple View
#2 of 151 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pol Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pol Haveli

Property: Hotel Pol Haveli
Address: Near Hanuman Circle, Geeta Ashram | Amarsagar Gate Is a Few Minutes Away, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pol Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pol Haveli welcomes guests and travelers alike with open hearts, free coffee and masala chai upon arrival at the Hotel Pol Haveli. We conveniently pick up all our guests at the bus and train station, at any time, free of charge. Please call our phone number at any time should we arrange a pick up. Hotel Pol Haveli is a charming antique boutique hotel nestled within the old city of Jaisalmer, in the princely state of Rajasthan. From our lovely rooftop terrace, you can enjoy timeless, beautiful sunset views of the Golden Fort and the Imperial Cenotaphs; Our family boutique hotel evokes the memories of times past with its traditional Rajput architecture while offering the modern conveniences that guests have come to appreciate. Our nine plush rooms, which are decorated with traditional Rajasthani furnishings, are very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms and hot running water. We also have air conditioned rooms (AC) rooms available on demand. Conveniently located in a quiet area of the old city, Hotel Pol Haveli boasts a beautiful sunset and Golden Fort view. We guarantee a clean, well furnished room along with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable and chic. Our friendly and helpful staff will be available on hand at any time, should your needs evolve like the sands of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pol Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing