We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place you could fall in love with”
Review of Hotel Pol Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pol Haveli
Ranked #4 of 155 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jaisalmer, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place you could fall in love with”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Pol Haveli is a fantastic place to stay in Jaisalmer! The staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and decorated with so many nice details... To sit outside on the rooftop with this incredible view you will not forget!!! The area is quiet and that is what it makes it so charming comparing to the busy and crowded places close to the market. I definitely recommend this place to stay in Jaisalmer!!! We also booked our two days safari here. We were just tow people with to guides. Other tourists told us they did not went far into the real desert, but we went approximately km outside of town and then we started our Camel trip. We haven t seen any other tourists. Our guides were so nice and they were also spoiling us with good and plenty of food, what I didn't expect:-) We definitely had a great time here!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat1985_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    47
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
109
69
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a medium-range hotel. It's new but attractively and thoughtfully designed in traditional Jaisalmer stone. It has a lovely and peaceful roof terrace with an excellent view of the Fort. It's located outside the Fort and therefore is not contributing to damaging it but is within easy walking distance of the centre of Jaisalmer. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Manu, the manager. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. You should try the Indian cuisine, as it's good and genuine. All in all, a very good experience and I wish the hotel lots of success.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anguilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Enjoyed one night at Hotel Pol Haveli and Anna and Manu were very attentive hosts. My room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. Food in their rooftop restaurant was delicious, especially, the Kaju curry and masala omlette. You can enjoy a lovely view of the fort from here. Anna arranged a camel ride for us that was customized and fun.

Cons: It's a little hard to locate as it's slightly off the main strip and we had to call Manu to come get us! They don't take credit cards even though their website says so.
Internet connection didn't work due to technical problems.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We were recommended the Pol Haveli and were not disappointed with the suggestion. Manu and Ana have created a wonderfully evocative hotel close to but not in the centre of the city. There is a spacious and comfortable rooftop restaurant with views across to the Fort. Rooms are colourfully and tastefully decorated and bathrooms well appointed. Manu went out of his way to arrange our desert trip - visiting a village with no sign of any other tourists or shops - and even took us to his village. Comfortable walking distance to the busy local market, the stately Palaces and Havelis and the magnificent Fort. Local colour especially in January, which is the wedding season.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel has some very fancy rooms! Although I didn't stay in the "honeymoon" suite, I had a peek and it was the nicest room I have seen in India! This hotel also has a huge rooftop with great views of the fort.... and the staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xscorcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, Rajasthan, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I came from Pushkar and found this wonderful nice hotel. the rooms are very well and very clean every day. On the top of the hotel there is a wonderful roof where you have a great sightseeing view to the Fort and anywhere in Jaiselmer.
Good service and good food is guarenteed. The owner and the staff are very frank and you feel like being home.
Next time I am in Jaiselmer I would be always here in Hotel Pol Haveli.
Volker from germany

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jankel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I agree with all the former reviews that this hotel is a gem and Manu is doing everything in his power to make it work. The hotel is comfortable, safe, and lovely.

The safari on the other hand...........

We booked a safari through Manu with a guy who introduced himself as "Heaven Garden". I think he name in Hindi is something like Anna, but I'm not sure. He is associated with the hotel and is often around. He is travel needs broker, he doesn't do anything on the safari except see you off and meet you at the end for the dinner. He's a nice enough guy as long as you don't mind him drinking straight gin out of a water bottle (he told me to smell it to impress me) and talking on his cell phone while you try to enjoy the sunset with the wonderful camel farmer and cook he has set you up with. Of course, as with most young men, as he got drunker, he got more beligerent and self agrandizing (yawn) and yammered all the way back to hotel what a big spender he was and how he knows everyone in tourism in India at 20 something years old, etc. etc. etc. Add to that a one hour wait at the beginning with no explanation, the camel boys dropping us off at the wrong dune for dinner, demanding bigger tips and leaving us there, and then wandering around to find the dune where we were to meet the broker and cook for dinner. Then when we finish the evening, we went to tip him regardless as life is hard enough in India without getting stiffed on a tip, but he refuses a tip with a grand flourish because he "doesn't need money". With tips to the others we spent $75 for the three of us. I think we could have done better elsewhere. Manu, I hope you read this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank providenceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pol Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pol Haveli

Property: Hotel Pol Haveli
Address: Near Hanuman Circle, Geeta Ashram | Amarsagar Gate Is a Few Minutes Away, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pol Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pol Haveli welcomes guests and travelers alike with open hearts, free coffee and masala chai upon arrival at the Hotel Pol Haveli. We conveniently pick up all our guests at the bus and train station, at any time, free of charge. Please call our phone number at any time should we arrange a pick up. Hotel Pol Haveli is a charming antique boutique hotel nestled within the old city of Jaisalmer, in the princely state of Rajasthan. From our lovely rooftop terrace, you can enjoy timeless, beautiful sunset views of the Golden Fort and the Imperial Cenotaphs; Our family boutique hotel evokes the memories of times past with its traditional Rajput architecture while offering the modern conveniences that guests have come to appreciate. Our nine plush rooms, which are decorated with traditional Rajasthani furnishings, are very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms and hot running water. We also have air conditioned rooms (AC) rooms available on demand. Conveniently located in a quiet area of the old city, Hotel Pol Haveli boasts a beautiful sunset and Golden Fort view. We guarantee a clean, well furnished room along with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable and chic. Our friendly and helpful staff will be available on hand at any time, should your needs evolve like the sands of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pol Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing