We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dr Bhang is a genius!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhang Shop

Bhang Shop
Ranked #25 of 171 Restaurants in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dr Bhang is a genius!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bhang is a very mild form of cannabis and is legal in india. We visited this shop and purchased some cookies which were great especially before going into the fort and into the desert!

For the person below who wrote about it not being a government authorised shop - the shop is outside a police station. It is quite publicly stating that it sells a form of cannabis. If this was illegal I would have thought they would have been closed down by now!

P.S there are two bhang shops - the one closest to the entrance to the fort is the shop you want to visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chigz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    61
    27
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Worth trying!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The good thing about the place is what he sells, obviously! Not expensive and good stuff. There is limited variety. Chai, lassi, cookies etc. Staff can promptly answer any questions you may have. One of those places where you can find like minded travellers. Interesting shop!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhijeet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
240 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Lassi Shop: you should try everything once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

AT LEAST once. Actually, I went twice. The mango lassie tastes really good, it works, too. The tiny and sparsely decorated room's staff is friendly and can help out with all kinds of infotmation. The really good thing about thr Lassie Shop though is that this is just a great place to meet other travellers - and the interesting kind. Plus it's one of the examples where the recommendation in guide books has done no harm. If I should ever return to Jaisalmer, I'd pay this establishment yet another visit.

PS: I hope Tripdavisor will soon change the name of this establishment on their website, as a new shop has opened who have taken over the name "Bhang Shop" from the original place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“was a good fun...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

liked the bhang cookies and the chai masala...the shopkeeper also was quite helpful and was interesting to know that its legal in india..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank megha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Is it really authorised?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have my doubts that the shop is really authorised by the government because they refused to give us a receipt. He tried to hard sell his stuff but since we insisted on a receipt - which would be a must in any government shop - and he only wanted to offer us his business card. So we declined to buy anything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank rajeev168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhang Shop also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Bhang Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing