We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic looking guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Boys Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Boys Guest House
Ranked #11 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic looking guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

i did not actually stay here, but the owner of the guest house was so friendly that he dragged me into his guest house and showed me his best rooms and also his cheapest room. although not exactly on the budget side, for the decoration and atmosphere, i will pay for it. seeing is believing. and kudos to the guest house owner for being super friendly. i particularly like the balcony area where one can laze under the warm winter sun and read a book, or simply read a book while viewing the sunset right in front of you.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank frolicker_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
90
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

It is a privilege to say that I’ve known The Desert Boy for 12 years. I am lucky to call Pradeep a friend. He and his staff are caring and knowledgeable. Their rooms are quiet and well kept. The roof top restaurant has views that go to the horizon.
I knew “The Desert Boy” when he had 7 rooms with a toilet down the hall. Due to his hard work and honest caring, he now has ~30, most with private baths, and a very relaxing open air restaurant/dani outside the fort itself.
You would be very hard pressed to find something more relaxing or enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have just spent NY eve staying at desert boys in jaisalmer. The guesthouse is fantastic, very cool rooms with lots of character. The staff are friendly and their safari tour was outstanding, a bit more expensive than others but it truly is off the tourist oath,you don't pass another soul. The camel boys are hilarious fun, singing around the campfire and teaching us to cook indian food. Thanks for an amazing time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have been travelling for 16 months on this trip and a total of 30 months soo far, this was the best accom ever, we got a room for just R500 and it was amazing, like a palace, the staff were amazing, honest and very helpful, not trying to push us to more expensive rooms or hussle us in any way. We did the 1 night desert treck and slept under the stars, wow, what an amazing experience, I advise not to skip this. read no more, book this place. Do check my travel photos at www.lawlor.me ;) The food in their restaraunt is great also.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stavrosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

These guys know how to organize a desert safari. Run by respected people and excellent staff. The restaurant has a good ambience and anyone can expect reasonably good food. The desert safari itself is good-true to the fact that it is "off the beaten track" and a customised travel package you get. But I wish we got to see the real "thar desert". What we saw was a small patch of desert sand sandwiched between desert vegetation - that`s the desert?? Guess we have been really influenced by the movies. Back at the guest house, the rooms are good and comfortable - but it`s only later we got to know that water and sanitary lines are choking the fort`s walls. Avoid staying inside the fort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

After a rocky start to Jaisalmer with lying hotel touts and rip-off rickshaw drivers, we arrived at Desert Boy's in a foul mood, but the friendliness of the staff and the charming rooms won us over immediately. We loved the colourful decoration of the rooms and the longing areas. The restaurant was good and service ultra-friendly.

We had not planned to go on a safari, but after talking to some people who had just returned and couldn't stop raving, we decided to go. Desert Boy's staff were good, recommending the best plan for us (that wasn't the most expensive either) and not at all pushy. The safari itself was excellent and good value for money. The food supplied (including unlimited bottled water and lots of fruit) was of an excellent standard. We opted to sleep on mattresses (actually pads, not overly thick) rather than use the offered bed frames and that was fine, apart from being tickled by desert beetles occasionally. Hint: take some small denomination money as you stop at villages for chai and a donation seems expected. Lipstick, nail polish and jewellery would also be great gifts for the women and girls who love to give you makeovers.

In short, these guys have their act together and are not lying when they say you can trust them, Well done - the best guest house we stayed at in India.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

If you have a medium budget, it's simply the place to stay!
The Wonderful thing with this Guesthouse is really the kindness, the availability and the benevolence of the brothers and uncle who run it.
They were simply AMAZING with me and the two friends I was traveling with. They were like our friends, or even brother, for the 3 days we stayed there. They are totally committed to help you having such an amazing stay and feel like home, not only in the home stay but in the whole Jasailmer city as well!
I really hope you'll get the chance to know them, i mean more than classical Hotelkeeper-client relation you can find in other places.
The guesthouse offers to you its own: camel-ride and horse-ride. Also they own their own restaurant (located out of the fortress).
Don’t hesitate to get all your services by their intermediary, they won’t try to steal your money, they will simply provide you the best you can find in Jasailmer! They can provide you anything you need! So just arrive there, they will advice you for everything you ask!
I did their Camel tour which is simply OUTSTANDING. Don’t choose the camel tour from another guesthouse, it would be a pitty!
I eat at their restaurant Rajhastani specialty, it was one of the best food I ever eat during my 6 months in India!
They made my stay in Jasailmer so beautiful than it is surely my favorite city in India, among the 20 others I visited, from the top north to the top south of the country.

Apart from the people, the rooms and the house is splendid! Fascinating view from the rooftop and from the rampart!

Cheers,

Alexis, (20 years old student from France)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#6 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Killa Bhawan
Hotel Killa Bhawan
#17 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#1 of 150 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surja Hotel
Surja Hotel
#5 of 150 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Boys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Boys Guest House

Property: Desert Boys Guest House
Address: On Fort Vyasapara | Vyasapara, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Boys Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Boy's Guest House has been looking after guests for the last two decades. Fine antique furniture, rich silks, warm carpets and comfortable mattresses will make your nights even more enjoyable in any of our twenty rooms. All of them have attached bathroom with hot & cold showers, and ceiling fan; air conditioners are also available.In the desert, we are not improvisers but improvers: we have our own camels, jeeps and land. In our camel safaris and jeep tours in the Thar desert we will take you to unexplored areas where no other tours go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Desert Boys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing