We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great time in Jaisalmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bhang Shop

Bhang Shop
Fort Road, Khejer Para, Manak Chowk, Amar Sagar Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India
9571825008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 159 Restaurants in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Delivery, Takeout
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in Jaisalmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Dr. Bhang is the man. He made is the most delicious bhang lassis day after day. If you are a seasoned smoker go for the full power. It will do you good.
Dr. Bhang also scheduled a camel trip for us. Took a couple cookies with us. Beautiful sunset over the sand dunes. He even surprised my girlfriend with a birthday cake for our desert safari! Highly recommended.
MAKE SURE YOU GET THE RIGHT ONE. It's the shop outside the first fort gate. Hopefully next year they'll get their name back, because the cookies from the now "Govt Authorized" shop are rubbish, and their smoking Bhang is rubbisher.
I would literally come back to Jaisalmer just to visit Dr. Bhang and his magical Lassis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cffitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    58
    26
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“elite man with an elite shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This guy is one of the great Characters of India. Forget Ghandi, forget Tendulkar...Dr Bhang is the guy you want to hang out with! His wife baked up super duper sexy strong cookies for our camel safari which, according to the doctor, was a one way ticket to the moon on a magic carpet. And he was right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank josh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“THE best bhang shop in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited in

This is one of the best experiences I've ever had. Sure, I love bhang, my blood probably has bhangoglobins, but what makes this place special is the customer service aspect of it, something which is really lacking in Indian businesses, except for "presidential grade establishments" in general.

The bhang tastes great, and the owner is a no [--] kind of guy. In many establishments, when you order a glass of bhang from other establishments, the tendency is to give you a weak dose and take money from you. Then you come back after a few hours, complaining about your experience. He assures you that the next dose will be stronger, and the experience repeats itself. By the time you get the right dose for you (I am heavy duty) you already feel like ripping your chest hairs apart.

You find none of this nonsense junk in this shop. If you want an ultra strong dose, that's what you get. If you want a medium dose, that's what you get. The owner has an amazing ability to judge what dose is best for you! The bhang also tastes great! He can also arrange tours for you, and the prices, though not backpacker range, is still pretty reasonable.

Speaking of customer service, if you go solo and are unable to find company, the owner takes it upon himself to chat you up, even if you just order one glass of bhang. There are tonnes of other places that serve bhang in Rajasthan, but this one is special because of the awesome customer service the owner gives you. TRULY recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arif_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come & Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited the Bhang shop in 2012 without really knowing what to expect. As it turns out, the Bhang Shop sells ground up marijuana lassis, ranging from light to "super duper sexy strong". Naturally we spent everyday we had in Jaisalmer in that shop.

Mr. Bhang, the owner of this fine establishment, is the coolest dude you can imagine. He explained every detail of his product and gave us good counsil and we had some very friendly and insightful conversation. This shop is such a nice break from all the hassle going on in the street, it's like stepping into a really laid back chillout zone. Mr. Bhang may try to sell you some funky pipes and a camel safari, what it's all good fun - and we even bought the camel safari trip, which was done by his brother, and it turned out to be really really nice (of course we brought some magic bhang cookies!).

TL;DR: If you happen to be in Jaisalmer and like to get a little tipsy, definitely check out this shop!! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Original Awesome Bhang Lassi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a westernized Indian and can guarantee that this Bhang Shop will give you a good run for your money. The lassis with or without bhang are awesome!
Dr Bhang will also give you local advice that other shop owners will not, hes not there to try rip you off or make a lot of money, he really cares about your stay.
This place is more than a shop, its also a meeting place for like minded people. When i came here i met people from all around the world. From Italy to Canada. It was a lot of fun.

Now the bhang, he has lassis,cookies and just plain mary jane.
This is great stuff and very cheap by any standard! Dont come to Jaisalmer without visiting this shop :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vj-Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhang Shop also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Bhang Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing