We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more then what I expected.”
Review of Hotel Pol Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pol Haveli
Ranked #4 of 153 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more then what I expected.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was supposed to be my last stop on my travel list, still wishing could have more time in Hotel Pol Haveli.
There are so many experiences that I can add here, each making me more and more a part of the city and the people here.
The sunrises and sunsets from the roof top restaurant, just amazing. Beds are comfortable, rooms decorated beautifully.
As the owner Mr. Moolchand (Manu) stated on my arrival, "You come as a guest, stay as a friend, and we hope you leave feeling like part of our family." My experience in this place were so amazing that I actually felt like a part of the family here.

If you want to enjoy star level comfort and service, there might be better options. However, if you intend to understand the people of the city and want to experience friendly, familial comfort, I will recommend this place.

I'm in love with the place, so much so that if time and circumstances permit, I'll be returning to Hotel Pol Haveli again and again.

Missing Jaisalmer and Hotel Pol Haveli.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Mad_Yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
January 11, 2013
Dear madhev

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,

Manu (Owner of Pol Haveli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    48
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
109
69
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

AS Jaisalmer is a city to explore and to relax by looking at it's view......I believe a hotel must have perfect view or some beauty.....with start to morning u 'll need a clean bathroom, nice tea with breakfast..n of rooms yeah they are perfectly designed and clean .So, I selected pol haveli it had everything.
when i reached the hotel a warm welcome was there, i spent my few early morning hours with sun rise and my tea. I used to enjoy tea with nature n it was there. They arrange the package according to your need and u 'll find it best. In evening the sunset from there terrace was incredible, the horizontal view which was same as the sunset point. you can see the twinkling lights of the fort n a complete fort view in night....it looks beautiful.....n one can't experience it without experiencing it.......it's hospitality is like u r at your own place....So, will b here whenever i will be there in jaisalmer....they know the true hospitality.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Nitishsewariya,

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,

Manu (Owner of Pol Haveli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First of all the approach road to the place is dirty and till the time you reach the hotel you would be like why did it had all the good ratings when its out of fort and the roads are so bad. The answer becomes very clear once you have entered, friendly staff, a festive atmosphere, colorful drapes, rooms and the view from the top.

We stayed there for 3 nights over the new year. Very friendly people, good view of the fort, vyas chaatris and city from roof top which in itself seemed like a nice place to hangout and forget time.

Before coming to Jaisalmer, we read about deteriorating condition of Fort and the threat water poised to it, so that guilt was off. Makemytrip had screwed up our booking but the hotel staff were nice and really helpful to accommodate us and provided us one of the better rooms when it became available. (Rooms with balconies were really good). Other services of hot water, internet, restaurant were also fully functional and though we didn't take the offer on camel rides and safari there was a genuine interest on the part of owners to guide us to better places and sights to visit. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Jaisalmer for a while.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on first floor towards the front with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My_Lost_weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,

Manu (Owner of Pol Haveli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The first view of the city from the terrace was just awesome..The room were also very comforting with beautiful interiors..The service provided was also pleasant along with their help throughout our trip...The foods in the menu were delicious,but accompanied with the night view of the city from the roof made it more exotic..We were also helped with any assistance we required..Had a great stay and helped to make my stay in jaisalmer a memorable one..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitikaBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ritika Basu,

thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,

Manu (Owner of Pol Haveli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to run into a couple staff members of Hotel Pol Haveli while wondering one day and made an immediate connection with them. The entirety of the staff were helpful and no matter where we ran into them in the city there were hellos and chai exchanged. Recommend this hotel to people based on the amazing people associated with the hotel alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Jessy,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our staff and how they tend to our customers. We welcome you back at any time.
Sincerely,
Manu, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is located in a very run down lane.It took quite some time to figure out the address.Even the drivers were surprised at the hotel selection,it was eerie.I began to regret my decision from the outset.
The rooms were good but cold.no hot water before 7.30 in the morning.
There were foreign ladies (single travellers) hanging and drinking with indian boys who seemed habitual and local to the place.The groups behavior before other guests was indecent at best and wondered how they were allowed inside the hotel.This alarmed me into thinking what could be done in case on any emergency seeing the shady nature of its surroundings.
but nothing of the sort happened, the food i had was good and other families checking in put those doubts to rest.
Surely not recommended by me for ladies or family.be sure to cross check with other reviewers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sanman75,

thank you very much for your review. We're always happy to receive feedback from our guests as we're continuously trying our best to improve our service and facilities. We're very sorry for the inconvenience. Coming to the points you mentioned, sometimes it's very difficult to provide hot water on time as Jaisalmer is a very laid back area and we're getting water only by government supply. Sometimes there's a lacking due to shortage and delay of this supply, so it becomes very difficult to deliver hot water on time. We're very sorry that you experienced such shortage during your stay at Pol Haveli. Concerning the people annoying you, they were random travelers staying at this hotel as guests. If you had the impression that they were belonging to Pol Haveli we're very sorry that nobody put things in the right light that time. Sometimes guests have their very own way to enjoy their stay and are attracting attention of locals like that. Probably that"s what happened that very day. We're always trying to meet our guests wishes and demands immediately, it would have been very helpful for us if you would have complained to one of our staff members. Anyway we're still extremely thankful for your feedback and hope that next time you'll have a more pleasant stay in Jaisalmer.

Thank you very much and kind regards,

Manu (Owner of Pol Haveli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Not only do they score 5 out of 5 across the board but they provide so much more. The view from roof top is amazing, the food on offer is always delicious (must try panthara and mushroom burger) and the hotels location is convenient without damaging the fort like those inside. In my opinion though the staff is the best part, not only are they friendly and knowledgeable but they take a genuine interest in you and try their hardest to make your stay perfect. I planned to stay one night, i instead stayed three and left with a new Jaisalmer family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_heb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polhaveli, Owner at Hotel Pol Haveli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hey Nick,
Thank you for the excellent review, we really appreciate it.
It was a pleasure t have you as our customer as well, and you are always welcome to come and stay with us, whenever you visit Jaisalmer.

Warm Regards,
Manu
Hotel Pol Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 107 in Jaisalmer
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 107 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 107 in Jaisalmer
901 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 107 in Jaisalmer
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pol Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pol Haveli

Property: Hotel Pol Haveli
Address: Near Hanuman Circle, Geeta Ashram | Amarsagar Gate Is a Few Minutes Away, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pol Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pol Haveli welcomes guests and travelers alike with open hearts, free coffee and masala chai upon arrival at the Hotel Pol Haveli. We conveniently pick up all our guests at the bus and train station, at any time, free of charge. Please call our phone number at any time should we arrange a pick up. Hotel Pol Haveli is a charming antique boutique hotel nestled within the old city of Jaisalmer, in the princely state of Rajasthan. From our lovely rooftop terrace, you can enjoy timeless, beautiful sunset views of the Golden Fort and the Imperial Cenotaphs; Our family boutique hotel evokes the memories of times past with its traditional Rajput architecture while offering the modern conveniences that guests have come to appreciate. Our nine plush rooms, which are decorated with traditional Rajasthani furnishings, are very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms and hot running water. We also have air conditioned rooms (AC) rooms available on demand. Conveniently located in a quiet area of the old city, Hotel Pol Haveli boasts a beautiful sunset and Golden Fort view. We guarantee a clean, well furnished room along with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable and chic. Our friendly and helpful staff will be available on hand at any time, should your needs evolve like the sands of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pol Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing